Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Trevor

Game lodge

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very good facility but we were there at the wrong time of year (June) too stormy....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent overnight stay in a wonderful facility

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The accommodation was very special and the atmosphere and food was a delight.
We loved the atmosphere of the Lodge and the set out of the luxury tent on the water was brilliant. The claw foot bath overlooking the water was a treat and also loved the outdoor shower. We enjoyed everything about our stay including the staff and food.
3 out of 5
by John from Bury St Edmunds

Disappointing at Buffalos Drift

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Had to wait 30 mins to be checked in by a student(not her fault) and then a further 15 for our luggage to be transported to our tent which was ripped. Food also disappointing. The location however was amazing. Lagoon side tent with hippos and birds. The game drive we felt was rather contrived, tracking rhinos which we found in a clearing and had been fed hay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Orbitz
A wonderful little secret. If you want to experience what it is like living on an African farm in the oudtshoorn area this is it. Now a lovely low key safari camp. My luxury safari tent was on the water so you can lie in bed and watch the wild life. Amazing. The full moon coming up over the dam made dinner one of the most romantic ever can't wait to go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from England

Not exactly what I was expecting

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: It had a novelty element, luxurious tented accommodation, all facilities you would find in hotels
Cons: Down side would be security, security from other residents, you can't lock your tent, therefore your property is not totally safe
Location: Nearest town is about 7km away everything is there, but the main reason for visiting is to see animals and relaxing
Booked the lodge because we could have a tent on the water to see the animals come down to drink in the evening, unfortunately this was not exactly the case, to start with I felt it was a glorified duck pond, there were a few impala came along the side, on last day 2 hippos swam in water, there are several watering holes around the park and the animals stayed there not the one where the tents were.... We booked the evening safari VERY expensive, and was VERY VERY disappointed that we were not taken to see the elephants, we saw them from afar but not close, if we had wanted to get closer that was another trip and another expensive pay out. Everything was designed to take more money from you. Breakfast was very good, self service and and excellent choices. Evening meal was okay, perhaps one of my choices wasn't the best but my second choice was very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very disappointing stay

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The safaris, the view.
Cons: Maintenance in general, hospitality services, the food.
We were looking forward to our stay at this lodge but were very disappointed by the experience. The reception was cold and expeditive. The tent was old and needed maintenance: Some zippers did not work, a plastic window was cracked, wash basin was cracked, toilet bowl was cracked and leaking, etc. The deck of the main building were meals are served needs serious maintenance. Breakfasts were very ordinary: few fruits and canned lychees. Lunch and service were ok. Quality of food and service for dinner were poor. We barely touched our plates. We had a reservation for two nights but were ready to leave after the first night. The manager informed us that it was not possible because payment had already been made to Expedia. She offered safaris as a compensation. Safaris were good. Stays at this lodge are very overpriced. During our trip we stayed at 8 other hotels or lodges in SA usually less expensive and were very satisfied. This lodge is our most expensive so far and our worst experience! Nicole
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Most comfortable tent we've slept in!

Posted Nov 4, 2015
This is tent-living with comfort and luxury thrown in. The animal noises in the night came for free but made us appreciate the warmth and cosiness inside the tent. The hippopotamuses were not far away in the dam but did not trouble the human population!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Elana from Somerset West

Unexpected beautiful bush weekend

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Buffelsdrift is a beautifully appoointed gem close to the Karoo town, Oudtshoorn. An unexpected spoil with the most enjoyable luxury tent accommodation, friendly and responsive staff, great food and restaurant. Game drives to view a variety of game (no lions or big cats), meerkat visit and a spa.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Wimbledon, UK

'African' experience with a touch of luxury

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Stunning location overlooking a dam with a view to the north of the Swartberg Mountains. Buck and hippos and an abundance of (noisy) wildfowl. 'Room' is a spacious luxury tent with an 'out of Africa' feel, very comfortable bed and a separate bathroom. However, being a tent, it is hot during the day and colder at night - although the air conditioner helps a little. Dining area with dinner and breakfast built on stilts over the dam - lovely sundowner location with good food and reasonable service. Game drives cost extra - but worth it for the guide information. All in all a great stay - and would recommend this particularly to vistors to South Africa who want an 'African' experience with more than a touch of luxury