Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice Place

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The staff, close to the airport
Cons: Restaurant menu prices
Location: Close to the airport, had to have the hotel staff take us on tours
My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. The staff was friendly, and knowledgeable. Our room looked to be newly updated and very cleanly. Our only complaint was that the prices on the menu were very high. Being that we stayed there for a week, we did not have much choice. Other than that, everything was great and we enjoyed our time there.
5 out of 5
by C Wayne from Little Elm, TX

Great place to stay!!!

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
I was advised that a shuttle would be waiting for us upon arrival at the airport. I walked out of baggage claims and they were waiting. We were swiftly taken to the resort. We got checked in and were personally walked to the room and shown the property. There were flower petals on the bed and a great view as well. The salt water swimming pool was so relaxing. We enjoyed our complimentary fruit punch drinks at the bar with bartender Sham. Belizian rum was one of the ingredients which made it more special. We even ordered dinner the first night at the bar and spent time with Sham. We enjoyed it so much that we had dinner there every night with her. The food was so fresh as well. Sham even suggested we try conch and it was delicious. We waited until we arrived to book some local tours. We ended up booking everything with the front desk. Rudy was our tour guide for all the tours: cave tubing, Belize Zoo & Mayan Ruins. Rudy knew all kinds of interesting facts about Belize and made sure we enjoyed every moment of our tours. The entire staff at Black Orchid was friendly and helpful! We were also impressed that the general manager was seen several times throughout our stay. She took the time to visit with us and see how we liked our stay. We definitely have Black Orchid on our radar to visit again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

overpriced

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Transportation to & from the airport. The room also had a nice porch.
Cons: A bit of updating & patching plus a better breakfast.
Location: On a river which was scenic. There was nothing to do nearby unless you booked and overpriced tour.
The room didn't look like the pictures. We paid $299 for 2 queen beds (3 of us) and I expected it to look better. The bathroom was in sad shape (chipped tiles & missing grout) there were stains all over from previous guests. The "included" breakfast was very meager. I had read reviews that mentioned eggs, but if you wanted anything like that you had to pay for them. Nothing was worth the price that was paid.
4 out of 5
by susan from DC burbs

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed only one night, after touring the Belize Zoo, en route from the Cayo to the Cayes. Gorgeous setting on the river, and we enjoyed free use of canoes and kayaks. For some reason there were almost no other guests (mid-week, just after Easter) so we had lots of attention from gracious staff. The included breakfast had a huge spread of luscious tropical fruits and fresh-squeezed juice. For a reasonable price, a staff member drove us directly to the water taxi in Belize City. It would be a great place for a family reunion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel close to water and also has a pool.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: I like the outside of the hotel. The pool area and the natural running water.
Cons: The restaurant, the inside of the rooms.
Location: The water so close to the hotel makes for a great place to read, write or think.
The hotel met my needs but as far as the room there was nothing special to make them stand out. The room was large with a refrigerator inside and coffee pot. The outside was very nice. Transportation to and from the airport was a bonus. Overall it was nice.
5 out of 5
by Yolanda from Houston, Texas

I enjoyed!!!

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Centrally located for siteseeing

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Excellent staff, beautiful grounds, rite on the river great for bird watching
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice Enough

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Room with A/C Continental Breakfast Wildlife Nice Staff
Cons: The restaurant prices need to be looked at again. They are pretty unreasonable.
Location: There isn't much to do alone, but there are lots of trips possible though for hire through the hotel
Our stay here was only one night. The hotel was nice enough, the staff was generally friendly and helpful. There are really only about ten orchids on the grounds. Hearing all the monkeys in the morning was fun and the hotel offers excursions up the river to see them closer up. There were tons of gigantic iguanas on the grounds and in the trees. The restaurant/really only food available was outlandishly expensive for what it was. The continental breakfast was nice. Although if you are looking for something filling, I suggest making alternative plans or planning on buying breakfast there as well. It was some cut up fruit that was not very flavor filled and some super delicious muffins.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

shockingly overrated.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: People are friendly
Cons: Description, photos, and cost are misleading.
This should be a 1 or 2 star resort, it is significantly overpriced. The people were very friendly, but that is really the only positive thing that I can say.
3 out of 5
by Oliver M.

Okay for belizian Standards, but too expansive

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Ebookers
Negative: indistinct smell in the rooms (asked for another Room, but was the same there). Staffel okay and friendly, but fehlt motivation was low. Prices for meals too high compared to quality, but again okay for Belize. Positive: big rooms, overall nice setting, nice pool.