Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Central Texas

Danger! Don't go if you value your safety

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: view/location Only 2 blks to Ferry,Hidalgo St. bars and restaurants, diveshops,banks,ATMs,grocery store,golf cart rentals,shopping.
Cons: strip killer surfaces off steps and pool area. ADD fans lounge area. Replace ALL the round chairs that no human can sit in with taller plastic ones.
Location: great location-near everything on the North end.
Had painted over the rough surfaces around the pool and down the steps to our room (1 level below reception). 3 of our 12 slipped and fell, 1 down steps with severe bruising, pain for a week,other 2 by pool with scrapes and bruises. Gardener watered the steps every morning creating same problem day after day for 3 or 4 hours. Area around pool gets wet when anyone swam and splashed all through the day and caused other 2 falls. The paint/sealer/lacquer covered the needed roughness (for safety) and was slicker than greased glass. The lounge/coffeepot/purified water area was in an interior corner near reception and was a heckhole with no breeze. NEED fans to make the area useable. No shower curtain and the "pan" is only 2" deep. Water covers whole bath floor. Had to put bathmat outside the door to dry our feet before entering rest of unit. Wi-fi available in an EXTREMELY small area (no breeze, hot as hell) except the 2 bedroom suites have their own monitor. All stairs-EXTREMELY HIGH STEPS. NOT SAFE.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Sin comentarios imoprtantes por esta visita, digamos que todo estuvo en general bien arriba del promedio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

For the money, good

Posted Aug 1, 2015
This hotel has every room right on the ocean. You are about 5 small blocks from the shopping and beach, yet far enough away that it is quiet compared to right in the middle of the strip. AC works good. Get the upgraded room or you will have no privacy in the bathroom. If you want to stumble back to your room at 2am get a different hotel as they have several right in the action. If you are looking to shop, swim and explore and not get wasted, then this is perfect. Rent a golf cart and run the island like a boss. It's a must to drive to the other end of the island and see some of the rich folks houses. Went snorkeling in a little boat with an even smaller motor!! Turned out to be the best snorkeling ever, the guy was so hands our smaller group. Good hotel for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Good place to stay,

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Ocean view.
Cons: Better curtains for bathroom.
Location: Lots of restaurants and stores nearby.
Great ocean view, clean, friendly staff, close to downtown and ferry dock.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Night in Isla Mujeres

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Just off from where all the action is. Restaurants, night life, north beach, shops are all very close. It is a small island so won't have a problem.
Cons: Door lock, safe, pool could be updated or retouched as it is pretty beat up, cleaner bathroom area for arriving quests.
Location: Rented golf cart and booted around the island for a while. Went and swam at north beach. Ate at restaurants, and listened to live music at night.
My wife and I were on our honeymoon in PlayaCar and decided to adventure out to Isla Mujeres for an overnight stay. If you are looking for a fancy hotel should you be staying for multiple days or are travelling with family and require more than basic amenities then Hotel Rocamar probably isn't for you. It is indeed a basic hotel which was ideal for us for the single night. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony and had a relaxing time in the hammock provided. The room had a comfortable bed, decent bathroom (although a little dirty I must admit), great A/C which was quiet, a safe to store any valuables (it did look like it was through WWII, but did it's job). The only concern I had was regarding the actual lock on the door, it worked however seemed very finicky, which left me a little uneasy. Again just like the safe it did it's job. As my wife and I spent the majority of our time exploring the island, we spent very little time in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful!

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Everything! The most would be the privacy, romance, and the view!
Cons: Nothing. It was awesome!
Location: Conveniently located from ferries, North Beach, and everything you want to see!
Beautiful ocean views, friendly staff, comfortable beds plus hammocks. This place is romantic! Perfect place for honeymoons or anniversaries. I'm pleased with our 1st year wedding anniversary stay here. I couldn't have picked a better place (Wi-Fi not very good in the room but they had a patio where it worked better). Free coffee and water was a PLUS!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family Vacay

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights on the island for family vacation. Hotel is away from Playa Norte, the best beach, but since the island is small it was close enough to walk there and the restaurant area easily. My favorite part of the hotel was the hammock on the small balcony, overlooking the ocean. The least favorite part of the hotel was the shower set up. It's contemporary with glass but the shower splashes all over and the floor was all wet and messy, and the towel for the floor wasn't enough to dry it all. You can live with it, but a little annoying. My only complaint was that we asked for an additional beach towel for our 4 year old, since they only gave us two, and they wouldn't give us one unless we payed $25 for it. I thought it was a little ridiculous. So my husband and I just shared one and the other for our daughter. And the guy at the front desk needs to work on better customer service. We had just come from a hotel we loved in Cancun where the staff was so attentive and nice, so this guy at this hotel threw us off. He was a total opposite, bland and not very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by KANA from 東京

いいホテルです!

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
景色もよくHotelの方もとても親切でした。 英語は通じるので日本人も安心です。 スーパーもコンビニも近くにあるので周辺環境もバッチリです。 また泊まりたいいいHotelでした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Loved our Stay at Rocamar

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!!
Cons: microwave in rooms
Location: so many things close to walking distance..Close to North Beach, shops
This motel is so comfortable and beautiful views..The staff was accommodating, maid service was excellent. We had the best one ever..Will for sure be going back to Rocamar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bernhard from Germany

great place to stay with minor glitches

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 9 days in room on the third floor §30 with real bathroom (no glass cubicle), were almost entirely pleased. The only annoying issues were the low water pressure and erratic temperature regulation of the shower and the sometimes spotty internet connection from the room. In the lobby there was always one of the two networks working, though. Last year in November I did not have any internet access problem from a room on the first floor.