Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 20, 2017
Charged 108.00 extra for room in second floor and clerk said he would only take cash because his credit card reader was broken kind of fishy and wondered if he Pocket money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great two week vacation.

Posted May 17, 2017
Comfortable and clean. Close to beach and restaurants!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Overall hotel was good, location was excellent! It was clean and felt to be in a safe neighborhood. FYI there is no privacy in the restroom between your roommate or whom your staying in the room with ( tiny yellow tart curtain to cover bathroom glass wall and door) not enough for complete privacy, making it very uncomfortable to use the restroom) Bathroom can get messy as the shower floor is all the same floor with toilet and sink. (All restroom floor gets wet and messy) shower water pressure is weak making it slower to shower. Important note : No toilet paper to be thrown in toilet! There is a sign that we ignored and our toilet got clogged! (Not nice for our vacation, but easily fixed with the plunger) Must get higher level rooms to enjoy the balcony view! We were on the 2nd floor and our balcony was the BEST part of our stay! Enjoyed the sunset and beautiful waves! Reminder to not lose your beach towel or your beach towel pass (blue laminated card hotel gives you) otherwise you will be responsible for towel cost $25 Usd! Great tip: Hotel provides overnight parking for golf carts at no cost. (We rented a 24hr cart, so it was perfect. Some cart rentals won't let you rent the cart for 24hrs unless you have safe parking location) Pool was nice and clean, but only used it once as you'll enjoy the beach instead! Overall good experience staff was nice and prompt to assist with any concerns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Ground floor = moldy basement

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We unfortunately booked a "ground floor" room. These rooms are, in fact, below ground in the basement. The room was dark, dingy, and stank of mold. In general the room was badly maintained, dirty, and poorly built to begin with. Water poured out of the ceiling around the shower pipe and when we showered the whole room filled with condensation and made all of the floors wet because there is no ventilation. Our beds felt wet the entire trip and our beach things never dried because of the dampness in the room. The fridge also didn't work and was so dirty that we wouldn't have stored anything in it. We paid extra to stay in a room upstairs on the last night and it wasn't much better. It was dry, but the bathroom was ridiculous. There is a glass door with no cover in front of the toilet so we had to leave the room to give one another privacy. The curtain that they hung up to block the rest of the glass-walled bathroom is an old tarp on a wire. I read reviews that mentioned a tarp but I thought it was an exaggeration. It's not. I cut my hand trying to move the tarp across the wire as well. This place is in bad shape and needs major renovations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poughkeepsie, NY

great location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Hotel was right on the water, close to ferry terminal and walking distance to everything in El Centro. Balcony had amazing view of water. It felt like a big cruise cabin. Staff was great when you could find them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sooke

Excellent location, beautiful ocean view. Simple

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Overall, clean and comfortable and well situated. Nothing fancy but pleasant experience and good value. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A reliable and comfortable place

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is always clean and comfortable. It is close to downtown but far enough to minimize the noise from the bars. You can't beat the patio with the view of the ocean. It's also nice to have the pool as an option from the beach. We've been coming here at least yearly for a couple of decades. If you are expecting American service, you won't get it. Typically the check in time is not flexible, during the busier times of the year. Also, it may be 4pm before your room is cleaned. Wifi is sketchy or non-existent in the rooms but works fine in the lobby. A few years ago they started offering large towels for the beach. It's nice not to have to pack them anymore.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was perfect EXCEPT the people next store were smokers and their smoke blew into our deck so we were not able to sit on deck because of the smoke. We also could not leave our deck door open either since it blew into our room. Uncomfortable since I have allergies.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

False advertisement

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Orbitz
I have recently spent a week at the Rocamar hotel. The pictures I saw on Orbitz were great, but the reality was a bit different. Apparently I have booked a ground level room which turned out to be a basement room. There were no pictures of this room posted on the hotel's website. It was very disappointing, traveling to such a beautiful place to spend a week in the basement room. The advertisement should say basement room instead of ground level !!!
5 out of 5
by Maryann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels