Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The room was really clean!! However there was no Hamic in the rooms on the first floor. And our bathroom was nothing like the pictures. However the room was super clean and staff was really nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Avoid the "Ground Floor" rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2016
I purchased a package, air and hotel through Expedia. I was in a hurry and didn't research the hotel as well as I should have. My package paid for "Ground Floor Ocean View" room. At the Rocamar, the ground floor is actually halfway underground, what I would call a basement. No hammock on balcony. Clearly there are security issues with these rooms - the TV is secured behind a glass panel. Anyone passing by on the walkway (Malecon) outside can see into the room, although the sliding door does have a reflective coating that hides the interior during daylight hours. We upgraded to first floor (extra $12 per day) as soon as something was available and enjoyed the rest of our stay immensely. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are the best, as many reviews attest. If we had started out in an upper floor room my review would have been 5 stars. Minus one on staff for not telling us about the upgrade possibility until I had asked three times to move. Minus one on facility for pool cleanliness -
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Good

Posted May 17, 2016
The front deck people are NOT nice! The rest are just ok! The maintence young guy was great! I stayed in a room w/ broke ac. My choice but you'd think the desk would have been nicer. I wanted to book room 6 for future and they said they can't!! Weird. They need new blood there
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Good location in downtown

Posted May 10, 2016
Lovely balcony view onto Caribbean Sea. Decent enough for two night stay, Clean, tidy, good air con. Hot water took ages to come through but got it eventually. Front desk staff seem to have a 'relaxed' attitude, not unfriendly but also not that welcoming! Good location in downtown for dinner/drinks. Although on reflection would not go to Isla mujeres again, too many people and not special enough. If you want a chilled, relaxed vibe and right on the beach my advice would be head straight to tulum!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Atiendan Reservaciones Respétenlas

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Al inicio, no confirman con agencia las reservaciones, te hacen esperar hasta encontrar sus correos que según no les llega info, aseguran no haber reservación ni registros que les hayan compartido, una hora después te dan cualquier otra habitación porque ya omitieron tu reservación inicial. Es una pena porque la zona es agradable.
4 out of 5
by Robyn from Tulsa

The view and staff make up for the shortcomings.

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room is basic but sufficient. Clean. The air conditioning was less than expected. It would have made it a lot better if there had been a fan. The hotel staff was helpful, courteous and super nice! Housekeeping staff was phenomenal and so thoughtful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Easy check in clean rooms incredible view Close to everything nice little reasturant close by
4 out of 5
by dana from Denver

A consistent favorite.

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a nice alternative to the hotels in downtown and on the north beach. It is much quieter, as it is a bit removed from the pounding discotheques. There is only the sea wall and walkway between you and the ocean, so the views are beautiful. We have been visiting Islafor 20 years, and have stayed in many hotels. For the price and quality, we have consistently returned to Roca Mar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

nice hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: daily house keeping, modern look, great view from room, smaller hotel, not overcrowded or busy.
Cons: wifi. i saw there was plumbing hookups on the balcony for jacuzzi tubs that used to be there, would be nice if they were still there.
Location: good food on the strip. fun to look at souvenirs, but very very overpriced. do not buy any jewelry, its all a scam.
great view of the coast from the 2nd floor where we stayed. the hammocs were a nice touch on the balcony. the hotel was basic but nice. really didn't have any complaints other than the wifi signal was really weak and came in and out. overall the hotel was great. we got hounded by a group of people selling timeshares when leaving the airport, they suckered us into a "90 minute presentation" that ended up taking most of the day. we did get a free breakfast and nice massage out of the deal and half price on some vacation packages like xplor and xenotes which were amazing. i was told by another timeshare rep from another hotel that they can give you free tickets if you haggle with them enough or find the right place offering. all of the shops are selling the same stuff they sold 15 years ago when i visited last, and its vastly more overpriced now. i bought my wife a ring at one of the shops that i talked the guy down from $350 to $100 and thought i got a good deal, till i looked on ebay when we got back to the room later that night and found almost exact duplicates of the same rings from $20-50. lots of things to do while you're there, so figure out what activites you want to do in advance and plan them. we rented a golfcart while there from ciro's, one of the only places that would rent one for longer than a day (8am to 5pm)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location to all restaurants and beaches

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Met our expectations - not a 5 star but worth the money!