Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nh

Like staying at grandmas

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Was at cape for a dog show . Hard to find accommodations that take large dogs. Pet fee most reasonable I've encountered. Staff very pleasant. Stayed in carriage house with my dog and husband. Beautiful area very quiet and nice area to walk or jog your dog. Convenient to other towns. Nice continental breakfast. Only negative was tv reception poor but not in room enough for it to matter
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, very helpful staff, but tired hotel.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The location was great and the staff was very accommodating. The hotel is somewhat run down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Room definitely needs updating. Old and worn out. Shade in bathroom was torn, rugs shabby and worn, etc. Breakfast very disappointing, they served fruit that was not fresh.
3 out of 5
by Patrick from Easthampton

Enjoyed stay at Colonial House Inn.

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed one night (by plan) for a short visit to the cape. Three beaches within 5 miles. Room was very spacious, possibly biggest room ever. It's an antique building so no modern hotel furniture. Bed was fine. Chairs were kind of stiff. A/c in room. Small TV. Had a Ruku set up that I couldn't figure out. Didn't watch much anyway. Breakfast was provided. Coffee, cereal, muffins & croissants. It used to offer full dinner service - the dining room was still prepped and ready - but the owner said the previous owner was the cook and he died, so it was discontinued. It's within driving distance of several nice restaurants.
1 out of 5
by Deborah from Virginia

Please don't stay here

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking forward to relaxing night to read and get some sleep. I was greeted by a pleasant man who took me to my room. The bed had a rubber mattress pad on it that made so much noise when I sat on it. The TV didn't work, the toilet didn't flush. When I sat at the bar to get a glass of wine I was informed that there was no food vice and that the place was for sale and nothing works. This place should not be on any website. It was ridiculous that I paid $170 for that room. It wasn't worth $25.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unpleasant stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel was not at all as pictured in their description. It was dark upon entering, ((it was 5:30 pm and felt like night) our keys were in an envelope. The pool was in the dark, dimly lit basement. The "bar" was roped off and there was no cafe. The room was up a steep flight of stairs, and it was not clean. One of our beds (2 singles) had stained sheets and the towels were stained. The closet was a utility closet. Finally, the tv needed 2 remotes, one of which was missing. The Inn might have been charming once but it seemed to us that no one cared about, or for, this space. We would not recommend this hotel at any price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Appreciated that the hotel allowed dogs. They have a large yard for the dogs to exercise.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
I guess you get what you pay for. It's not a bad place, just not all that nice. Room was clean and comfy, but service and breakfast was lacking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Going back in time

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Facilities could be improved . Example : open the spa
Location: Fantastic location on route 6a , which is near the beaches and quaint villages of the North side od Cape Cod.
Based upon other reviews and a 2 star rating , my expectations were minimal . However , the hotel Innkeeper , Stan, did a wonderful job all around. Breakfast was good , room was very nice and overall ambiance was extraordinary. And yes, we did have an experience with a ghost !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OLD world caricature.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Staff when they were on.
Cons: Alott.
The rooms have no cable TV, just ROKU, with no instructions on how to use it, dead batteries in remote. Had to get out of bed all night to change channel. Plumbing made noise all night , every time someone used bathrooms. The food, resturant was closed. Breakfast was severely lacking. The pool had algae in it , pump was not running. I would not use it, off season or not it should have been working!!!! The only saving grace was the Staff when they were there. I specifically asked for this to be a special time for my daughters Honeymoon!!! well it was SPECIAL all wright.