Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
This was our 2nd trip to Koh Samui and staying at Chaba Samui Resort. The resort has been renovated, and the new rooms are great, heaps of room, great storage, good showers. The pool area and beach front are great as well, such a good location, great beach for walking and swimming, plus water sports. Very shallow for a long way out. Staff alway friendly and helpful. Good buffet breakfasts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 31, 2017
We booked 10 days here and booked the ocean wing and it was a real bummer. The first room we were given on the ground level was far to noisy from all the street noise. The staff agreed to move us however they had nothing available for another two nights i really wish we just asked for a refund and booked somewhere else then. On a positive note the hotel staff (excluding one) are friendly and the room was always cleaned promptly. The beach is also quite nice connected to the hotel but it ends there. Unfortunately the weather was a bit wet we spent a bit of time in our room and WiFi doesn't work in the rooms, when there was rain the tv channels stopped working. The breakfast is pretty average and the same everyday by the 5th day we stopped eating there even though we pre paid and paid to eat elsewhere. The bed is uncomfortable. However the most disappointing thing was the treatment of the in house booking agent who we hired a scooter off and being ripped off. We have hired scooters many times from hotels whilst in Thailand and never have we come across someone this rude and conniving. Not only were we ripped off when we returned our scooter for a day over half full of petrol and had it returned to us with barely enough to get to the petrol station we had a massive argument when it was de-hired. Apparently it was returned 3 hours late and she insisted we pay for another full day if hire to which we argued as we did not receive any paperwork that said it needed to be back by
3 out of 5
by Woo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Great Resort

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location to shops , best part of the beach , fantastic staff , great food
Cons: some of the small steps around entrance & pool can be a trip hazard
Location: shopping mall & supermarkets very close by
fantastic staff , great location , will be back next year
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK place

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
The place is OK. For the price I paid it's fine. Service was a bit slow towards the end. We asked to arrange service to the airport at 2pm and they said it has to be earlier as the service will be used to pick up another customer which is fine. We asked if we can take local taxi instead and it took them about 15-20mins to provide an answer. Other than that, the place itself if OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend Ocean View Building

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe Ocean View building room. From what I heard this building is much nicer than the Lake View building. Do not however be surprised when your room in the Ocean View building does not actually have an ocean view. Only the most expensive suites have a view of the ocean. Other rooms have a view of the garden. Which, at least, is nice and well kept. The room was exactly as in the pictures and was very comfortable and obviously newly renovated. Also, the hotel location is fantastic. It is just south of some of the louder and busier bars so it is quieter. Also, the beachfront is the most beautiful in all of Chaweng. The hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas which is really nice. We would definitely recommend Chaba Samui. Our only complaint was that the staff was not proficient in English so they were not able to make any local recommendations. Also, basic communication about the room was difficult at times. That said, they were always nice and helpful and accommodated a late checkout for us as well as help in arranging transport to the airport. TIP: if renting motor bikes on Koh Samui, have the hotel help you arrange this. Their prices are comparable to other renters and they do not require you to leave your passport with them (something independent renters will require of you.)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but some good points

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Pool and dedicated cheap pool side massage employees that were very professional.
Cons: Its an old hotel and reception looks like its 30 years old. The beach front hotel has a neibouring hotel that is half demolished.
Location: Location was superb. Quiet if you are on the beach hotel side, but the main hotel is next to a very noisey pub with band that played daily.
Arrived at the hotel at 9.30 but had to wait to 12 to check in (no real issue), but was then given a twin room with no bath when a double was booked and had to wait again till 2pm. Main hotel is very dated, pool is terrible and probably unused. Accross the road is the beach front part - its a must to stay on that side. The rooms have been renovated, many rooms have no bath so you will have to request on booking if you want one. Rooms are pretty decent and tv also has a number of English channels. Pool for the beach side hotel is pretty good ang has its own bar and beach front - definately a major plus and the best element of the hotel. Not sure about recommendation as there may be other newer and more luxurious hotels on the beach front at the same price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor and very tired hotel..

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Ants in room,breakfast poor.very tired hotel now.i think they are waiting to be taken over.2. Out of 10 .great position in ko samui.NO internet.
4 out of 5
by Gudmund

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels