Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

before you book, An honest and fair review

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: the view was breathtaking, but the standard of the hotel was extremely poor. and the service was absolutely shocking.
Cons: the hotel would benefit from some serious investment, and a more modern look and feel. i was truly disappointed.
Location: we did not choose to stay, we did book at the Colonna Hotel and Spa resort, it was picture perfect. worth the money, and very relaxing.
When booking this hotel, the pictures really sell you the room, and the location seems perfect. on landing (Olbia) we took a taxi to the hotel at a cost £140.0 this was not what i was expecting, so it would be cheaper if you hired a car. When we booked in, the view is breath taking, i booked a Superior Double room. we were greeted by a friendly porter, when he showed us to our room, i was totally gobsmacked by the very poor standard of the room, it is a square filled with the cheapest of beds, and some very old furnishing. i felt if i was sold a lie. i immediately went to reception, to express my concern, and that i was not impressed with the standard of the room. as it was a booking that you can cancel, i exercised the right. however it was 9pm in the evening, and finding a new hotel at the time would of been difficult. the manager suggested we stay one night and discussed the costs in the morning. to which i agreed. we asked if we could be booked in for dinner, to be told it was fully booked...! then at the last minute they found us a seat. at a cost of £45.PP the food was not brilliant, but it was not poor. i was shocked at the price. the next morning was another debacle, where the use of a language barrier was in full play, with the treat of police, i agreed to pay 50% of the cost of the room. i am not saying you should not stay at the hotel, but i am saying it is not what is in the picture, . the hotel is rated as a 5 star. it truly is only a 2/3 start at best...!
3 out of 5
by Rolsyn from Melbourne

Have enjoyed this hotel but will not stay again

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel for at least the last five years. Views, beach, pool fantastic, but the property is getting run down. Plenty of staff but not much service. No internet, very poor TV. Five star rating but overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Some good points!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Negatives...no wifi all week, staff don't offer info about shuttle buses, kids club etc, bed very hard. Nothing to walk out to in the evening. No pool service. Positives...lovely view, kids club staff very nice, nice to have choice of beach or pool. Good variety for breakfast but don't replenish all sitting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view but boring food

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels
A nice pool area and view over the ocean! But far to the city and bad food at the hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nathalie

Right on the beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
the grounds were beautiful! Right on the beach, several pools to choose from. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were a bit dated for the price, need some updating like bigger TV with more channels, clock radio, newer furniture. But, I would definitely go back!
3 out of 5
by Faz from Oslo

Dropping by before heading to Corsica

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
Location is fantastic, The swim on the beach and the view from the pool overlooking the beach was worth the stay here. However this being a 5 star hotel, maybe in the 1980's but not now. More like a 3-4 star hotel that is old and needs a makeover. The place is in a fantastic location and has potential but seems to be long past its use by date at present. Wireless and breakfast was ok (nothing special). For the price paid it was not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P. from Zurich

Nice hotel with a private beach

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Hotel is about one hour drive from Olbia airport, perfectly located at Capo Testa. Classic Rooms are a bit dated with rustic feel, but clean and tidy. Infinity pools are nice, but there is also a private beach with free sunbeds, parasols and towels for hotel guests. The beach is sheltered from Easterly wind, you only get a nice breeze. Hotel arranged an impressive cocktail by the pool with extensive buffet, again free for hotel guests. Staff is friendly and helpful. Parking is free too. Hotel is only 5 min drive from the town of Santa Teresa with many nice restaurants.
2 out of 5
by Jean from Near London

Might work for you, it didn't work for us.

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: The general area had potential, a good base from which to explore
Cons: Staff who weren't customer-focused and everything seemed a problem. They obviously don't seem to value people spending the British Pound!
Location: Mixed - not 5-star, that's for sure.
Hotel was smaller than the photos suggested. Lifeguards seemed to be looking to create issues rather than solving them - didn't feel friendly. I think this hotel caters more for the local and Italian market. For the price and for a five-star hotel it didn't feel special. Despite a small corner of the beach being cordoned off with a rope to mark it as private for the hotel, hawkers were relentless in their pursuit of a sale and, despite there being hotel staff on hand, no attempt was made to stop this from happening and the pursuit and number of the hawkers seemed relentless. On the second night the air-conditioning didn't work and we had a fraught night but didn't complain, the second night when it was apparent at 4.30pm, having returned to the room, that the air-conditioning would not be on again, I requested a move to a different hotel. To be fair they obliged and the new hotel, part of the same group - was like entering a different world - and it was a proper and wonderful 5-star hotel. I marvel at why the staff at Capo Testa don't go to Colonna Resort for training because they are chalk and cheese. Also beach had lots of black material on it (probably seaweed but there was lots of it and on the second day jelly-fish). I have reviewed Colonna Resort on Trip Advisor and have given it 10 out of 10 - really marvellous staff and fantastic facilities - as you would expect. So don't judge the whole group by this one hotel and maybe we were unlucky.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Family Hotel - not enough value for the money

Posted Aug 24, 2010 on Hotels
Typical Sardenian Family hotel, but far too expensive for what is offered. Hotel beach rather small and packed with sunbeds, sunumbrellas could not be opened due to wind (in July). Public beach next to it. Poor Sport activity offer from third party (no sailingboats). Breakfast is OK, but Halfboard is uncreative pre-cooked food. Loud in dining room due to many kids. Waiters partly arrogant. Not possible to by beer at beach, we had to go to reception-bar and get two for 14,- EUR! Awful live music at evening bar. Only for old people. Overall impression is that the hotel is far beyond its good times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HAUTE SAVOIE

Ce n'est pas un quatre étoiles

Posted Sep 15, 2008 on Hotels
L'emplacement est superbe et les piscines très belles. L'entrée est elle aussi digne de sa catégorie. Toutefois, notre chambre sentait très mauvais et l'odeur était pire dans les placards (inutilisables). La chambre était sale à notre arrivée et la salle de bain est à peine digne d'un 2 * Le restaurant en crépi blanc, sans aucune déco ni vue sur l'extérieur est à pleurer !