Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Karthik

Safe and comfortable - renovation starting in July

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
The room was big and the breakfast service was a good mix of local and international food. But the hotel in general is a bit outdated and the room could do with a lot better cleaning, especially the carpets. Good thing they are closing down in July 2017 for a full renovation - that would be most helpful !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, U.S.A.

Double Charged for Room

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I reserved the room through Expedia, which is an advance pay option for Novotel Cotonou. At the end of our stay, we had some small incidental charges. But rather than swipe the credit card for the 8 Euros, they charged the credit card for the full rate of the room. Then, when they tried to facilitate a refund, they charged the credit card again. After a lengthy conversation with the manager and staff, they informed us the bank would have to facilitate the refund. After more than a month of emails asking about the status of the refund, I simply gave up, including calls to Novotel headquarters. If you stay at Novotel Cotonou and reserve with Expedia, always bring your receipt or pay with cash. Once you let them swipe your credit card, your money is lost. To this day, I'm still owed $160.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hallway carpets need t be changed. They should really have at least one English channel on the TV for non French speaking customers. The food was average, the chef seems to have gone on holiday!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Nice facilities but bad service ever

Posted Nov 8, 2015
This hotel is good location and good facilities , but the service is very bad now after it was the best in Benin, the staff and management are carless for having any more business as I see , and they keep surprising you with extra things to pay as without any rights , and specially the tax thing , I booked tax included and they made me pay extra tax as they claimed that this called room tax . Breakfast charged on my friend even she didn't have it at all , they said whatever you have to pay it . I guess Accor is losing the control at their quality image with this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Harikrishnan from Bristol, UK

Good business hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
It was a 4-day business trip. The stay was pleasant. The hotel has a nice bar and a good restaurant, offering a decent range of food and drinks. Airport is just under 5 mins by shuttle, which is available on request. Very good staff members.
4 out of 5
by moshe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle,WA

Place to be

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Staffs-Food-Security-Location.
Cons: Bigger play room for kids, and repair hairdryers(room210)
Location: This place is in the center of everything.
The first night was terrible. We were placed into a smoking room despite our request for No Smoking Room. But that issue was solved the next day. They moved us from the third floor to the second floor. Nice Breakfast, my kids love it. Nice staffs excepted the one who put us in smoking room our first night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
This is not a luxurious hotel, but they had a decent buffet and the internet connection was surprisingly good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
the room stunk bad, my head started hurting after an hour in my room. I don't understand why the hotel is carpeted. You should not carpet in a hot and humid environment!.