Ratings based on 554 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara region

Good location has all the facilities we need .

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Location and comfortable, clean room. Enjoyed the food in the bar.
Cons: Wish we had known about the shuttle service when we arrived at Gatwick.
Location: We can take the bus into Crawley if we come into Heathrow overnight.
Friendly greeting on arrival. Suggested shuttle bus for our early morning flight plus wake up call. We had an included breakfast but couldn’t use it because of the early flight. She suggested a breakfast box to take instead. Comfortable bed all facilities we needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from korea

Difficult to come and go to the airport

Posted Oct 5, 2017
I chose this hotel because I had to go to the Gatwick airport in London. But the accessibility was so bad. And the staff are not kind. So bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

15 mins bus ride to airport

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Hard to understand the staff. All not british. Hotel under reservation. Photos not as it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Robert , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at The Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick hotel. I was sorry to read your comments with regards to our staff and hotel. We are currently undergoing a lift refurbishment which is due to finish soon, giving us newer, quicker lifts. Kind Regards, Robert Pearson Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Close to airport.Room quite comfortable Warm and helpful staff. Had an early morning flight .Breakfast was packed to be taken away. Staff assisted in giving information as to most economical method of transport .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Va

Hotel near Gatwick Airport with billing problems

Posted Sep 7, 2017
I was told there was a 100£ hold, but my credit statement had 130ish£ when I only suppose To pay for breakfast for 2. Like the club room with perks not sure if the hot breakfast was worth the extra cost when I had to flag down staff for coffee and waffles. Caught the train to London without mishap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Robert P - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at The Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick hotel. I am sorry to read that you have experienced an issue with your credit card following your stay here with us. Please would you contact me directly at Guestrelations@cpgatwick.com so I may resolve this issue for you. I have forwarded your feedback about the restaurant service to our Food & Beverage team for their review. My sincere apologies for you not receiving a better service. I look forward to hearing from you and we look back to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Robert Pearson Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
For a one-night stay before catching a flight at Gatwick this is fine; our room (2 queens for 2 adults and 1 child) was comfortable and well-appointed. Note that it is about 8 miles from the airport (something I missed when I made the reservation), but the shuttle service is excellent and at 3 pounds much cheaper than a taxi. It's not very convenient for walking to restaurants if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Needs refurbishing.
Hotel was supposed to be near Airport, was a £16 ride away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful Staff

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Staff was terrific!
Cons: It felt older than expected. Also, as work was being done in our hallway, there was no power for a number of hours.
Location: The location was terrific! Close to trains and busses, and close to the ocean. It was, though, an hour in the taxi from the Euro station. $$$
We chose this hotel as I praise Crowne Plazas and because it was close to the airport. The employees were fabulous! From those upon entering, to those preparing and serving meals, to those providing care to the premise, we were very impressed. Being close to Gatwick Airport, a 3 pound fee took us directly to the airport. From there, we took the train to Brighton. It was simply too far to go back into London for the day. Brighton was beautiful, affordable, and lovely. On the day to leave London, being a 10 minute ride to Gatwick was perfect. I reemphasize that the staff is that which I appreciate the most of all. Wonderful!
4 out of 5
by Dan

Ordinary

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived late due to traffic but reception staff were friendly and got me to my room quickly. Bear in mind parking is extra. The room was much smaller than I have come to expect from Crowne Plaza but was adequate for a one night stay, it would have been a squeeze for two people plus two sets of flight luggage. There were many wall plugs including European and USB. Bizarre square pillows but I did manage to find one regular style pillow in the cupboard. Breakfast was buffet style and again was adequate. Overall nothing special but if you are interested in park fly options then this may be suitable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels