Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Bruce from Perth

very basic accomodation

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
paid for a single room with ensuite but instead got put in the bunkhouse with a shared bathroom.Bed was too small,was the bottom half of a bunk bed.Walls are paper thin,could hear the guy in the next room snoring.Wifi is limited to 100mb per day,if you want more you have to pay extra.Breakfast cost an extra 4 pounds but is worth it.Have stayed in better for less
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC, USA

Relax in the middle of the English Countryside

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Good value for money, spacious room, and excellent breakfast
A nice hotel with very friendly staff in the middle of the English Countryside. The room was spacious and clean. An excellent breakfast with a wide choice. Good parking.
5 out of 5
by Mr.P E from spalding

lovely stsy

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent and the owners very nice people
1 out of 5
by claudette from London


Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances. The service was that of Faulty Towers. After agreeing to book the last double room for a family member under single occupancy tariff rate over the phone. The owner chose to refute such an agreement and we were overcharged by £100. The owner also attempted to take money off of the credit card on the second morning of our stay in direct breach of the terms and conditions of the booking. Overall it was a horrible experience which I will not be repeating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2015 by paul, Hotel Management
The comments do not relate to a room booked on Expedia. The comments relate to another room booked separately. The room price quoted was for a double room and a double room was occupied and charged . The guest gave a card number that could not be authorised as there was insufficient funds.
5 out of 5
by Ricky from Beckenham

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
A very quiet location, a perfect weekend
5 out of 5
by stefano

Quiet location and a spectacular breakfast

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
USed it as a stayover during my roadtrip with my son. Location is very quiet, rooms are good, not exactly modern, but adequate for a building this age. The real surprise came at breakfast. All ingredients are locally sourced, or locally produced. Lookaout for the hand made apple juice and the home made jams.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

A pleasant short stay allowing us to take the dog

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Small accommodation convenient and allowed the dog
Location: Near Bressingham steam and garden centre, Diss Norwich about 25 miles even the coast not too far!
A pleasant short stay allowing us to take the dog, (lots of walks in the area) Charming little self catering cottage with all you need. Wonderful rural so no mobile phone or broadband without using their network. Central east Anglia lots to do all round even the coast.
1 out of 5
by Christopher from Miami.

The Stay at the 'bates' motel 2

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very bad stay! My wife and I booked this B&B based on the stars but WE REGRET IT. The room had a bed that felt like it was broken, terrible. Dusty room with minimal to none care in cleanliness. The walls were so thin that we could hear the snoring of the next door guest and the child's cry during the night. The bathroom had no curtain or even rails which my wife felt very uncomfortable washing, NOT showering because there was no shower, she said she felt like someone was watching. We had a very bad experience and would NOT recommend this to anyone. Finding the hotel was a mission if not for a nice neighbor who helped us. Further to this we couldn't open the room curtains in the morning because there were men walking pass the window (no privacy). Very OVERPRICED, check closer and there other accommodations for 30% less, we found it when it was too lat. We fail to see how they got there 4 star rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2015 by paul, Hotel Management
All our bathrooms have curtains and this is the first time in 15 years that someone has complained about the wall thickness. Our rooms are cleaned every day I have no idea what the ref to Bates motel is must be something you Americans have on TV? Rooms on the ground floor can occasionally have people walking past . If you had mentioned your problems we could have tried to resolve them.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Rickmansworth

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
I've stayed at Strenneth many times and keep going back,the silence is golden. Very friendly welcome and great breakfast.