Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Wonderful B&B in Birmingham, Alabama

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful and unique
Cons: I can't think of any improvements
Location: I walked to the university of Alabama, close to restaurants. A close and easy drive to downtown.
This was a beautiful Victorian B&B with many antiques and unique bedrooms and great breakfast! The owner, Sheila, was most welcoming and a very interesting person! I loved meeting other people at breakfast! It was in an interesting part of the city and the area felt safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kill Devil Hills, NC

The Benefits of a B&B

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Wonderful hospitality
Cons: room darkening shades if they could be added without destroying the ambiance.
This was our first experience with a B & B. We found the place to be extremely interesting in history. The room was comfortable, though small. We recognized the fun in staying here was the table conversations with the other guests. Breakfast was very tasty and fresh. The beverages in the refrigerator and cookies in the foyer added to the feeling of being welcomed. The location was good for our visit to the University as well as to the restaurants in the area. We intend to recommend this stop to others when they are in the area. The negative would be the lights from the street shining in the window but there was no noise and we adjusted to the lights. \
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salek

AirBnB

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable.
Great experience, hospitable Birmingham. Was upgraded to owner's other BnB because it was closer to UAB, which was very thoughtful. I was unable to make breakfast in the morning, but the owner prepared a prepackaged breakfast for me which was awesome. I really appreciated how thoughtful she was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marshfeild, MO

Cleaner rooms are the key!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Perfect location, right downtown. Quaint. Antiques on main floor, and lovely dining room.
Cons: Clean - black mold from bathroom door frame, soap off mirror, dust and cob webs from walls, and bathroom floor. Antiques in rooms, too. Meet innkeeper
Location: It was nice that it was downtown, but we couldn't find much to do. It was within walking distance of Five Points and close to other shopping areas.
Since the innkeeper was out shopping, she gave us perfect instructions on getting into the B & B and up to our room. She covered everything we needed to get checked in. She asked what time we would like to have breakfast and we said 9am; however, when we came downstairs for our breakfast, everyone else at the table had already completed their meals. No problem, since the other guests were gracious and stayed to talk with us while we ate. The kind staff person brought our meal to us quickly; but we were surprised at how mediocre it was. Perhaps, if it hadn't been COMPLETELY cold, it might have tasted better. In the room, we were surprised at how dirty and dusty it was. The "white" curtains were gray from being dirty and there were cob webs on the walls in the room and bathroom. The mirror above he sink was sloppy with dried on soapy streaks; and the frame to the bathroom door was black with mold. The furniture in the room was mostly modern pieces that didn't go together, where we were hoping for antiques. The only antiques were a dusty old wedding gown and a water basin stand. The white cast iron bed was very pretty (it looked new) but had blah bedding. We were expecting more, and had stated to the innkeeper that we would love to meet her, but she did not show up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pleasant stay, very nice breakfast. Very noisy location near city entertainment district: loud motorcycle racing throughout the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Adorable B&B in a Perfect locatioon

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Charm, breakfast, location, service
Cons: The windows above the bedroom door's allow for light in the hallway to be let in the room at night when trying to sleep
Location: Dinner restaurants, breakfast restaurants, Starbucks, Vulcan
Loved this Bed and Breakfast. Beautiful, historic house, with easy parking for guests. It was a 4 minute walk to Birmingham's 5 Points, where there are lots of restaurants and shops. Breakfast was very tasty and the other guests at the table were fun to talk with. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older mansion. Excellent location

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Mansion was unique and inviting. Also was located near a town center. Enjoyed my stay there!
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I was expecting

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
I had called the B&B to say my arrival would be around 8 PM . They didn't give me any indication that no one would be there. I found a number to call after arriving, after the 2nd call I was told the code to get in and where to find the key to my room. The bed was very uncomfortable. The room had some peeling on the wall and ceiling and the bath tub had wooden blocks under one of the claw foot legs, I was told we could get a to go breakfast since we had an early departure. We had to find it ourselves because no one told us there would be no one there at 6:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great weekend in Bham!

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The breakfast and the view from our room were great! We also ordered champagne for our room upon arrival, which was a lovely touch.
Location: The hotel is in a great location. There are several very good, very affordable restaurants and bars well within walking distance.
My boyfriend and I were in Birmingham for work and a social event but also as a romantic getaway weekend. This B&B met all our needs and more. We had a reservation at Cobb Lane, but the owner upgraded us to a bigger room with an in-suite bathroom at the Hassinger Daniels Mansion (the Vulcan Vista suite, I think). The owner is very dedicated to her work and took great care of us. We had a wonderful stay and would (hopefully will) definitely go back!