Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia SC

Relaxing Retreat

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Everything
Location: In Five Points and near Vulcan - easy access to all of Birmingham. I visited the Barber Motorsports museum.
Sheila is a wonderful hostess, this is a remarkable home in a great location. Breakfast was fantastic with great conversation. I will return the next time in B'ham, whether on vacation or on business, it was that good. Great atmosphere and hospitality, this was a welcome change from cookie-cutter hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Felt Like Staying With "Family". Outstanding!

Posted Dec 20, 2017
On the register of historic places. Very well documented in books and photos placed around the home. You feel like you've stepped back in time when staying here. Very old home perfectly restored. Antique furniture. 100 year-old decor. Stained-glass windows. Old fashioned service and hospitality .. "the way it used to be". Warm. Friendly. You instantly feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Downtown Birmingham location, Very convenient,

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Nothing
Location: Plenty of restaurants in walking distance
If you like history you will love this place, Stayed only one night but would have liked to stay a couple of more days,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Sheila was a fabulous host! She was available to answer any questions I had and was very accommodating for my schedule. I’d definitely stay at this bed and breakfast again and I’d recommend it to friends and family traveling to Birmingham as well. Thank you for providing such a quaint and interesting place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Wonderful B&B in Birmingham, Alabama

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful and unique
Cons: I can't think of any improvements
Location: I walked to the university of Alabama, close to restaurants. A close and easy drive to downtown.
This was a beautiful Victorian B&B with many antiques and unique bedrooms and great breakfast! The owner, Sheila, was most welcoming and a very interesting person! I loved meeting other people at breakfast! It was in an interesting part of the city and the area felt safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kill Devil Hills, NC

The Benefits of a B&B

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Wonderful hospitality
Cons: room darkening shades if they could be added without destroying the ambiance.
This was our first experience with a B & B. We found the place to be extremely interesting in history. The room was comfortable, though small. We recognized the fun in staying here was the table conversations with the other guests. Breakfast was very tasty and fresh. The beverages in the refrigerator and cookies in the foyer added to the feeling of being welcomed. The location was good for our visit to the University as well as to the restaurants in the area. We intend to recommend this stop to others when they are in the area. The negative would be the lights from the street shining in the window but there was no noise and we adjusted to the lights. \
4 out of 5
by Deborah

A gem.

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
We moved tovthecHamilton Inn property also owned by Cobb Lane innkeepers for a free upgrade in room size. Sheila could not have been kinder and more gracious. It is a beautifully restored home in a nice downtown district. Excellent breakfast with fascinating international company
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salek

AirBnB

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable.
Great experience, hospitable Birmingham. Was upgraded to owner's other BnB because it was closer to UAB, which was very thoughtful. I was unable to make breakfast in the morning, but the owner prepared a prepackaged breakfast for me which was awesome. I really appreciated how thoughtful she was.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Love it!!!

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
We loved the easy check on and the privacy the zebra room offered us. This was the second time we've visited on our anniversary. We Loved every minute of it and we'll be back!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marshfeild, MO

Cleaner rooms are the key!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Perfect location, right downtown. Quaint. Antiques on main floor, and lovely dining room.
Cons: Clean - black mold from bathroom door frame, soap off mirror, dust and cob webs from walls, and bathroom floor. Antiques in rooms, too. Meet innkeeper
Location: It was nice that it was downtown, but we couldn't find much to do. It was within walking distance of Five Points and close to other shopping areas.
Since the innkeeper was out shopping, she gave us perfect instructions on getting into the B & B and up to our room. She covered everything we needed to get checked in. She asked what time we would like to have breakfast and we said 9am; however, when we came downstairs for our breakfast, everyone else at the table had already completed their meals. No problem, since the other guests were gracious and stayed to talk with us while we ate. The kind staff person brought our meal to us quickly; but we were surprised at how mediocre it was. Perhaps, if it hadn't been COMPLETELY cold, it might have tasted better. In the room, we were surprised at how dirty and dusty it was. The "white" curtains were gray from being dirty and there were cob webs on the walls in the room and bathroom. The mirror above he sink was sloppy with dried on soapy streaks; and the frame to the bathroom door was black with mold. The furniture in the room was mostly modern pieces that didn't go together, where we were hoping for antiques. The only antiques were a dusty old wedding gown and a water basin stand. The white cast iron bed was very pretty (it looked new) but had blah bedding. We were expecting more, and had stated to the innkeeper that we would love to meet her, but she did not show up.