Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon Lake Ohio

Sawtooth Ridge Room

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The lady who provided the breakfast made up a couple of breakfast sandwich for my wife & I. She was very pleasant, but we wanted out of the Inn as
Cons: Use the room for storage.
Location: Great location near Fort Davis & McDonald Observatory
Room should not be rented, it is not adequate, had to block the heat vent because it was getting so hot. Then had to use a portable heater in the room in the am because the room was so cold? Gentlemen who checked us in said the room reminded him of his grandma's room in the home! I guess they did not care for granny, room was very poorly equipped.
4 out of 5
by Joyce P.

Comfort in the beautiful Davis Mountains

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice B & B. Thanks Evelyn for the wonderful breakfasts and fresh baked afternoon goodies. Warm apple pie yum!
5 out of 5
by Timothy

Great location.Friendly service.Very nice property

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The property staff/owners were very accomodating and friendly. Super quiet atmosphere! Just what the doctor ordered. The property grounds were really beautiful. Nice outdoor fireplace, walkway and porches. The only minor, and I mean minor negative was that the beautiful property was located next to an RV park on gravel/dirt. It was NOT noisy or otherwise distracting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Charming B&B in Fort Davis

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: It is super convenient to the town, hiking in the Davis Mountains, and the McDonald Observatory.
Cons: There is only one tiny table on which to work - I suggest moving the large dresser to the closet and putting in a proper desk and chair.
Location: Shopping in town, hiking in the Davis Mountains, and the McDonald Observatory.
This is our second stay at the Davis Mountains Inn, and it was as lovely as the first stay. We stayed in the Sleeping Lion room both times - it was comfortable and clean, with a large walk-in closet and huge master bathroom, with sunken tub and large shower. It has a French door that opens to the large porch and back yard. Breakfast each morning was delicious, with an egg dish, bread or pastries, and fruit each morning, along with terrific coffee and juices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
It was a comfortable stay. The location is nice. The owners were hospitable.
5 out of 5
by Diane

Pleasant peaceful place

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
We loved being out in the country, very peaceful setting with a mountain view. We were the only guests so had the house to ourselves and loved it. Evelyn and Caroline served us a tasty breakfast and were very friendly and helpful. We were able to use some blankets from the house for the star event at the McDonald's observatory which was very appreciated. Evelyn made us a nice take away breakfast the last morning as we had to leave early to catch a flight in Midland. That was most appreciated. The house is lovely and very peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed the setting and the beauty of the mountains. The room was nice with private bath but as it was in the loft, we kept hitting our heads, our first night was a little uncomfortable as it was warm for sleeping, but we opened the window to get a nice breeze and slept better the next two nights. Overall was a very pleasant stay and we would do it again. It is a lovely setting and quiet, loved being able to go get a snack or heat up some water for tea or coffee anytime and sitting out on the porch watching he neighboring cows wandering by and seeing the beauty of the sunrise/sunset was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Nice and friendly place

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Very comfortable place to return to after seeing the nearby sights, including the historic fort and McDonald observatory. Yummy breakfasts. Delicious cinnamon rolls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Quiet base to travel from

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The location is a little hard to find but watch for the Rooster. Great staff who were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Jane

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Our hosts were exceptionally caring about an item that we left behind, contacting us by email and mailing it to us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great facility but be ready to share your bath!

Posted Dec 26, 2016
This is a great location and property. However, we did not know it was going to be a "shared bath" experience! Others who were there also were in the dark about it. The website and Expedia do include that information, but it is not readily seen in your initial registration process.