Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Jena

Disappointing

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean but basic. Disappointed that the DVD player advertised was not in the room and my request for it to be supplied not acted upon. This is a reasonable expectation! TV also not working properly. Staff not terribly interested when this was mentioned at checkout the following day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south coast

Dont bother asking for an early check in

Posted Mar 9, 2017
we booked this hotel as we had a wedding to attend at 330 at gerringong. we asked 3 times (phone, email and in person) for an early check in and they could never give us a straight answer. we just turned up at 1pm hoping we could check in early to get ready for the wedding. she told us the room wasnt ready yet and to wait another 15-20 minutes. So we did the paperwork and left. When we returned there was a queue of other guests checking in for the regular 2pm check in. By the time we got served it was 215 and we ended up running late for the wedding. I dont know why she couldnt have given me the room key so we could go there at 2pm instead of having to line up again. also the bathroom cupboard and roof looked water damaged and there was no room service for breakfast on a sunday! Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Tranquil

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Very clean and tranquil
Location: Surf Beach at Gerringong fantastic. My wife loves the shops at Gerringong and Berry and magnificent Cafes.
Apart from arriving and discovering we had been put in a room with two single beds when I was with my wife, staff were quick to correct the situation and we were upgraded to a beautiful large, clean king sized room with balcony. Fantastic spot close to Gerringong beach which has amazing surf, not to mention gorgeous Berry and Kiama. Its a beautiful resort and a wonderful setting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel close to beaches

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Wotif
We didn't get the double we requested. The reception area was messy and there were areas that could have been cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value for money

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The pool, the restaurant, the lovely lady who runs the restaurant
Cons: The overall service, the communication. They shouldn't advertise what they can't deliver.
Location: Lovely beaches within walking distance, lots of birdsong, relaxing atmosphere
Nice restaurant & pool in lovely area, but miscommunication, poor service and a feeling of being ripped off means I won't be recommending it. I feel like the people who work there are probably exploited so I don't want to bag them but whenever there was a problem (and there were many) I couldn't seem to find anybody - our phone didn't work, the reception was always closed, and if I did manage to track someone down they just said 'oh yeah, we've been having issues' with no apology or attempt to fix anything. I wanted to stay there primarily for the king bed, free movies and room service and I got NONE of these things (except for the room service the couple of times when the phone actually worked). We had strange men tramping through our 'private' courtyard and the maids left our sliding door unlocked while we were out. They ran out of towels before the end of the week and didn't even tell us. I don't know who owns the place but they need to sort themselves out. When we were checking out no one asked us if we had had a nice stay (probably fearing the answer), It's a real shame because the food is excellent and the pool is lovely! And it's such a great location. If they get their act together it would be a wonderful place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, NSW

Much Room for Improvement

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Wotif
Despite requesting an early check in, the hotel was not only unable to meet this request, but further delayed our check in by 50 minutes. We were not offered an apology, complimentary refreshments or even a designated area in which to wait. While waiting, we could also over hear the complaints and issues of other guests who were checking in it had checked in (to unclean rooms). Next morning, the cleaner tried to access our room an hour before checkout. In short, we won't be back, and will be suggesting to our friends to stay elsewhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a good place for a short stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Lastminute
I suggest they put some hooks in the bathroom for towels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Bill Shock

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We stayed in room 212 from 26thJan - 29th Jan with our 2 kids 12 & 4. We had 2 single beds joined together and a sofa bed for our bedding and my son slept on the sofa bed and us 3 on the main bed. Upon checking out and reaching back home in Sydney I received an email saying that hotel has charged me $450 for broken sofa bed. This was utter nonsense at no stage we had even opened or closed the sofa bed this was all done by housekeeping for us. I called the hotel and was told kids may have jumped on the sofa bed. I explained to the hotel that my son is 12 years old and light weight 35Kgs to be precise he is mature enough not to jump on any bed let alone sofa bed. I requested to speak to the manager upon which i was told by Amy that Manager is not available and I will get a call back from her but they cant say when. Hotel has billed us for something which we haven't done or ever experienced in more than 20 years of travelling. I am still waiting for my call back from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great for families

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Wotif
Our recent stay at the Mercure was fantastic. The hotel staff were helpful when we arrived late in the evening with 2 sleeping children helping us with our luggage. The rooms were large and well equipped with one of our rooms having a small kitchenette so we could prepare some meals. The hotel facilities were fabulous with the pool being a big hit with our 5 1/2 year old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney AUSTRALIA

Leasure

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Excellent holiday resort, have been there a numerous time and will go back again soon