Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

LOVED The Bamboo Hut!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: The town is in walking distance which is great.
I wish I could have stayed longer. It was lovely staying in the bamboo hut. We were able to snorkel right outside our hut, the hut itself was great. Very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend staying here. I would come back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: We stayed in the private pool bamboo hut, the view was exceptional!
Location: It would be advisory to hire out mopeds, we did from the local pier for 150THB per day. Hotel is hilly so worth getting one to save time and energy!
We stayed in the BB3, the view was exceptional, the pool was large and the room was cleaned to a very high standard every day. The hotel is located up some quite steep hills, so we hired out mopeds, for simple and easy routes of getting to and from the pier for close by restaurants and bars. What a lovely way to end a night by jumping in to your own private pool! The hotel have 2 dogs on reception also, we fell in love with these! It was just a pleasure to stay and we would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic hotel with great snorkelling

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Loved the snorkelling, staff, and the food was great!
Cons: Holy cow was it a trek to get anywhere around the resort. Make sure you are fit if you are staying in some of the bamboo huts.
Location: Location is great. It's still hidden away but a 10-15 minute walk away from the town. We loved it!
We stayed in the Sunset suite which was amazing. We walked into an INCREDIBLE view, with a good sized room and a sweet bathroom that was set into the rock of the hill. We could literally walk down next to our place and go snorkel which we absolutely loved. It is not to far away from the town, however just realise that it can be a trek from the bamboo huts to anywhere- be fit! Their were some places you could stay that were not as much of a walk, but we were one of the farthest huts out. Highly recommend the staff (service was fantastic) and the food at the starlight restaurant kept us coming back with great food and reasonable prices. We would 100% return and stay in the same spot. I reckon it's one of the best positions on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing experience

Posted May 7, 2016
Fantastic resort and experience. We loved our stay at bamboo huts the room was located on the sea front with beautiful views. Pros: location, private beach, resturant, ferry shuttle Cons: bugs P.s lots of walking up and down hills to get anywhere
4 out of 5
by Joe from Essex

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Short 2 night stay, friendly staff, transfer to/from the pier and even arranged for our next hotel to collect us. Hotel away from busy area so very relaxing, however many steps to/from reception and room (they have a car that can take you half way if you are in furthest huts). Lovely restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Private beach, great for snorkeling but lots of shells in sand.
5 out of 5
by Iain from London

Luxury in the jungle

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the Hut with private pool, this is well worth doing. The views are stunning and the location is beautiful. The huts are a little walk (through the jungle on a footpath) to Mae Head town but the location is perfect if you are wanting to relax. The huts have a private beach and beach bar which is great for snorkeling. The staff are so helpful and kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The location of the hotel is great, it is not far away from the main pier but your still on your own with direct access to the water. The bamboo huts is a partnerhotel pf the charm churee villas, the breakfast, reception etc. is therefor at charm churee. This was not comunicated beforehand. Since koh tao has many very steep hills it is a lot of up and down between the huts, the beach, the reception. Small pathes, beautiful through the jungle but probably not easy for everyone to walk. We had bamboo hut number 12. It is big and nice but the room wasn't as clean as you would expect regarding the ratings and especiallz the price. Towels with holes, sheets with strains and old mosquitos on the windows. It is run down and the staff doesnt seem very motivated to change this. A shame. Overall we still had a great stay since the island is so incredibly beautiful and the view from the bungalows just makes you forget everything. We rented a motorbike and would totally recomend this to get around the island. Taxis are expensive and not easy to get everywhere. Hope this review helps other to decide! Overall I think you can find better for that price on hoh tao and would not go back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Matt from Surrey

Fantastic views!

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
We spent 2 nights in the huts and the view from our room was just incredible looking out onto the sea. There's also a great little bay where you can go snorkeling free of charge. Simply rent the equipment and sign your name before returning the equipment. The water is clear and we saw some beautiful tropical fish. The room we stayed in was spacious, air-con, great shower and bathroom. This hotel is in the middle of the jungle and i therefore warn you to be prepared to walk. All the rooms are spread all over the area. Town is just 5-10 minute drive and costs 300 baht to get there by taxi. Once in town, you can rent a quad-bike or a standard motorbike for around £2 a day! Be prepared to leave a deposit or your passport. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Incredible experience

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We were originally planning to stay here for 3 nights but extended our stay after the first day because we loved it so much. Our hut was right on the water and tucked away in the rocks. It took about 10 minutes to walk from the reception to our hut but it made it all part of the experience. Jansom bay was a 5 minute walk away and was absolutely incredible. The restaurant was also very good. Bamboo huts made our experience at Koh Tao amazing. We loved the rest of the island too. Highly recommend Bamboo Huts!!