Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Helen from Leicester

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed here on numerous occasions. The location is great right on the beach. It is however starting to look a bit worn around the edges now. The pool is still great though.
3 out of 5
by Leanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canaries

Tired place, cheap price but fab location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
What can you say - you gets what you pay for - everything was OK but nothing was brilliant but what do you expect for such a great location when you are paying such a cheap price - about 14 pounds per night?! It was extremely quite - not sure if everybody else has the money to stay in the 5 stars instead or if the military problem has stopped people coming - so the staff had seemed to switch off - I do understand it is hard to whip yourself up into action if you have been sat on your proverbial all day but sometimes I found it quite odd to have to wait until they had finished playing with the baby, having a chat on the phone or playing volley ball or whatever - so service was a little lacking but then other issues were quite lovely - reception tried and the chap who walked my luggage down the beach to the boat I was getting on and then waited to wave me off was so kind. Just generally you make a comparison to most of the Thai people in the service industry and they are just so wonderful and happy and friendly, but this shouldn´t stop you from going to stay there but maybe they could have another look at a customer service course. The saving grace was the location on the beach and I found that the food from the kitchen was not 5 star but was excellent, again for what you paid - and it did the best Mango Lassi around!
4 out of 5
by willwee from Sydney

On The Beach

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels
OK place on a great beach. Let down by dirty pool and unfriendly staff. Anantara next door is obviously the place to stay but at 5 times the price it makesPhuwdee good value
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels
It was absolutely horrible. They said it was 15 minutes from the full moon party but it took an hour to get there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels
Good sized rooms, quiet area. Pool not the greatest, nor are the staff but the beach is lovely!
3 out of 5
by JR from Vancouver, Canada

Decent- you get what you pay for

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels
My friends and I stayed here for one night during the full moon party. Hotel is decent, rooms are a good size, you get your own little bungalow. The shower is just a shower head that you can remove from the wall, right across from the toilet. My friends said their shower water was cold but mine was fine (maybe they warmed it up for me). The hotel has a pool which we didn't use and the beach it was on seemed quite beautiful, but again we didn't get the opportunity to explore it. They provide a ride to the full moon party and back for about 200 baht each way, takes about 30-40 mins to get there. We were taking a nap in the late afternoon and they showed someone else into our room while we were sleeping, the other guest was horrified and quickly closed the door and left. Restaurant makes decent food.. Nothing to boast about but definitely not terrible. I guess it's worth it if you're looking for a cheap place to stay for the night of the full moon party, but maybe not if you want to actually spend a few days in Koh Phagnon.
1 out of 5
by Pain from Los Angeles

Terrible Experience, please don't waste your money

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels
Where do I begin? Having traveled throughout Thailand now, I understand that accommodations are not always what they are cracked up to be, but you're in Thailand, so who cares? Well all the beauty in Thailand couldn't have made up for the shortcomings of Phuwadee. I couldn't have left there fast enough. Fortunately, it was only a two night stay. Phuwadee Resort & Spa is neither a resort nor a spa. The beds were like rocks, the showers were dingy, smelled disgusting and were obviously not cleaned well. The staff are rude, indifferent and unorganized. When I arrived with my friends, we thought the taxi driver was playing a joke on us. He dropped us off by a pile of trash on a dirt road near what appeared to be some run down shacks. On closer observation, we realized that these were the supposed "bungalows" that we had booked. The real slap in the face was that we paid almost as much for these awful shacks as we did for a 6 night stay at a beautiful, brand new resort on Koh Samui. Now before you brand me as some sort of spoiled and entitled westerner, please know that my travel group stayed at a wide range of accommodations: resorts, bungalows, beach shacks, sleeper trains, you name it. I just feel it is entirely necessary to help future travelers avoid wasting money in places that don't deserve it. I hope this review is enough to help you make your decision. I feel I was deceived by the pictures that were posted online. I could go on, but I think you get the point.
5 out of 5
by O from Vancouver

Comforts amidst luxury

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels
The beach is beautiful and right outside our bungalow. Room was spacious, restaurant served good food and provided taxi service to haad rin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dea from australia melb

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: there are not a lot of bungalows so it was quiet and relaxing but not to far from everything and the staff were friendly
Cons: the pillows were big and hard but nice bed to sleep in
Location: good restrants beautifull sunsets
awsome i love thailand tip when ridding a scooter always ride slowly and wear a hellmet