Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Cheap, in need of some TLC

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Price and location were good.
Cons: Lots of small general repairs. Light fittings needed to be attached properly, all light bulbs should be working. Shower could use some love.
Location: 20 minutes from Fielddays where Equidays was being held which is what we were down for.
This was the only hotel that had 2 bedrooms with more than 1 large bed (double, queen or king) that didn't cost ridiculous amounts of money. The ad said it had 2x queen beds but it actually only had 1 queen and 1 double. Condition of the rooms were pretty poor, light fittings were falling out of the ceiling (not like dangling from wires but not sitting flush how they should). Not all the light bulbs worked. The shower control was broken (still usable) and the walls in the shower were showing a lot of wear, edges/joins were starting to flake off the laminate. All the doors were hard to open and shut, hinged doors were tight and sliding doors didn't slide smoothly. Also for a "Family" suite the TV was pretty small, you'd have a hard time fitting your family around it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chiefs Rugby Game stay over.

Posted May 12, 2016
Family room was old and outdated, cobwebs in one room, a smudged organic substance in carpet in another room. Could not contact reception/personnel at all at 9pm all phone numbers went to voice mail. Paid $190. Hotel owner was very polite and thanked us for the stay, good customer service at check-in time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga, New Zealand

Alcamo

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Spa bath
Cons: Difficulty getting ins me out of bath
Location: Gd location central close to stadium
Clean tidy room, pay for what you get. Happy with what the room provided. No sky tv which was a little disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Cheap
Location: Good for rugby
This place has seen its day, needs a total refit. Rooms are old, shower is wired.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2016 by sarah, Hotel Management
Hello, it is unfortunate that you were disappointed with your stay. we have since undergone a management change along with a face lift to our rooms and facilities. we hope to see you in the future .
2 out of 5
by Scott from Napier

Disappointing

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Handy location
Cons: As above
Location: Handy
It was uncomfortable. The room was drafty and cold. We needed the heater on full all the time and overnight on mid heat. There was no sink to fill the jug and it wouldn't fit under the tap in the bathroom basin, so good thing we had a bath to fill the jug from bath taps. Both drinking glasses were dirty with something pink and sticky inside the bottom of them. The bathroom wall between the tiles were dirty and mouldy. A third of one curtain had snapped off it's hooks and was just hanging there, looked tacky. It was all very outdated and disappointing.
1 out of 5
by Charles from Springfield, MO, USA

Avoid this one

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: See comments
Location: Right on hotel row
We booked this room after researching Expedia listed hotels. The pictures on Expedia as well as those shown in the Jason's guide appear to have been taken some years ago with little or no maintenance done since. The pictures in the guides of the hot tubs look way better than the one actually in our room which doubled as the shower. The hotel appeared to have about 10% occupancy on the night we were there which made it very uncomfortable. The room itself was clean but very, very dated and due to the lack of people there, uncleanliness of the lobby area and general grounds, we did not feel particularly safe there. The lobby clerk gave us our key and then locked the lobby up which seemed strange. There appear to be many more better options there on "hotel row".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

over night stay only

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: able to arrive late, leave early and got a bed for the night
happy to have a room for the night, reasonable price, no bother with the bill as all sorted via Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albie from New Zealand

A great stay at Alcamo Hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: Warm,snug and a great sleep.
Cons: The leaky spa bath.
Location: Very close to the rugby stadium but also close to everything else.
There were a couple of things that was disappointing.The spa bath leaked thru the tiles which meant i couldn't stay in as long as i wanted to.The hallway leading to our room smelled of smoke but the staff member attended to that straight away,otherwise everything was great,great sleep,great breakfast and great hospitality, an awesome stay.
3 out of 5
by John from Hertfordshire England

Not impressed

Posted Oct 26, 2011
This is a fairly average hotel in need of refurbishment. The reception staff were quite friendly but there was very little else to recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from thunder bay canada

nice hotel for the price

Posted Feb 8, 2011
good priced hotel for the area, within walking distance of downtown for shopping, but limited restaurants near by, restaurant is the hotel was nice though