Ratings based on 1,650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Very good...lots of fun! Great beach, snorkeling, pool and cave!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Perfect family hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Loved this hotel! We have 2 kids aged 7 and this was perfect for our family. We used all the water sports nearby, snorkeled, fed the fish, played shuffleboard. They have a lot of options for meal plans and you can do it for part of your stay. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Convenient access to bus, and ferry and walking distance to Crystal Caves and the Swizzle Inn. The only downside was the room was a bit small - but we didn't spend much time in it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel near a beach

Posted Aug 26, 2016
I stayed here with my husband and toddler and checked in late due to our flight being delayed for several hours. The hotel is an 8 minute drive across a bridge from the airport. We were greeted by a friendly staff that seems to stay on the premises or live close by because it’s the same staff every day. We were upgraded to a full ocean view room on the third floor which was very nice of them (I reserved a partial ocean view). Since we had luggage they offered us a ride to our room (a walk up three flights of stairs). The king size bed was comfortable and the flat screen TV was adequate. The pool, bar/grill and beach were conveniently located close to our room. There is also a cave on the property that you can explore for free. The onsite restaurants and bars were nice and the menus had a nice selection of American and British food. My husband and I ventured into town to try and find traditional food from Bermuda and were told by a local to go to a restaurant called LITT Seafood Restaurant and Bar Bermuda—the food and service was awesome!! We also walked to the pier and took a boat ride around the harbor for $5.50 each---great for pictures. Now for the negatives: At this hotel there is A LOT of walking up and down hills and stairs there appears to be an option to rent scooters that you can park next to your bungalow but with a toddler that was not an option for us. Therefore, if you have problems walking up stairs or steep hills this location may be an issue. The room was a
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Posted Aug 23, 2016
This hotel needs more entertainment, like a night club, karaoke night, and more food variety. Also they should have the local food and cultural incorporate in the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The hotel condition was average, but the staff was friendly. Next time I would try another hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Beautiful hotel on calm bay with fantastic beach

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Have now stayed more than half a dozen times at this lovely hotel as the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is well maintained and has character -- consists of multiple low rise buildings with large stylish rooms/all with balconies or patios and nice views (the water, partial water, or grounds), the location simply cannot be beat as it is literally 5 min from the airport, on a protected bay that provides safe swimming for all including the very young or very old, also offers cave swimming, all inclusive includes all non-motorized water sports (standup surf boarding, sailing, kayaking, floating mats and noodles, scuba gear...) plus all meals/drinks/and transit passes. It is a short ride to either St George or Hamilton and within walking distance to the Crystal Caves, Swizzle Inn, a scooter rental shop, and an Ice Cream Shop. The onsite restaurants offer a nice variety of good food, with at least 2 'pool side' evening buffets with music weekly. Will definately return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albans, UK

Nice beach front hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The hotel is nice and clean, furniture and decor are a bit dated, but this is not a problem at all. We stayed in a beachfront deluxe room, and loved the proximity to the beach, especially as we have a young son and use a pram. From the main reception/restaurants there are a number of steps down to the pool and beach, so if you struggle with stairs, or like us need to use a pram I suggest you contact the hotel before making a room selection. The food was good, although we ate out a fair amount, as we did not go all inclusive, there are some nice restaurants in St George's which is approx 10 mins in a taxi/bus, including Wahoo, and White Horse. Also, we ate several times at The Swizzle Inn, which is a 5 min walk, where the food is good and the staff are nice. For us, the beach made the holiday, which although at times was busy, never felt congested, with a turquoise blue sea, and a perfectly calm break where kids can be given the freedom to enjoy themselves, what is not to like!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

The most pleasant stay!!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel is so nice and well maintained! Had the best vacation ever!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Access to beach/cove. Beautiful views. Cave swimming. Good food. Nice pool. Gym facilities. Access to nearby walking trail.
Relaxing. Beautiful. Absolutely Wonderful! That's all I have to say.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Laid-back and quiet resort

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: -- perfect little beach -- intimate feel -- excellent lunch -- convenient to airport -- awesome cave on site
Cons: -- beds were little soft (some people might like that but not me) -- should open the outdoor bar at night
Location: -- very convenient to airport, somewhat less so to Hamilton -- recommend visiting the Dockyard for history, museum, parasailing, dolphins
We loved our family vacation at Grotto Bay. The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport (don't worry, aircraft noise is not an issue) and is on the St. George's - Hamilton bus routes. The rooms are distributed across several smallish buildings so there is a cozier feel to the place than you would find at big hotels. Grotto Bay has its own beach facing a sheltered inlet. The water was wonderful (we were there in August): perfect temperature (not hot like, say, in Miami) and crystal-clear. The sand was an exquisite powder and we never had a problem with getting lounge chairs or umbrellas. The swimming pool was big enough and never too crowded. There is a swim-up bar with an open-air restaurant on the other side of it. We had lunch there most days and the food was excellent. On a couple of nights we had dinner at the hotel (in the Palm Court dining room). For Bermuda, the prices were not bad and the food was decent but not outstanding. A good, and notable, local option (if you don't want to go into Hamilton to eat) is the Swizzle Inn, about a five minute walk from the main building. Just about everyone working there was very nice and friendly. You can always find out information from the front desk or concierge. Our room had a nice view of the inlet and was very adequate. One of the two double beds was softer than the other one but this was not a major problem. One thing to consider: if you are looking for great nightlife, this hotel is not your scene. Evenings are tranquil.