Ratings based on 1,029 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, ny

Beautiful hotel close to beach and airport

Posted Sep 1, 2015
My wife and I were taking our first vacation since our daughter was born. She's 14 months so we wanted a short flight and a quick trip from the airport. A two hour flight from NY and a five-minute cab ride to Grotto Bay was perfect. And the clear, calm water was exactly what we wanted for her first ocean experience! Grotto Bay was perfect for us; great food at each place on the resort, very friendly staff, and a beautiful beach. And the small store at the gas station down the block was a great spot to stock up on waters and snacks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Great hotel and service.Right on the beach and bus

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Everything
Second time staying here. Great again. From the warm front desk welcome to the friendliness of all of the staff and the beautiful views and sandy beach, this hotel is a wonderful Bermuda experience. The room was clean and nicely decorated with a panoramic view of the causeway. Easy walking distance to the Swizzle Inn, the caves, the Bermuda railway trail, the blue hole and Walsingham reserve, and the bus make this a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Cons: Need entertainment in the evenings! Game room for the kids!
Location: Location is super-convenient to get to the airport and ST George's. About 35 min taxi ($40-50) to Horsehoe bay.
Our family chose this resort largely for two reasons -- all-inclusive meal plan, and close to the airport. We came with a toddler, which made these two priorities important. The resort is nice, and has its own beach. Yes, lots of steps, but manageable, even with a stroller. Beach - it's a bay, very calm waters, and lots of fish to see, even a couple of parrot fish! Didn't take advantage of the free kayaks, paddleboards, but others using them did seem to have fun. Pool was small, but I think they're all this way in Bermuda -- No huge pools with slides or anything like that. Food - all inclusive is nice, pretty good food. I do wish that food was available at ALL hours of the day, however. If you miss lunch, there is a big gap until dinner where there is no food. You can't even order and pay for room service during that time. Room/resort - rooms a bit tired, could definitely use updating, but overall neat and clean. Beds comfortable. Amenities - my only complaint/suggestion is for ENTERTAINMENT n the evenings. There was nothing going on at night. One night there was a DJ who played music videos on a screen while everyone sat around. I suggest a gameroom for the kids - with pool, pingpong, some video games, etc. There were lots of kids of all ages at the resort, and nothing for them to do at night. It would be really easy to set up. Also another option is some type of more entertainment for the adults too, maybe something as simple/easy as a karaoke night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Spacious hotel with a beach.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
We arrived at the airport and the hotel was less than a 10 minute drive. Perfect! Pros- The hotel is walking distance from the infamous Swizzle Inn and a small creamery. It offers spa packages in a private cave but there is another cave for all to enjoy and swim in. There are all inclusive packages available on a day by day basis. The beach is spectacular with a sunken ship and huge snorkeling areas. Both couples and families have plenty to do. The staff was extremely friendly! Cons- We waited for our room an hour and a half passed the check-in time due to low staffing. Dinners are all by reservation. We waited one night for an hour passed our reservation. Dinners are not very good and they are very low staffed with 2-3 waiters every night. once you receive bread you sparingly get service. Many people sat at their table just waiting. Even if you're all inclusive and are made to walk around with a pink card you still have sign a receipt which takes forever to get there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Room was a little run down but staff wonderful.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
We had a great time. The staff and food was wonderful. Loved the paddle boarding and kayaking. Pool and beach beautiful!! Be sure to check out St. Geoges!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The caves, water is 68 degrees. Massage in cave was awesome!
Cons: Whole resort needs to be updated. Golf carts to go up and down all the grounds. Need to offer better all inclusive deal. Staff should be friendly.
Location: Close to airport. $10. taxi ride. Near Swizzle Inn Restaurant and Crystal Caves. Have to take a taxi or ride the bus to get any where else.The hotel I
Too many stairs and inclines to get to room, pool, lobby, beach, restaurants, etc If you have difficulty walking this is NOT the place for you. All inclusive is the way to go, food is very expensive and really not very good. There is one restaurant within walking distance. Cabs very expensive, bus passes available at front desk but it takes awhile to get anywhere. Hotel is located on the bay Not the ocean. Can watch planes take off and land across the bay. Resort needs to be updated. There is no entertainment, or things to do, saw a lot of bored kids and adults. If we ever come back to Bermuda we will not stay here. I can not recommend this hotel. If you want to see the caves are get a massage go visit the resort and stay somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Good hotel if you plan to stay at the hotel.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Beach was very convenient.
Cons: Add a fire pit for families to stay at the hotel at nite. Maybe offer hot dogs, smores.... for the kids. What about a outside "movie nite" ?
Location: Nothing really close...Get a bus pass or rent a scooter. Cabs are pricey.
Good hotel location and beach. However guest services, which everything has to be done thru is HORRIBLE. They do not listen and never follow thru. The only real thing they can do is take dinner reservations, everything else do yourself if you want it done. We tried to do an exclusive evening sail, and they said we will get back to you in 1 hr with the cost and get it done for us. We checked out 3 days later and NEVER received a call or anything from them. If you stay there get the All Inclusive, the prices at their restaurants are VERY high. The bar closes @ 7pm except if there is a BBQ (Tue and Fri only). Would never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swindon, UK

Bermuda was a new destination; we had a great time

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: The staff are very helpful, only down side was that its expensive on the island - not just in the hotel
Location: St. George as world heritage city is a must - although small. Took the ferry from St.G to dockyard and then back via Hamilton. Great trip.
Island is small so all reasonably easy to get to; mostly using public transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Atlantic

Exactly as one would imagine a Bermuda resort.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Excellent location; close to airport. Buildings are charming. Grounds well maintained and beautiful. Staff exceptional. Food very good. Beach clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NH

Beautiful Resort

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: The grounds were beautiful and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: The location was central to many things on the island. Bus stops near by to go north to St. Georges and south to Hamilton and Dockyard Square.
We recently stayed at Grotto Bay Beach Resort for our 20th anniversary. Although we had 4 days of intermittent rain, we found plenty to do and enjoyed the island immensely. We purchased the all inclusive package and I would highly recommend doing so as food and alcohol can be expensive on the island. It includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, bus passes,ferry passes, all non motorized equipment at the resort (kayaks, snorkel gear, etc.) and alcohol. The house refreshments do include brand name liquors (Budweiser, Bacardi, Grey Goose to name a few), so the all inclusive is well worth the price. They offer a full buffet breakfast, sit down lunch and two dining areas for the evening. Everything on the menu is included in the all inclusive price as well as tips and taxes. The rooms are a little bit "dated" by todays posh standards that people have come to expect, but they have updated everything as much as possible. They are very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The views from the balcony are outstanding and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed James and Wanda, who helped to make our stay so fabulous. There is plenty of seating at the beach and pool areas and the grounds are lush and immaculate.