Ratings based on 1,628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Decent hotel but very limited

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Distance from airport was very nice.
Cons: Service, amenities, menu.
Location: The caves were neat, and the beaches are gorgeous. The snorkeling is better in the Bahamas.
The hotel is adequate, but it is extremely limited. The gym is tiny and not well ventilated. There is only one place for breakfast and one place for lunch, and the selection for lunch is very, very small. After a couple of days, we were yearning for variety. There are two options for dinner, but, they are pretty much the same. Again, the options are limited. Also, the waiters are terrible about bringing drinks. They serve one water in beginning and will not come around to fill it until your plate is being collected. Half the time we had to stop eating, as we needed beverages. This was not once or twice, it was every meal, without fail. The beach is small, and guests often put their things on chairs for whole day, so unless you stake out a spot at beach or pool EARLY, you are out of luck for a chair for day. We would not return and were disappointed in the amenities and service, especially considering the price. We have stayed at Dreams all inclusive and it was far superior. Some of staff here, especially waiters, are downright rude. The bartenders were very nice, though, and work HARD. They appear to need help,,while the tons of waiters are looking around, ignoring the guests. It was weird. They literally avoided eye contact so as not to have to refill your Coke.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property, great trip

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The views were fantastic and the staff was awesome. On premise restaurants were good.
Cons: Overall cleanliness and organization need to be improved. It's all about the little details.
Location: Minutes from the airport. Check out the nearby caves, Baileys, and the Swizzle Inn...all within walking distance of the resort.
We stayed at Grotto Bay for our tenth anniversary and it was a great trip. The resort itself is a 10 minute ride from the airport so we were settled into our room within 30 minutes of our plane landing. The Deluxe Oceanview room was nice, though the location of our building gave us a better view of the bay (still beautiful). We got the all-inclusive plan and felt that it was worth the money spent. The food was good, though the waiter service was at times disorganized. The grounds were well-kept and you could get postcard quality photos from most places around the resort. Overall I would recommend the Grotto Bay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort very close to beach. Great restaurant

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Enjoyed stay very much. Beach on site is very convenient. Restaurants are very good, food is great. All resort staff were very accommodating
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Perfect Getaway

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Great vacation. Went there with my twin and ournmom. We stayed 3 nights, wish we did 4. Food was excellent, but service slow. I think it may be because we are new yorkers. There are two dining areas for dinner- hibiscus room and... Uh, not the hibiscus(name escapes me). I liked the non hibiscus better, but both were fancy. Lunch was awesome, we would order apps and meal each time. And if you have leftovers, walk over to the gazebo and feed the fish(its fun) Grounds- had tons and tons of stairs. Not very handicap friendly. My mom had double knee replacement and had a rough time gettingaround but did it. All inclusive water sport hut was awesome. They had kayaks, paddleboards, floats and snorkles. We used all. Kayak was by far the best- we traveled around the entire bay- no restrictions. Awesome. Plan time to go into hamilton and st george. We skimped that and regret it. Only negative were the rooms- just dated. Comfy but dated. We had a balcony which we were able to hang bathing suits and just look out at the amazing view. Bus service was easy. Gift shop was lame. Highly recommend a 4 night stay. Loved this vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Location & staff
Cons: I think that if the hotel provided a pick up and drop off service to the airport this would be a great service.
Location: Coopers island, st George, Hamilton & go and see the pink beaches.
Well impressed with hotel, hotels very own beautiful beach. Close to airport but not many flights in/out so don't hear. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly, free bus passes it was a bonus. All I would say is go all-inclusive as prices very expensive. This is a must visit to the island and to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was amazing!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Our honeymoon was great thanks to the comfort of the hotel and faculty. The hotel view to the ocean was amazing and the faculty wonderful and friendly. So many cool things to do around the hotel without having to go very far from it!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The food was great for all inclusive. Staff was very helpful and there was more than enough chairs at the beach and pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
If you are looking for a beach experience, pass on Grotto Bay, the name says it, is on the bay, not the ocean. As we toured the other resorts had buyers remorse! If you want all inclusive, it is fine, we did not want all inclusive and found most of the staff were friendly but did not provide service levels I expect. I think this is because of the all inclusive nature, not a reflection of the individuals. The drinks were far better paying cash. We had a screaming child next to us, walls did not keep the sound down. Requested help from front desk, never heard back. on a good note, the concierge was excellent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Plenty to do and excellent food.
Location: Beach with water activites onsite with pool and hot tub as well.
Tranquil setting with breathtaking views. Had a wonderful time and will definition go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Beautiful resort, however it does need some updates! The food was amazing and the staff super friendly! We will definitely go back to grotto bay!