Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay in Bermuda

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great hotel and location. Right next to major attractions of the island and 5 minutes from the airport. Easy to get to St George's and south beaches. Only 1 hour to get to Dockyard by moped (without traffic). Easy access to Hamilton and right on bus line. Moped and water sports rentals are on site. Only fault was limited food options on resort and room service, but Swizzle Inn is a five minute walk and cities with restaurants are not far away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Close to beaches and areas to visit.staff was helpful food was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grotto Bay- Huge Disappointment.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Everything. Literally everything.
Location: Hamilton, Dockyard and St Georges are great little towns/areas to visit.
Lucky enough for my wife and I we can enjoy really any situation just being together, but what a disappoint this facility was. From the rooms, to the staff all around disappointing. I can count multiple times walking up to the bar and it being not staffed or a member of the staff with their backs turned to the bar. Every time we ate at the hotel the wait staff was horrendous, just awful. Not just one occurrence, multiple times theyd come over ask drink order and give no time with menu and ask if you are ready right away. After ordering they would return once to deliver and you wouldn't see them again for 20 minutes. You had to beg for your check as well it took forever. We have taken 5-7 trips in the last 2 years and this was by far a JV production at Grotto Bay. The General Manager needs to invest in training for their staff asap. Ill never return and absolutely tell folks to look somewhere else when it comes to accommodations. *Managers, I would have ordered throughout the trip 15-20 more drinks from your staff but they weren't around to ask. You are losing tons of money from people like myself. Look elsewhere don't waste your money here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Too Sweet

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I'll make this short and sweet. Friendly staff, nice room, wonderful private beach, swimming cave, wild chickens roaming the grounds, and finally warm and inviting. We couldn't of asked for anything more except for warmer weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Food was excellent and staff super helpful & friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Hotel and staff were great.. Our room was a little humid but once we lowered the ac temp it was fine. I would definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Most convenient resort for short trips

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The staff is exemplary. Quick to get to know you. Friendly. Lovely. They were utterly welcoming to our kids. Hot tub is so hot that no one hogs it!
Cons: Rooms are basic but kept clean. There isn't a way to easily dry bathing suits (no lines, and it's quite windy so hanging them on the balcony risky!)
Location: Two caves are walkable distance, there's also an easy walk to the Railway Trail with spectacular ocean views.
Easily the closest resort to the airport (you can see it across the water) the taxi ride is under 10 minutes. If you are doing a very quick fly-in-fly-out trip then Grotto Bay can't be beat. The staff is incredibly friendly and there is a small beach, a lovely heated pool, a cave (!!!) to swim in, and another that is outfitted as a spa. There are friendly cats that live outside and tennis courts and the Swizzle Inn is a quick walk down the road. The Railroad Trail is a great day-hike (though there is little to be said for eating along the way!) So if you are looking for a quick taste of Bermuda this is great. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the drive, 20 minutes to Hamilton. We took taxis to our restaurants which was fairly expensive ($20-$30 each way) but buses run until 11;45pm. Breakfast choices are a massive buffet or a continental a-la-carte. Afternoon tea (with delectable scones! or lemon bars! or biscotti!) was amazing, served complimentary 3:30 - 4:30 daily. There are also in-hotel activities like movies and thing but we didn't partake. It was a delightful hotel. You can hear the planes in the distance twice daily, but it doesn't at all detract from the general peacefulness of the locale. Spa in the cave highly recommended. Also: feed the fish by the gazebo! in the morning huge parrot fish come to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, accessible for transport, to the citie

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We're moving comfortable around the island with daily pass which was very convenient. Airport was 4 minutes away. Staff were very helpful. All in all I am very happy and loved Bermuda & enjoy the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Location- 3-5 minutes. from the airport in a quite & peaceful neighbourhood
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on a small, private beach

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view, close to all of the beautiful caves
Cons: Nothing in the hotel needs to be improved. It is beautiful and the staff are wonderful.
Location: The location isn't ideal if you hope to be in Hamilton. We took the bus to town each day to try different restaurants and explore the city.
It was great to have this hotel almost all to ourselves in January. We enjoyed the beach, hot tub and pool to ourselves most of the stay. It is a very nice hotel and the Hibiscus dining room is delicious. Beautiful views and quiet atmosphere in their winter months.