Ratings based on 2,108 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, oh

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Great location and within walking distance of all the sights. We were five hours early for check in but staff checked us in and our room was ready about an hour after. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Nice hotel in downtown Charleston

Posted Nov 16, 2017
This was a nice hotel very conveniently located in downtown Charleston. Within walking distance of everything. Very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel in historic district.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nicely appointed hotel in historic hotel. Nice breakfast and amenities. Pool was nice. Keurig coffee makers in the room were appreciated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Kaysi O'Brien, Hotel Management
I am so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your wonderful feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great location!

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Not too big but elegant!
Cons: Not much, suited our needs.
Location: Walk to restaurants , shopping next block over, and attractions
Walking distance to everything. Perfect location, not big hotel, able to accommodate your every needs. Right there to help you if needed. Room very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kaysi O'Brien, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate the glowing review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago.

Second visit and still great!

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Awesome location and very nice hotel. This was our second visit and I would stay there again My only complaint is I would like queen size beds. We had two doubles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Great staff, comfortable room, great location, and nice amenities like warm cookies at night.
Location: Wonderful central location - walk-able to King Street and many of the Downtown historic locations.
The King Charles Inn was in the perfect location to explore Charleston. The staff was warm, welcoming, and accommodating. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The only downside was the loud A/C which was a bit jarring each time it went on. Otherwise, an excellent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kaysi O'Brien, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback and the nice compliments. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Charleston!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from southport,nc

nice location easy walking to attractions.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
ice machine broken on the 4th floor where our room was had to walk and go down to the 3rd fl for ice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kaysi O'Brien, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback, I hope you enjoyed your visit to Charleston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Breakfast was a great surprise. Room was small, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kaysi O'Brien, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this five star review! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spartanburg SC

Perfect location

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I was looking for a place to stay that offered parking and was within walking distance to all the great Charleston attractions. King Charles was the place to be! It was clean, charming and close to so many fun things. King Street shopping district was a block away, the famed Market was a short stroll. Lots of great restaurants were all around the hotel and other attractions like old churches and cemeteries were very close by as well. The Battery and Rainbow Row were a little further away but certainly a walkable distance if you're wearing comfortable shoes! Driving and parking in this town can be a bit of a headache. The King Charles' location took away that issue and made our trip much less stressful. I would certainly enjoy another stay there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kaysi O'Brien, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate the glowing review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Location: Restaurants that we especially enjoyed were 167 Raw and Magnolias. Very enjoyable walking tour with Two Sisters Tours.
Very clean with comfortable beds. Nice staff. The best part is the location, which is about 1.5 blocks to the City Market. Several excellent restaurants within easy walking distance.