Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Philip from Southampton

Great family hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
A great family hotel where they really look after you. Go for half board as the dinners are great value. Bus stop outside hotel and buses can take you all over Ischia. Boat trips daily are good value. Best beach is Maronti , bus 5 from the bus station. Castliglione thermal park is a short walk and the hotel gives a generous discount on entry price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
Nice hotel friendly staff good breakfast + good restaurant nearby. About a 15 - 20 minute work to main harbor area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
excellent stay on a beautiful island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely friendly staff.

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: Staff superb. Friendly atmosphere.
Cons: Safes in rooms. Drinking water provided.
Location: Need transport as beaches and restaurants are about 5 kilometres away.
Old fashioned furnishings. Needs makeover. Staff excellent. We were robbed on a bus and without the help of Niko and family we would not have coped. Can,t say enough good about family and staff. Hotel a bit away from beaches and restaurants need to use buses or transport. Very busy road which never stops. Would stay again particularly if facilities updated. Food good but a bit boring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

A really nice stay with helpful staff, good value

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: the Sea view, lovely breakfast and helpful staff
Cons: Signage from the ferry to the hotel or maybe a tuk tuk organised to meet the ferry
Spent 3 days here and when it was raining one night they sent out for dinner for us. A trip round the island was organised too at a reasonable cost. Will definitely be going back there
4 out of 5
by Asli from New York

nice budget hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was conveniently located 15 mins away from the ischia port by bus and 10 mins walk from a nice private beach and bars. The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean but do not expect anything fancy. We stayed in 2 different rooms, which both had a great view of the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucy from London

Lovely hotel!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: Menus at breakfast, a wider variety of advice on where to go!
The hotel staff were lovely, welcoming, friendly, always looking to help! The advice given on where to go/what to see was not very good, but I suppose that is a matter which is dependant on the person! The rooms were perfect, exactly as described, not fancy but clean, comfortable and kind of quaint. The breakfasts were delicious! With a lack of menu it was originally a little confusing as to what was on offer but when we worked it out it was delicious! Breads, hams, cheeses, omelates, as well as many other things! The interior was similar to the rooms, it was really lovely! The pool had thermal water so it was warm and salty which originally we did not like, but when we realised this was the case everywhere on the island and the water makes your skin soft and lovely we quickly changed our opinion! On top of everything, the wine was lovely and only 5euros for a litre!!!! The nearby town of Ischia Porto is nice, but if you walk a little further to Ischia Ponte it is much more worth it! Casamicciolo on the other side is also nice but again if you continue to Lacco Amano, it is worth it! In Lacco Amano there is a lovely restaurant called Kalinikta which is DIVINE. Also this town has the wonderful spa Negumbo. Further around the island, San. Angelou is beautiful!!! The bus goes all the way around the island, you must have a ticket which can be bought from reception but it is not necessary to stamp it giving you free travel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fiona from Beckenham, Greater London, UK

Great hotel for families with teenagers

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: The hotel was very clean and the staff helpful.
Cons: No lunch menu displayed so not sure what was on offer.
Location: Superb location with a bus stop outside, 10 minute bus journey to the town/port.
We had a lovely relaxing holiday and spent most days around the pool which was very clean with plenty of sunbeds. We had two rooms and both were of a good size and very clean. The staff were really helpful. The location was good with a bus stop outside. This is a lovely island and a great hotel with breath-taking views and we would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Sebastiano and Nisha from London

Brilliant Hotel Gemma!

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels
Our second stay at Hotel Gemma, after our honey moon in 2011. We returned in June 2013 for our wedding anniversary and the family running the hotel is still the same, with still the same warm and nurturing atmosphere. Very enjoyable swimming pool with spa water (your skin stays so beautifully smooth). Brilliant location for local transports with bus stops at the doorsteps. And then, just outside the doors, there is the fantastic Ischia island. Very recommended.
5 out of 5
by Kari from Finland

Good one - reasonable distance to the places

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels
I spent one week at Hotel Gemma in the middle of May 2013. It's a nice family-run hotel between Ischia Porto and Casamicciola Terme. Staff is friendly, helpful and really dedicated to run the hotel. Room was clean, and with balcony which was nice. Nice view from the roof terrace! Breakfast was included to the price and it was very good: regular stuff from buffet (bread, butter, jam, yogurt, coffees, fruits...), other things like eggs, ham, cheese and/or tomatos comes by request. Nice dinner restaurant in the hotel, other ones within reasonable walking distance. Bus stops next to the hotel, walking distance to Ischia Porto ~2 km and to the port of Casamicciola Terme ~1 km. Please note: buses are always full - and it means f-u-l-l: principally there are no seating places available. And the island is (obviously!) quite hilly, so if your legs are not in good condition, maybe it's better to choose another hotel, closer to the center of Ischia. To me this was one of the best price/quality ratios I've ever been in western/southern Europe.