Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Remote hotel with recurrent power cuts

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Had to change to another hotel after 2 out of 7 booked nights. Not much to do really and taxis to any place of interest will cost you a lot.
5 out of 5
by Brooke from Sydney, Australia

Family get away...

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Khao Lak Merlin. We travelled mid October which was low season and it was end of the rainy season. The staff were lovely, check in was great as we arrived at 10 am ( and our rooms were available), brekky was great, amenities were suffice and pools were cool... We loved it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel, good situation, very good facilities

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms, gardens, on the beach.
Cons: Can't think of anything! No other Brits staying when we did although not sure if this a plus or a minus!!
Location: Quiet location, on the beach a few shops and restaurants within walking distance. Reasonable taxi fare to Khaolak.
Stayed for 5 nights, lovely hotel and gardens good for a quiet getaway. Nice beach.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: The spa had promotion of 30% off for 1st visit then 50%. excellent value
Cons: Bees floating around while trying to eat breakfast
Location: Near transport
Value: Acceptable price;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Brussels

Four days of bliss on the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Great location if you are looking for a relaxing getaway though not if you have come to Thailand to party. My wife and I arrived thinking we would have a bit of an explore, but ended up spending four glorious days sitting by the beach, body surfing then cooling down in the afternoon at the pool bar. I'd read some reviews stating the food was a bit dodgy, but everything we ate was good to great apart from the fish dishes. The linen smelled at little bit musty in the room, but the room was otherwise spotless and the staff were terrific, and for what we paid per night the value was incredible! This is the place to go if your looking for great value for money and a really relaxing, zero-stress holiday. Loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but not wow

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Water slide for our son
Cons: Free wifi only in one location
Compared to other resorts in the world Merlin would rate highly however compared to other Thai resorts it was rather disappointing. Decor, garden, pools and water slide all great. However food menu, breakfast, service and friendliness of staff were not as pleasing as we've encountered at the many other resorts we've been to. Also to not have free wifi everywhere in a resort of this standard is frankly not good enough these days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by traveling Leslie

Tropical paradise!

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Orbitz
Our family loved our 4 nights at the Merlin Resort. The resort is set in a lush tropical forest and offers lovely rooms, several pools and a fabulous breakfast! Since our visit was in the rainy season, our weather was not perfect and the ocean was too rough for swimming. There are also big rocks along the beach so you may have to be cautious even with calmer seas. We were very pleased with the elephant trekking/bathing and James Bond Island excursions (and return transportation to the airport) booked through Mr. Moo down the beach to the right near Jo's Seafood and the lovely Peter Bar. The hotel restaurant is nice but we also enjoyed some of the places in the village a short walk away from the hotel. We also loved the cheap massages at the hotel and in the village!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Don Giovanni

Beautiful jungle retreat with a beach

Posted Dec 25, 2012 on HotelClub
Beautiful rooms, beautiful garden (it feels like being in a jungle) , amazing swimming pools and a long beach (the water is not great, but that's everywhere in Khao Lak). If you want a nice beach take a boat/snorkeling trip to the Similan Islands. It's a little far away from Khao Lak village, so it's perfect if you want to be quiet or enjoy some quality time with your family. For 200BHT/day you can rent a scooter anyway if you want to go back and forth to the village. Not so good if you are single and looking for party-time.