Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 15, 2016
After booking months earlier online when we arrived for our honeymoon we were told our room was not avaliable and we would need to stay in another room for 1 night then change rooms again the next day which was a big inconvenience to us. Also the spa in the first room was not working either. The second room faced the front road so was quite noisy at times. The location is too far away from everything so unless you rent a car or bike it will cost you a fortune to get around. The Beach was not good for swimming full of seaweed. This hotel is overpriced for what it is and its location.. the only good thing is its on the beach. Its advertised as a king size bed but all it is is 2 single matresses pushed together sitting on the floor very low not even on a bed frame base which kept coming apart from the centre. its unacceptable for the price. As for the buffet breakfast the hot food (bacon/sausages/ham/rice) was not properly kept hot but virtually cold. This hotel is overpriced for what you get and the massage/spa was so overpriced that we went to another massage spa down the road about 2km for a quater of the price advertised by the hotel When it came time to check out i was charged 400 baht for the mini bar regardless of the fact it was refilled by us. No shuttle/taxi or airport transfer was offered at all. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone else, for the price there is much better places to stay in Koh Samui
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, poor facilities

Posted Jun 10, 2016
The jacuzzi in our pool villa broke down the next day and we didn't get to use it during our 6 day stay. On our last day the electricity was cut from 8-5pm and it was unbearably hot in the villa with no electricity. Overall I won't recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel on a quiet beach

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Top stay nice staff and cool beach. Rent a car opposite and have a great time travelling
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small hotel and near to bench

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: This hotel is pretty cosy and not rowdy.
Cons: I think this hotel needs some renovation soon.
Location: It is located at the north of the island, located at a quite bench.
We booked a 2 bedrooms suite and it is rather big. it has a kitchen, hall and dinning place and also equip with a washing machine and a dryer. It has nice sea view too. The only setback is it is a bit far from places of interest, but it is ok for us as we rented a car to go around the island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice view but....

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: View is nice, you can see the sea very easy.
Cons: provide fruits everyday on breakfast
Location: Krua Bang Po Restaurant
The Sea Samui is a boutique hotel just beside the beach with nice view. I stayed in the sea view suite for 4 nights. The suite has huge space and most of facility you need including oven and washing machine. Huge wash room and living room with a nice balcony. They have one jaccuzzi in room but i am afraid to use it because i read the review a lot of people said there is some bad smell. Overall the room is good. The location of the hotel is quite remote to the street like shopping or eating place. But there is a small local food just next to the hotel, just go out the hotel and facing the roll , turn right and walk about 2 mins and you will see a bungalow. Thai Soup noodle only 45 Bhat but just some fly are going to annoy you. but it worth to try. One of the frustrated things for the Hotel is the breakfast buffet not come with fruits everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

enjoy the lesiure time and seaview here

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Wonderful sea view anywhere in hotel. High quality and romanic fine dining at Height (prefer outdoor) and Moon restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans,

Baller Status yet secluded

Posted Feb 11, 2015
We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for a night (returned from Phangan and had flight out of Samui the next day). The room was super affordable and was very nice. We'd stayed on Chaweng Beach before so wanted to test the North side of the island - it is a lot more secluded and more quiet than Chaweng to say the least. Pros: great facilities, awesome view, nice and quiet beach. Cons: when booking through Expedia it takes a long time at check in, isolated location; hotel does not offer scooter rentals. I would def recommend for those trying to get away from the hustle and bustle that prefer to stay on the resort the whole time. Big plus that they offer airport shuttle and even put together a breakfast box for us since we left early in the AM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A cosy boutique beach resort with beautiful views

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Intimacy of the hotel, sitting down at the beach outdoor area having a drink while kids playing on beach and of course ,the Staff.
Cons: Beds were quite hard and uncomfortable. Pool area - tile colour (brown) requires refurbishment as it is not inviting.
Location: Quite isolated which is nice for a few days but definitely, require a car/taxi/shuttle to get around. Chewang beach 40 minutes away.
We had a wonderful 10 night stay at 'The Sea' in a 2 bedroom suite on the third floor with absolutely gorgeous views of the beach. Our room was spacious and well-equipped (kitchenette, washing machine/dryer and jacuzzi) which was perfect for our family (2 Adults and 2 Children). Both the breakfast/restaurant menus were sufficient and Staff accommodating. A few days were spent lazing around the pool, walking along the beach down to a nice secluded swimming beach approximately 500 meters away from the resort. Unfortunately, the beach in front of the resort is rocky with coral which restricted swimming. A majority of our stay was spent exploring Koh Samui island ( hired a car and travelled around the island, different beaches (Chewang for the kids, Lipa Noi), elephant ride, waterfalls, shopping etc but was nice to come back to our cosy room in the evening. The Staff were absolutely fabulous assisting us in anyway possible which made it so special for us and especially the children! Special thanks to Pee, Bee, Ging, Troy, Ed and our Shuttle driver..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike & Sue from New Zealand

Nice but isolated.

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The spacious, well-appointed room
Cons: Its distance from "activity"
Location: As above
For people who want a quiet, restful holiday we would totally recommend The Sea. However, if you need more action you would need your own transport or lots of money to be picked up and driven to whatever you want to see. The hotel is rather isolated and the local area is not very exciting. The beach is not really very nice for swimming - it is rocky once you go out a few metres.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by K.Notman from Tomsk, Tomskaya oblast, Russia

Really good beach and pool, very comfortable rooms

Posted Jan 15, 2012
Pros: Kitchen in room
Cons: Bad breakfast
Location: Far from main restaurants
Really good beach and pool, very comfortable rooms with kitchen and wash/dry machine. Normal service. Poor breakfast. Hotel is far from main restaurants - about 11-15 km. In general- we have good rest:)