Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Bamboo Hut with Private Pool

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Very secluded and private.
Location: Lots of snorkelling, pleanty of restaurants in the nearby town
The pool was fantastic, and made the stay so much more enjoyable, long climb and walk to breakfast and the restaurant was the only issue.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Run down dump

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I have no idea why this place has 4.4. Where do I start. Anyone reading my other reviews knows I'm very fair and never have I given a "1" before. Unfortunately the place is completely dilapidated and the photos are 20 years out of date. The place itself is a chore to get to by road and, even when there, is a long long walk to the bamboo huts. The road is unlit and strewn with debris, litter and detritus. The staff at reception were really nice but other than that building the other places were in total state of disrepair. Most facilities (spa,etc) were closed or even collapsed in a heap of rubble. The bar area was miserable and unwelcoming (shame as was on the beach) and the lounges were filthy and the beach littered with rubbish and plastic of all ages and states of decay. The room itself with its outside bathroom was lovely. The view was to sea and the sound of the waves was fantastic. Just a few steps down to the sea and snorkelling- not advised on rough sea days due to the rocks. The room had a large comfy bed with mozzie net, fridge, good mini bar and fruit and water. Couldn't fault this. The dining area was also rundown and the buffet breakfast was terrible. Mainly inedible bits and bobs covered with flies. Foul coffee and some kind of super-sweet orange cordial. Not good for $200 a night. We were really disappointed and left after just one night even though we had booked for a week. Luckily Expedia gave us a full refund after a telephone call to them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Amazing Experience, Spectacular Views

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Simplicity of the rooms, being right on the water
Location: Only 10 min walk into town, where there is stores and lots of restaurants.
Stayed here with a friend for two nights and was blown away. The resort is pretty big so you will need to walk if you want to see it all and it's only a 10 min walk into town. But there is a private beach where snorkeling is included in the cost. The view from the bamboo huts was breathtaking, unlike anything I've ever seen. It was also nice because the huts are located in their own little cove area, so the only sounds are of the waves hitting the rocks. The actual huts are perfect for a relaxing getaway, no extra frills in the room that aren't needed. The outdoor bathroom area was spacious and a plus. The room had mosquito netting for the bed, which is always a good thing, but didn't really face any problems with mosquitos during our stay. Overall, highly recommended and would stay here again for longer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui

Beautiful!

Posted May 22, 2017
Beautiful Stay! Incredible view and very nice room.
5 out of 5
by Anna

loved it

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
We loved the bamboo hut! the view was amazing and the room was very comfortable. we had everything we needed. if you stay here make sure you're up for a 5 min walk to the beach/bar and a 10 min walk to the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gulfport, MS

Must love Hiking

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The view from our room was beautiful and loved being on the water
Cons: A LOT. We had problems with so many things. Most listed in my review above
We stayed here for our honeymoon and were planning for something romantic and not involving much exercise/hiking. We stayed there the longest of all the guests 8-9days and were put in the farthest away room. It was not a fun experience. We would end up drenched in sweat before we got to the lobby. Finally rented a motorbike to cut down some of the walk. The room we had didn't have a phone connection. We asked for it to be set up at least four times and it was never done. We wanted this for getting a car to the half way mark and room service reasons. I ended up hurting my room half way thru our stay and couldn't hike to dinner. Our roof leaked in four places every time it rained which we told them and that was never fixed. House keeping didn't clean our room for the first 3-4 days even though we had the sign out every day. The staff did not understand English very well and would say yes to everything without every following thru on anything. You have direct access to water from you room which is great but the stairs are EXTREMELY slippery and trash would show up in the water every other day. The one thing that they did help on was when my husband left his tablet they shipped it to someone we know in Thailand so he could get it back to us. It took about a month to do this though because of "Time change" and someone was in our room so they didn't have the key to the safe or something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

LOVED The Bamboo Hut!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: The town is in walking distance which is great.
I wish I could have stayed longer. It was lovely staying in the bamboo hut. We were able to snorkel right outside our hut, the hut itself was great. Very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend staying here. I would come back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous view from our sunset hut, which has a walking path directly into the sea. It is a bit walk from the hut to their restaurant or town, but we did not mind the exercise. Friendly staff and good wifi.
5 out of 5
by Darby

Loved it ❤️

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Exceeded my expectations. Friendly staff, amazing service, phenomenal views. Hotel and great snorkeling right out our door. Steps to the ocean!
5 out of 5
by Niamh

Convenient, very new

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
A few minutes drive into busy Lamai this is a good quiet base. Nice brand new bungalows, plenty space. Only complaint is that the breakfast buffet is poor - it goes to 10.30am but if you arrive at 10am expect most of the food to be gone and not replenished; plus the strangest one I've seen - you have to cook your own eggs, which is just awkward with everyone milling around 2 hot pans trying to cook eggs in the middle of the buffet. Lazy, especially when the staff are just looking at you and not helping.