Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Relaxing tech minimum resort

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything: room, food, pool, beach, spa and staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We spent most of our time at the resort so much to do.
Amazing resort with great facilities and the friendliest staff. We have stayed here multiple times and absolutely love it! The rooms are incredible, the pools and beach are spectacular (the adults only pool is a bonus), the food at the restaurants is delicious. Above all the staff are so very friendly and helpful making it so relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel with amazing views and a clean beach

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Rooms are massive, bed is amazingly comfortable and bathrooms are huge and clean. Great for a couple. Amazing beach with spectacular views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
For a normal hotel standard it would be quiet a highlight for our trip in Langkawi, but concerning the five start title, we consider a few experiences not qualified, including the condition of furnitures in our room (wooden desk and shelf were rather old and a bit broken), and for the broken air conditioning we called the front desk for a check up but no one knocked on our door until we left although they said to sent someone to our room), also the equipment could have provided in the room were considered too "plain"(except for sanitary products, not even mini bar was provided), last but not the least, we brought our own bottle of champagne to celebrate birthday, so we called room service for champagne glasses,but they say they don't have champagne glasses( at a five start hotel?),(of course they do!) and we see champagne were provided for breakfast with champagne glasses by the side(wow)! But I have the say all the staff at the resort were all friendly and nice, and the Rhu beach was definitely our favorite spot at Langkawi! But I would probably choose another hotel for a price that's worth it if I get to go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Relax and unwind

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The most relaxed resort i haved stayed in Langkawi. They have private beach. The room is spacious and their staff treat like royalty. Was requested for prayer room for zuhr after we checked out, they provided us a room to pray. It was awesome and thank you so much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Quiet hotel by the beach

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice n quiet hotel by the beach. Hotel getting rundown n need major rejuvenation urgently. Nice attentive staffs. Quite pricey for the food in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Could be a lovely hotel, but nowhere near 5*

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The staff are very friendly. Alcohol prices are extremely good value compared to the rest of Malaysia
Cons: Complete the building work, and reopen all rooms Introduce a wider range of food, which caters for the international guests
Location: Hotel is very isolated,so a car is essential
The Tanjung Rhu resort could be a lovely hotel, but is spoilt by several major shortcomings. Firstly, there is a MAJOR renovation project partly started (but has been "on hold" for 3-4 YEARS!) which means that more than 50% of rooms are nothing but rubble, with plastic covering over the windows, and several blocks of the hotel completely shut off. Whilst this does mean that the hotel is very quiet, it does seriously impact the ambience of the resort, where metal sheeting and plastic covering in full view distracts from the relaxation that I expect from a 5* resort. It also means that a number of facilities that are advertised on the website are no longer available. In addition, several things that I would expect to be standard for a hotel claiming to be 5* are missing: 1. There are no elevators in the hotel, despite there being 4 floors. 2. There is no WiFi in any room. 3. Breakfast closes at 10.30am on a weekend, and despite the hotel catering almost exclusively to international guests, there is no non-halal section, and also no non-halal dishes are served on the menu in any restaurants. This is TOTALLY unacceptable for a so called 5* hotel. 4. Despite the guest parking being some way from the hotel, no shuttle is available. Overall, this is a hotel that could be amazing, but is let down by stalled building work, and old fashioned thinking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Almost nothing but praise!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Lots of things: staff, food, flora and fauna, facilities.
Cons: Hard to find so I'll be nitpicky: upgrade the toiletries provided; the shampoo can be better.
Location: The beach on one side, mangrove forests on the other. Tanjung Rhu is quite secluded so you may want to stay elsewhere if you want to explore Langkawi.
Went to Tanjung Rhu for a honeymoon and to call it great would be an understatement. Room: We booked the Bayu Senja suite. The pictures online show the room exactly as it is; clean and well furnished, with great views of the Andaman sea. Two TVs, hair dryer, iron etc are included. Facilities: Within the resort there are plenty of activities and quirks. The resort has three pools, each with its own design and beauty. The three restaurants are quite good; breakfast has both continental and local food. The gym is reasonably equipped, and the spa is professionally maintained. The beach has a water sports station where one can borrow kayaks, lifejackets and other water activity items. One corner has an arts and crafts room (more below in Activities). Wi-Fi was unfortunately only available in the reading room, but this helped add to the retreat vibes of the resort. Access to the white Tanjung Rhu beach sand is extremely easy. Activities: Another shining point for the resort. Each day, we were sent a box of chocolates with a full itinerary of hotel-hosted activities, from mangrove walks to batik printing / woodcarving to beach volleyball. Fauna also thrive; you can find fish, water monitor lizards and green lizards around the resort. There are also pool and foosball tables. Staff: My wife and I thought we had seen great service at a previous hotel, until we came to Tanjung Rhu: service was beyond our expectations even for a 5-star resort. Extremely courteous and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

A great setting but much to be improved upon

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Best things about the hotel- the staff, the beautiful beach setting, the rooms, the relaxing vibe, it's a great place to chill out as its quiet. Worst things-half the hotel is currently undergoing works which make the hotel look really shabby, we were not made aware of this upon booking/prior to arrival. The hotel needs a bit of rejuvenation to the areas outside of the rooms. The wifi is really poor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One great paradise in Malaysia

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
The resort is great for swimming, sunbathing and just get away from the busy world. The food in the resort was great and good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
The car park is quite far a way