Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Peekskill NY

Nice Hotel to stay at

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The queen sized beds
Cons: If there were machines with food other than snacks
Location: Located in an area without places to eat other than the pizza place across the street (which was very good)
I liked the fact that there were two queen sized beds and the room was very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Review of Hotel Econo Lodge , Malden Ma

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The price was reasonable.
Cons: Besides the problems mentioned above, they should provide better lighting in the hallway leading to the guest rooms
Location: I did not look for anything to do around the hotel but the area looked a bit shabby and decrepit.
I only stayed one night at this hotel having checked in around 10 pm and cked out the following morninf around 5 am. The clerk at the reception seemed to be in bad mood and did not give you much attention. or showed any kindness towards you. He didn't appear busy as there wasn't anybody around except for a young man, looking a bit shady, who kept a conversation with the clerk. The conversation didn't seem related to the hotel. The clerk that attended me in the morning when I left was much better and gave the information I needed in a polite manner. The room itself was clean but showed a lot of wear and tear. The TV was not working properly and water kept dripping from the Air Cond. outlet in the ceiling over the bed most of the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2015
total disappointment. the location is bad, but the hotel could develop accommodations to off set the needs of the area. A restaurant could be helpful, since none in the area. List of near restaurants, if any.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont ever stay here

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: burn the place down
Location: in a very bad location. drugs & hookers everwhere
this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. the bathroom door was falling off. the carpet was so dirty it made my socks black in 5 minutes. the room had so much smoke residue the walls & ceiling were brown. we asked for another room & were told since we got the room thru expedia they didnt have another one. this hotel should be inspected and removed from your list!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly shady business practice

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Cons: Room security. Privacy
Location: It is in a somewhat run down area. It was not that close to the heart of Boston. Its not far outside of Salem.
I checked in and I was assigned to my room. I left for the event I was attending and came back and my room key did not work. Checking in at the desk my items had been removed from my room and were being held because I was supposedly assigned to the wrong room by the prior clerk. That might not have seemed so weird but then I was reassigned to the original room I was already in! I felt like my personal belongings had been gone through and that the whole inconvenience did not make any sense at all! I would not stay here again because of this issue. I am glad I had nothing of value left in my room. They also tried to say I had to pay for the room. I purchased this room from Expedia several months in advance. I will be watching my card statement for any unauthorized charges.
1 out of 5
for Families
by Yu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
the hotel needs some maintenance. the hotel hallway was not ventilated, was hot stuffy and humid.
3 out of 5
for Families
by venkatachalam

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
It is OK for short stay
2 out of 5
for Couples
by John from London

Not a great area to stay

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is not in a good area - 1st time I felt unsafe on the trip. Even the clerk was behind safety glass. Rooms are fine but the place feels like a prison block.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Omotomi from Nigeria

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
It was nice,their breakfast was really okay but l didn't like some set of people that lodged there.