Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Summer Vacation

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Pools, new rooms with nice decor, Starbucks, daily programs.
Cons: It would be nice if you have a regular restaurant besides the fast food restaurant by the pool.
Location: Being able to walk to Whaler's Village is great. Walking to Black Rock is a bit farther but doeable. Drive to Kapalua or Lahaina only takes about 10
We had a lovely vacation here. The facility is beautiful. The bed is very comfortable. The 1-bedroom was spacious for a family of 3. Love the amenities (pools, fitness center, giant size chess/checkers, pool table, ping pong table). Even love the gift shop. Our room had a dishwasher & microwave but no stove.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Resort style

Posted May 17, 2017
I was a nice place for our 4yr old. Great pool. Resort style accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, CA

Lovely hotel with terrible food!

Posted May 13, 2017
Great pool ! My daughter LOVED it. Big enough that kids and adults co-exist and both enjoy it. Beach was on site, beautiful and clean . Grounds are beautiful, relaxing and nicely maintained. Great views. Not much place to just lounge except at pool. Room view was VERY disappointing . Looked at garage with some greenery. Rooms slightly old but clean and have great bedding as always. Food was a major disappointment! Awful, just awful. And super expensive . Would come back though. Just make sure you research where to eat! And be picky about room view since you'll pay for it!
5 out of 5
by Shari

Perfect in Paradise

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Our family stayed in the resort, the accommodations over exceeded our expectations! Lots to do with children, beachfront was beautiful! Not many reasons to leave the resort! We will certainly return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not what I expected at all

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The 'special' dinner. She charged us full price but no salad and salmon as described in the menu.
Cons: A lot.
Location: Nothing.
I just can't believe this is MARRIOTT. I used to stay in resorts in Cancun. I thought all resorts are fancy and comfortable - but not this one! I'd rather stay in Airbnb next time. Super late check-in time - 4pm, but luckily they got the room ready even when arrived 2 hours earlier. Super early check-out time - 10am. So basically you can only stay 18 hours when you paid for 'one day'. The location is just ok. You can see this kind of beach all over Maui so nothing very impressive. Staff - yes very friendly. But we need efficiency more! When you called the doorman for your luggage, you had to wait for 15 minutes but he still left something behind. So another 10 minutes waiting. When we tried use the bath room in the lobby, the cleaning lady broke in and kicked us out "Can you use the other one? I need to clean this one, but that one can be used. It's cleaned." Ok we got our stuff and went to the other one, but there's some toilet paper in the toilet which we couldn't flush down. This is 'cleaned?' Facilities - Honestly? The dryer was burned in the first 3 seconds after I started it for unknown reason. So they replaced an older one (yes 15 minutes waiting) which tangled my hair in the motor. Room Cleanliness - The toilet was leaking, not seriously so we didn't ask to fix it (yes don't wanna wait anymore). Food and drinks - nothing is included in the prepaid fee which is different from the resorts I stayed before. No fancy food place.
5 out of 5
by Craig

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Allen

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Spacious suite with a nice ocean view. However, the walls are thin and can hear your neighbors. Staff services can also be improved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pool but limited dining

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Great pool with fun for adults and kids
Cons: Need more variety in food offerings
Location: Lahaina harbor shopping, Ka'anapali golf course
The Marriott Ocean Club is a medium sized hotel in the larger Ka'anapali resort area (also includes Hyatt, Westin, Ka'anapali Golf Course, etc). The hotel used to be primarily a timeshare facility so some of the rooms have kitchens. Ours had a separate living room with fridge and kitchen sink (no stove but there are shared stove facilities across the hallway). The room was great and plenty big for the 3 of us. The main pool is awesome with lots of area and well landscaped so it's not just a big open circle. There are also 2 smaller pools on either side of the hotel. The biggest problem with the Marriott is dining choices. There's one cafe near the pool that has lunch and rotating dinner selections and the pool bars will serve food from that cafe. There's another restaurant onsite but it's not affiliated with the Marriott and you can't charge anything to your room there. My advice is to get a car so you can eat outside the hotel. The selection at the cafe is very small outside of the one dinner special they offer each day. You can walk up the beach to a small mall (Whalers Village) that has some other choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Construction zone and amenities closed

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The location on Kaanapali is good.
Cons: Construction zone and facility closures.
I knew there was going to be updates being made to the hotel, but didn't expect the main pool to be closed and for construction in our building to be going on from 6:00 a.m. until after 8:00 p.m. some evenings. If I wasn't on a prepaid visit I would have cancelled on check in and moved to another property. Unfortunately I spent a lot of money to stay in a construction zone with out of commission amenities. I would have expected to pay a 1/4 of what I paid under these circumstances. Very disappointed overall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They gave me a handicap room & I'm not handicapped

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
They put me in a handicap room without notifying me first, which I believe is something that should be mentioned to the guest before giving them the room. The staff was friendly about hearing my gripe, I really wanted a bathtub on my vacation!!! I wasn't compensated nor was I moved to another room- they were full and I didn't have time during my stay to switch rooms anyway......oh well. Maui was beautiful!!