Ratings based on 1,612 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful setting,

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: setting
Cons: nothing really. I am older I love kids but there was alot of families with small kids.
What a wonderful setting and place! loved the boardwalk to the other resorts. One evening took the boardwalk to visit a restaurant at another resort. Beach was close and plenty of poolside space to catch some rays. centrally located. I would recommend this resort in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Amazing hotel and facilities Beach id rocky in wa

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Was amazing kids loved pool. We traveled around every day then hit the pool . Are out four times three of them at dukes . Very convenient zed great location and food. Trying to rebook , finding lots of different pricing such makes it hard .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo on the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Beautiful condo in the beach and perfect for families. Pool was clean and huge plus 4 hot tubs. Only downfall it was very windy in that area two miles down no wind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Wonderful hotel next to the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The condo!
Cons: More restaurants
Location: The beach is nearby- supermarket across the street. Go to Slappy Cakes across the street- YUM!
Loved this hotel- very beautiful and relaxing! We loved the HUGE lanai! The beach was close by- a little rocky, but we loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Nice resort- staff not up to standard

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We enjoyed the resort, the suite and facilities, but just had a couple of disappointing moments, such as the excursions staff putting on a hard sale when we hadn't been looking for anything. Also housekeeping coming early morning (8am), too early for a holiday, but in fairness we didn't have a do not disturb sign out. Overall a good experience, if not slightly on the pricey end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel facilities

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The room
Cons: Have tennis courts or putting green
Location: The hotel is right on the beach which is nice. Zip lining is great fun
The hotel was very nice but there were no other activities besides the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

All around great Resort!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Upscale condo. We had a two bedroom/two bath suite. Very plush. Lovely kitchen area, living room, dining room, washer/dryer, lanai. Nice pool areas and beach. Had trouble with their internet and could have used a few more dishes, etc., in the kitchen. A little tricky to get onto property... But overall a fantastic stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

One of the best suite based resorts on Maui

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Cons: Carpet should probably start to be replaced, getting a bit worn throughout. The glass in the shower is getting extremely watermarked (hard water) too.
Location: Kaanapali beach is 45m walk away on shoreline, adult/kids pools, old Lahaina is 10m drive away.
This is the 3rd trip out of 4 that we've stayed at Honua Kai. We were placed in the Konea Building on the 9th floor. This is the newer of the two buildings. We had a full ocean view studio (full kitchen, dishwasher, insuite laundry). This building now features a full service spa on the first floor (we received a 20% coupon on arrival), a full general store with coffee bar, full concierge/bell service, and a partial front desk (main is located in HK building). We also received a $20/day USD credit voucher for activities which we booked Maui Magic Snorkeling Trip through the concierge desk (Jesse was awesome!) basically for free! The studio was clean, but some aspects are getting a bit worn we've noticed on this trip ranging from the carpet, tiles, glass in the shower is watermarked badly, and kitchen items as well. Having said that, everything is VERY clean. We had housekeeping do clean up every other day (full vac, kitchen wipe down, trash/recycling removal, bathroom clean, new towels, etc.). They also make the bed, and change the sheets every 4th day. Housekeeping, resort access (pool, towels), parking (indoors/outdoors), and wireless internet are included for the $29/day resort fee. Only comment about housekeeping is that they tend to come as early as 7am (and who wants to get up early on vacation?!). But extremely friendly and very nice staff! They also provide dishwashing powder, laundry powder, paper towels, bounce sheets, and coffee on each visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Significant decline since last stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Stayed here in 2012 and had a much better experience. 5 years of heavy use has worn the property and care level of the staff. Carpets and furniture in room were both dirty and worn. Need to be replaced. Sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and needed multiple blankets to be sleepable. Room serviced every 2 days and wasn't done very thoroughly as I think they don't have enough staff to accommodate the demands. Pool heater was broken for 3 days making the large pool with the slide ice cold. Beach in front of hotel rocky and not suitable for swimming with young kids due to sharp coral. For the price we paid not to mention the daily mandatory $29 USD "Resort Fee" the value is just not there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great escape

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Hotel was great and so was our room. On site restaurant, Duke's, has great food but has a lot of work to do to train staff so they can at least pretend they care about customer service