Ratings based on 1,092 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Fabulous Hotel, not so great costumer service

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Hotel is very good especially for families. Nice pools. I just didnt like their costumer service. dukes restaurant only opens at 7:30 which is too late for my kids considering the time difference from where we came from. Takes forever to ask for a housekeeper. They say they only change sheets every 4 days which is hard for when u have kids! they come clean the hotel every 2 days. And I had problems with their AC. There was never a sign on the control panel that should say, "your AC shuts off when you open your door" we always woke up drenched in sweat coz it shuts off even when the door isn't locked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice hotel in good location!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
We enjoyed 10 days at the Honua Kai. Hotel staff was excellent. Rooms were new and well appointed. Beach was a little rocky but has some good snorkeling. Overall, was a fantastic place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 東京

日本人に遭遇しないホテル

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: 日本人がほとんどいないところ。景色。子供と遊ぶプール。ビーチの砂が良い。
Cons: タオル交換や部屋の清掃は黙っていると実施されませんのでご注意。怠慢ではなくそういう仕組みですが、ルールを理解しておくことが必要。
Location: 空港から車で約1時間と離れています。最寄の市街地ラハイナ(小規模のアウトレットや昔のハワイの街並みが味わえる)まではタクシーかマウイバスが必要。徒歩は不可。でもそれが良いのかもしれません。
自分が日本人なのに、日本人に遭遇しないのが良いというのはどうかと思いますし、それをおすすめとすると日本人客が増えるという矛盾を抱えていますが、やはり海外旅行の醍醐味としての異世界感を味わうには重要なポイント。オープンから数年と新しく、風通しの良い部屋はクーラーも不要。滞在2泊と短かったですが、買い物用オアフ滞在を減らす、あるいはゼロにして全泊しておくべきでした。本当にリラックスできる最高の空間でした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Hotel but not 100% satisfied

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: I liked the grounds, the room size, kitchen, and pool.
Cons: House Keeping didn't do the greatest job. Only come every other day but never picked up leaves that fell in from the balcony. I stayed for 1.5 weeks.
Location: Napili Bay is close by great place to snorkel with turtles. Front st (Laihana town was about a 10 min drive). Beach is right on the property.
I noticed a week before my stay that there was construction being done next door to the Honua Kai, so I called to see how much I would be effected by the construction. I was assured that by the receptionist that I would not effected at all. We arrived in the afternoon on tuesday and placed in a room mountain view 2 balconies away from the construction site. I was a bit disappointed cause everytime I left the sliding wall opened all I could hear was the sounds of construction trucks going in and out of the site in the morning. When sliding wall was closed it was quite but when opened it was a bit annoying. Couldn't really enjoy dinning outside in the balcony/ patio. I called the front desk to notify them and all they told me was that I paid for a mountain view and cause I couldn't remember the person I spoke to a week in advance they wouldn't be able to compensate me in any way. Other then that the room was nice, it was great having a huge patio/balcony that we couldn't enjoy due to the construction. The full kitchen and fridge was nice to have. Bathroom was ok not the grandest but functional. BBQ grills outside for bbqing, pool was nice, but main pool was under construction, which I knew about when I booked. Close to the beach, nice grounds, and Dukes at the facility was a bonus as well. Gym was small but had great equipment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location & great beach front for snorkeling

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The unit was very specious and well equipped, the interior was welcoming with a great ocean view.
Cons: There should not be a fee for beach chairs rental and need more food choices
We came for a family vacation time and we all enjoined the place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015
as advertised. Too many kids running around and charging on to elevators and parents who don't control there kids or teach kids manners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newark, ca

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Great stay. Great amenities despite one of the pools being under repair.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Beautiful units but beware!

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The modern, clean and spacious unit was fantastic. The grounds were beautiful and gym had decent equipment for a good workout. Concierge was helpful
Cons: The resort needs to resolve the septic and urine smells. Interior of the pools should not cause cuts. Pool staff need training. Increase activities.
Location: Concierge was excellent - we did surfing, parasailing and snorkeling! Great time!
We stayed at this resort for almost a week. I was attracted to the modern and spacious units (which included a kitchen and laundry) and really the units did not disappoint. They were very comfortable, clean and offered so much more space than the usual hotel room. It was based on this, the beautiful resort grounds and the gym, that I gave the resort 3 points. Unfortunately, we did not have the best first impression of the resort as it had a septic smell at the entrance. Then we had to ask directions to the check-in desk as there was no front desk at the entrance. We had to cart ourselves off to a room to check-in. Upon check-in, we were advised that we had to cart ourselves (kids and luggage in tow) to the other tower. This is not 5 star treatment. Putting this aside, what really concerned me was the fact that the pool with the slides consistently smelled like urine at the end of the day. We would be walking by and had to hold our noses. The other pool did not smell but did not appear well maintained as it was missing side tiles. Both pools also had rough boulders on the interior of the pool. Three out of the four of us had scrapes from contact with these rocks/boulders. My foot got cut and was bleeding from just grazing the boulder while swimming. More on-site activities are needed. Finally, the pool staff were switched off. I saw kids throwing each other in and climbing the wrong way up the slide. If they haven't had an accident, it has been purely luck!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham

Awesome

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Very nice experience. Everything was wonderful. No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice room but narrow beach

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Bedroom suite is spacious with kitchen and washer and dryer.
Cons: Sofa bed was uncomfortable. Only 1 package of coffee was offered throughout 4 night stay
Location: Convenient to the West Maui attractions, stores and beaches.
Nice room, but sofa bed was uncomfortable, once every two days for maid services, narrow beach w/ steeper slope, but nice beach walkway connecting other properties. There is a construction on one side of the property. Duke's beach house, a restaurant on the property was good. Aina market on the property was quite pricy.