Ratings based on 1,549 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful resort top to bottom!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Everything!
We loved the resort in every way! A lovely, relaxing, 4.5 to 5 star experience. Just a wonderful time. If you love kaanapali but it has gotten too big and crowded... you will love honua kai! We will def go back. Excellent experience from check in to check out. Could have some more kit utensils in kitchen but that is kinda picky and not a factor in our overall stay and contentment. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with great view

Posted Oct 19, 2016
I like this place a lot, will difinitly come again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highlands Ranch, CO

Very underwhelming service.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Good central location.
We pulled up to the hotel without any acknowledgement from the bell hops. So we dragged our luggage into the hotel to the front desk. Only to be told it wasn't the front desk. It's the weirdest setup ever. We were sent to a back room. Checked into out ocean view room and our view was the palm trees. We asked for our ocean view and they said we got it. We asked if we could be moved and they were able to move us the next day. This honestly was the only thing that was good about the service. So we went to Dukes to eat and they said lunch was over and dinner was later. We could find somewhere to sit and maybe get some bar service. Really? So we got our new room the next day and it was wonderful. Excellent view. The view we paid for in the first place. But the day after the keys didn't work. They told us to bring them down to fix. So we had to take them to the "front desk" in the back room and we asked why after one day they didn't work. The reply was "they sometimes expire." Huh? No apology, just matter of fact. The resort beach is very dangerous. Rock and coral right up to shore so no way to enjoy it. It's pretty steep too. Don't let any pictures fool you. Pools were reall your cold and small. Rather than 3 small pools they'd be better off creating one big one. Accommodations were nice after we asked to be moved to a room we paid for, but the service was not good. Staff not very friendly, just going through the motions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very uncomfortable living room furniture.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Pools and restaurant.
Cons: More comfortable furniture.
Location: Market across the street.
Nice resort. Very nice staff. Fun lounge and restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic resort with great facilites.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
You can swim with turtles right out the front! Dukes restaurant is fantastic. There is a shopping centre close by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Best hotel that I ever stay at Hawaii. The only thing that is no security at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Started out smelling sewer and nothing worked

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Massage was good.
Cons: Be honest to customers staff told us the only person that could fix the hot water heater was the owner!!!! Really!!!!!!!
Location: Lots of activities and good food.
Sewer smell outside, lots of construction and heavy equipment in driveway. Not so romantic at first sight. Nothing worked in room. The fan, microwave, and they shut off ac every night so we woke up every night to a 80 degree room. Did not have a good night the whole week we stayed. We tried to leave sliding door open to hear ocean and all we could hear is kids screaming 11 pm at night. The staff was not very friendly except for bell men, this was crazy for what you pay.no hot water in shower it ran out very fast.The room had a washer and dryer in one unit that ran for 3 hours and still wet clothes. I had hotel staff come look to see why it was not working and he knew nothing about it. He said I don't know why we use them they don't work. The ocean view is only from your room bushes block ocean view when laying out at pool side. We got massages which they falied to disclose a 27 dollar added tip was to be added to cost.On check in they tell us the room charge will be 30 dollars a day more plus later we see its 1.25 tax too...surprise. The beach in frount of hotel was very dirty cigarette buts and trash,and view of construction going on. This trip was still fun just being honest about hotel. My girlfriend and I came back engaged just wish we did not pick this hotel. We will go back for honeymoon just will stay away from this place like the plague.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gulf Breeze, FL

needs a pool bar

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Beautiful room and grounds but housekeeping leaves a little to be desired. They need a pool bar and some music playing around the outside, liven it up a bit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the Beach

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: On the beach
What a great hotel on the beach, across the street from a grocery store if needed. Super pool facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Location: Kapalua Coastal, Front street and the Banyan Tree there
My husband and I had a top floor mountain view room. It was a beautiful view especially since the sun rises right over the mountain, and there was usually a full rainbow over it in the afternoons. The wall of windows that separate the patio from the living room complete folds back to bring the outside in! It was a lovely surprise. The only downside is that even though we weren't directly facing the construction (thank goodness!) we could always hear the work going on if we opened up the patio. I'm sure the ocean and courtyard view rooms are great because the hotel is beautifully landscaped, but I liked the privacy of the mountain view. After some of the reviews I read, I was prepared to be disappointed by the beach, but it was great. Yes, it was rocky in parts, but there was a good amount of sand. You do have to keep an eye on where you place your feet and not kick too deeply. I only snorkeled, so it wasn't an issue. The snorkeling off the beach was better than the excursion we paid for! A rainbow of fish and a variety of sea urchins and coral.