Ratings based on 1,553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Watch out for slippery surfaces

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Great for families. We used the kitchen every day for breakfast and drinks in the afternoon.
Cons: Should be more on sitWee dining options. The only restaurant is Duke's which is excellent but also very expensive.
Location: Good location, a short drive to the aquarium.
The property is lovely but all of the pathways are stone slabs that become extremely slippery when wet which is most of the time due to rain and being near pools and waterfalls. My daughter in law slipped while carrying a toddler and I saw a boy (who was running and should not have been) take a nasty slide and hit his head on the hard surface.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Staff not very helpful

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Good central location for Ka'anapali
Facility beautiful, no beach at present, washed away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful resort top to bottom!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Everything!
We loved the resort in every way! A lovely, relaxing, 4.5 to 5 star experience. Just a wonderful time. If you love kaanapali but it has gotten too big and crowded... you will love honua kai! We will def go back. Excellent experience from check in to check out. Could have some more kit utensils in kitchen but that is kinda picky and not a factor in our overall stay and contentment. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with great view

Posted Oct 19, 2016
I like this place a lot, will difinitly come again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highlands Ranch, CO

Very underwhelming service.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Good central location.
We pulled up to the hotel without any acknowledgement from the bell hops. So we dragged our luggage into the hotel to the front desk. Only to be told it wasn't the front desk. It's the weirdest setup ever. We were sent to a back room. Checked into out ocean view room and our view was the palm trees. We asked for our ocean view and they said we got it. We asked if we could be moved and they were able to move us the next day. This honestly was the only thing that was good about the service. So we went to Dukes to eat and they said lunch was over and dinner was later. We could find somewhere to sit and maybe get some bar service. Really? So we got our new room the next day and it was wonderful. Excellent view. The view we paid for in the first place. But the day after the keys didn't work. They told us to bring them down to fix. So we had to take them to the "front desk" in the back room and we asked why after one day they didn't work. The reply was "they sometimes expire." Huh? No apology, just matter of fact. The resort beach is very dangerous. Rock and coral right up to shore so no way to enjoy it. It's pretty steep too. Don't let any pictures fool you. Pools were reall your cold and small. Rather than 3 small pools they'd be better off creating one big one. Accommodations were nice after we asked to be moved to a room we paid for, but the service was not good. Staff not very friendly, just going through the motions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very uncomfortable living room furniture.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Pools and restaurant.
Cons: More comfortable furniture.
Location: Market across the street.
Nice resort. Very nice staff. Fun lounge and restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic resort with great facilites.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
You can swim with turtles right out the front! Dukes restaurant is fantastic. There is a shopping centre close by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Best hotel that I ever stay at Hawaii. The only thing that is no security at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Started out smelling sewer and nothing worked

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Massage was good.
Cons: Be honest to customers staff told us the only person that could fix the hot water heater was the owner!!!! Really!!!!!!!
Location: Lots of activities and good food.
Sewer smell outside, lots of construction and heavy equipment in driveway. Not so romantic at first sight. Nothing worked in room. The fan, microwave, and they shut off ac every night so we woke up every night to a 80 degree room. Did not have a good night the whole week we stayed. We tried to leave sliding door open to hear ocean and all we could hear is kids screaming 11 pm at night. The staff was not very friendly except for bell men, this was crazy for what you pay.no hot water in shower it ran out very fast.The room had a washer and dryer in one unit that ran for 3 hours and still wet clothes. I had hotel staff come look to see why it was not working and he knew nothing about it. He said I don't know why we use them they don't work. The ocean view is only from your room bushes block ocean view when laying out at pool side. We got massages which they falied to disclose a 27 dollar added tip was to be added to cost.On check in they tell us the room charge will be 30 dollars a day more plus later we see its 1.25 tax too...surprise. The beach in frount of hotel was very dirty cigarette buts and trash,and view of construction going on. This trip was still fun just being honest about hotel. My girlfriend and I came back engaged just wish we did not pick this hotel. We will go back for honeymoon just will stay away from this place like the plague.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gulf Breeze, FL

needs a pool bar

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Beautiful room and grounds but housekeeping leaves a little to be desired. They need a pool bar and some music playing around the outside, liven it up a bit.