Ratings based on 1,729 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean classy hotel in northwest Maui.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, quiet, housekeeping
Cons: Vegetarian food options at the restaurant
Location: Kaanapali beach and lanai downtown
Pros: -clean, comfortable property and rooms -great views with the ocean view upgrades -the room has everything you need, from mouth wash to great lotions Cons: - at least an hour from the airport, a lot of activities are 1-2 hrs away, like helicopter rides and Hana highway. The traffic to get to the airport is crazy, it's one lane. - the beach is a bit of a walk from the hotel - the worst part was the food. There are no vegetarian options at all. When we asked the waiters at the sushi place and banyan tree if the chef can make something vegetarian and tasteful, they said everything is on the menu. It was the worst feeling paying $100 for some corn on Cobb, bland asparagus soup and a tiny portion of bland pasta. The sushi place only had edamame and veg sushi. We learned to eat outside of the resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

A Polynesian piece of Heaven

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful and exuded Aloha Spirit. The Island décor in the rooms, the views and the solitude of this property.
Cons: The pool was showing a bit of wear but it did not detract from the experience.
Location: On the northern part of the island,10-15 minutes from Kaanapali, the hotel offers it's own Ritz Kids Club, and Ambassadors of the Environment program
If you want a quiet relaxing, extra special get-away on Maui, book a stay at The Ritz Carlton Kapalua. The beauty of the property was realized as soon as we pulled into the drive. A warm Aloha greeting as we walked into the open air lobby to view the beauty of the pool and ocean below. The rooms have wood floors, and island décor which evoke a homey feel. The hotel is also interesting because the lobby is actually on the 6th floor, so if your room is on the 5th floor, you go down to your room. If was very fun and unique. Overlooking the grounds and the pool is The Terrace Restaurant. It is a great place for breakfast; with a diverse selection of food, and great service. There are seven other restaurants and lounges plus private dining, so more than enough to keep everyone happy! The Ritz Carlton also offers a workout room, a Spa and several very nice shops! The pool is marvelous; three tiers, ample lounge chairs, cabanas, and lounge beds. Making sure we were taken care of was on the top of the list. Towels laid out, chairs arranged and of course pool side libations and treats. The Ritz Carlton Kapalua is a property of gorgeousness, and tranquility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Incredible!!! We will be staying at the Ritz again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel but not for a return visit.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable room. Great king-bed. Roomy. Air-conditioning quiet. Nice coffee-making device and good coffee. Bathroom roomy with tub and shower.
Cons: Setting not great. On steep hill with lots of stairs to pool area, but also access via elevator. VERY long walk from lobby to room.
Not a golfer or a tennis player. Grounds not interesting - dominated by golf course. Fine hotel -- just not one I would visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

The Ritz exceeded all expectations!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
If you are looking for the best hotel experience the Ritz Carlton is it. Kapalua is one of the most beautiful places on the planet, and the Ritz is nestled in just right. Our room, the food, the service, the views are all fantastic. Their staff arranged most of our adventures like snorkeling, snuba diving, zip lining, etc. The hotel staff treats you like a king or queen. We will be returning!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Best hotel ever

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Amazing hotel! I have been to this hotel twice and will continue to book every time I visit Maui. The pool, restaurants, staff and amenities are superb.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Outstanding

Posted Sep 9, 2016
This was my 1st trip to Maui but it won't be my last. And every time I come I'm going to stay at The Ritz-Carlton! From A to Z everything was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Beautiful place, but expensive at the hotel. Close to the beach, and a shuttle ride to others. Staff is very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice location and great facility

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Clean private beach, pool, good food, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Parking.
Location: Snorkling, other beaches, local dance performances
We enjoyed our hotel, restaurants, bar, private clean beach, weather and had a great time during our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Templeton, Ca.

The hotel was beautiful, all that Hawaii should be

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The beauty and the facilities
Cons: As mentioned above, the availability of affordable breakfast and lunch.
Location: Everything was just a few miles away. We rented a car so we enjoyed the entire island. The concierge staff were fabulous.
Our experience was excellent. We enjoyed the happy friendly staff and the facilities. We met our family at the hotel and enjoyed a week exploring Maui to return to beautiful rooms and views. The gym and yoga was fantastic. Pools and spas were fabulous. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and well kept. The only thing we were concerned about was the cost of the food. If we had eaten all our meals at the hotel we would have spent more than the transportation and rooms combined. I would suggest having a moderately priced breakfast and lunch. We will return however as I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Maui.