Ratings based on 1,734 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Secluded luxury experience

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Lovely view from the deck.
Cons: Drinks at the pool were pretty expensive ($18 each). I don't mind paying a premium for this experience but they were weak and in a plastic cup!
Location: Hotel had great beach access. Honolua market was a great place in the resort to stock up on basics. Lahaina was 15 min away.
Hotel is everything you'd expect of the Ritz Carlton. Great location on the hill with lovely views. Pool is large, warm and open 24/7. Staff are friendly and courteous. Everything you want to buy (drinks, food, coffee etc) is as overpriced as you'd expect. Hotel is north of Kapalua with access to a public beach that was lovely. Note that the beach is less protected than others in the area so the waves were pretty intense. Don't wear a bikini if you want to keep your clothes on!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Pretty Typical Ritz Carlton

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds for sure and very nice people working there.
Cons: High car rental prices are bad enough. But when the hotel gouges you for parking on top of their high room rates it feels harsh.
Location: The Napili-Kapalua side of Maui it is pleasantly isolated away from the madness of Lahaina. Plenty of great snorkeling.
We went their for our private wedding on Kapalua Beach. We showed up late in the evening due to traffic from the airport. Despite the hotel being maybe 50% full, they stuck us in the worst possible room in the worst possible location of the hotel. They changed our location the next day to a much nicer room with a view of the pool and partial view of the ocean. This was much better. Still, why couldn't they have put us in a better room in the first place? Naturally, everything is expensive. I think we paid about $500 a night for three nights. We then moved to a nearby condo we had previously reserved. Right on the water and $250 per night. Only stay at the Ritz if you are wedded to resorts and the money they cost,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The Resort is dreamy and the staff is friendly. I loved my trip. Only areas of improvement are my massage treatment was average and not worth the money. They could have better pool side service. The food is incredible. Everything is very comfortable. I would go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Fabulous resort & staff

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: I loved the spaciousness of the grounds & the attentiveness of the staff.
Location: Kapalua is in West Maui - located next to the Plantation and Bay gold courses, prime snorkeling spots, walking trails, first class spa and pool
The Ritz Carlton @ Kapalua was hands down perfection! From the moment we arrived on the property, we were treated with such care & kindness. The grounds were gorgeous & we felt a peaceful seclusion from the rest of Maui. We did visit the other resorts while we were on the island, but nothing compared to what Kapalua offered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The V

Great Views, Great Service, Rooms Okay

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Snorkeling in Kapalua Bay, Jungle Zip Line in Hana Hwy
We stayed with the deluxe ocean view which is a fantastic view from our suite where we are greeted with the ocean breeze every morning. The bathroom wall had a few makeup spots and the lounge chair is scary. The room itself is very clean though and our bed is very clean. Fresh new towels 3-4x everyday, which we love. The hotel does it really offer all organic food so we ended up eating somewhere else. Staff were all very nice. The spa was terrible. The masseuses were very nice but not very skilled. Not worth it. For a few more bucks we could've gone to Tomoko Spa in Beverly Hills for a super fantastic pampering experience. The hotel is very conveniently located to everything though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean classy hotel in northwest Maui.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, quiet, housekeeping
Cons: Vegetarian food options at the restaurant
Location: Kaanapali beach and lanai downtown
Pros: -clean, comfortable property and rooms -great views with the ocean view upgrades -the room has everything you need, from mouth wash to great lotions Cons: - at least an hour from the airport, a lot of activities are 1-2 hrs away, like helicopter rides and Hana highway. The traffic to get to the airport is crazy, it's one lane. - the beach is a bit of a walk from the hotel - the worst part was the food. There are no vegetarian options at all. When we asked the waiters at the sushi place and banyan tree if the chef can make something vegetarian and tasteful, they said everything is on the menu. It was the worst feeling paying $100 for some corn on Cobb, bland asparagus soup and a tiny portion of bland pasta. The sushi place only had edamame and veg sushi. We learned to eat outside of the resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

A Polynesian piece of Heaven

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful and exuded Aloha Spirit. The Island décor in the rooms, the views and the solitude of this property.
Cons: The pool was showing a bit of wear but it did not detract from the experience.
Location: On the northern part of the island,10-15 minutes from Kaanapali, the hotel offers it's own Ritz Kids Club, and Ambassadors of the Environment program
If you want a quiet relaxing, extra special get-away on Maui, book a stay at The Ritz Carlton Kapalua. The beauty of the property was realized as soon as we pulled into the drive. A warm Aloha greeting as we walked into the open air lobby to view the beauty of the pool and ocean below. The rooms have wood floors, and island décor which evoke a homey feel. The hotel is also interesting because the lobby is actually on the 6th floor, so if your room is on the 5th floor, you go down to your room. If was very fun and unique. Overlooking the grounds and the pool is The Terrace Restaurant. It is a great place for breakfast; with a diverse selection of food, and great service. There are seven other restaurants and lounges plus private dining, so more than enough to keep everyone happy! The Ritz Carlton also offers a workout room, a Spa and several very nice shops! The pool is marvelous; three tiers, ample lounge chairs, cabanas, and lounge beds. Making sure we were taken care of was on the top of the list. Towels laid out, chairs arranged and of course pool side libations and treats. The Ritz Carlton Kapalua is a property of gorgeousness, and tranquility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Incredible!!! We will be staying at the Ritz again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel but not for a return visit.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable room. Great king-bed. Roomy. Air-conditioning quiet. Nice coffee-making device and good coffee. Bathroom roomy with tub and shower.
Cons: Setting not great. On steep hill with lots of stairs to pool area, but also access via elevator. VERY long walk from lobby to room.
Not a golfer or a tennis player. Grounds not interesting - dominated by golf course. Fine hotel -- just not one I would visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

The Ritz exceeded all expectations!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
If you are looking for the best hotel experience the Ritz Carlton is it. Kapalua is one of the most beautiful places on the planet, and the Ritz is nestled in just right. Our room, the food, the service, the views are all fantastic. Their staff arranged most of our adventures like snorkeling, snuba diving, zip lining, etc. The hotel staff treats you like a king or queen. We will be returning!