Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Not quite a Mauritian experience

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Very basic, beach area tiny and uninviting. Dining very basic and breakfasts and dinners very ordinary selection. Service very average to poor. A lot of locals cross beach area, not very private and water sports very very basic. Hounded by staff for payment of bills throughout stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, We wish to take this opportunity to express to you our gratitude for having recently chosen to stay at “Veranda Grand Baie Hotel and Spa”. Equally, I, wish to thank you for having shared with us your observations, for which we are most grateful. In the areas we were found lacking, we would like to apologies sincerely as this is not our usual service standard. We will address this issue internally with all due diligence. In Mauritius, all the beach are public, we cannot prevent locals to cross the beach. Our beach might not be up to your standard but we do proposed our guest to visit the public beach which is bigger than our beach. With regards to water sport activities we do propose complimentary activities like kayaking, peddle boat, sailing boat, wind surfing and glass bottom boat. We do have activities with supplement Ski, Diving and big game fishing. We hope to see you soon at Veranda rand Baie Hotel and Spa. The Management and Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A home away from home

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
This is an amazing hotel. They have went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable at their hotel. The entertainment was wonderful in the evenings. The location is very central to everything. All staff at the hotel were friendly and made the stay so much more personal and special. It's not 5-star, but they go out of their way for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Management and hotel policy suck!!!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location very good. Central to everything. Very nice beaches within walking distance and the town centre is also within 10 minutes walk from the hotel. There are also some really good restaurants within walking distance, which is very handy as the quality and price of dinner at the hotel is very poor.That is all that I have to say that was good about this hotel. Overall was really disappointed with this hotel. In particular with hotel management and their policies which I consider very small minded.
Cons: No free bottled water provided daily in the room and If you wanted a glass of water from the bar in the evening you had to pay for it. However for a bottle of water that cost less than 15 rupees (AU.50c) in the supermarket they charged 110 rupees (AU$4). Extortion!! A 700% markup and they wondered why people complained. My wife is Mauritian and one Saturday night we wanted to invite 10 of her relations to come and enjoy some cocktails with us at the hotel. We asked management and they told us we would have to pay 500 rupees (AU$20) per person for them to enter the hotel. Very small minded of management. Our relations did not come so they did not get the 500 rupees per person. They also did not get the income from at least 24 drinks/cocktails. My wife also cancelled a 900 rupee massage she had booked for the next day in protest. Also we did not have another paid meal or drink at the hotel in protest for the rest of our stay. We ate outside the hotel. The hotel meals are also very average for the price you pay, approximately 650 rupees (AU25) for the al a carte menu. We had three of these meals, 1 was ok and the other 2 were terrible. There is also a buffet every night with different themes, the price of for the buffet was 900 rupees (AU35) and overall the these meals were tasteless and not worth the money paid. On the other hand the daily breakfast was very varied and tasty and I highly recommend.
Location: Some of the staff were excellent, in particular, the entertainment staff and the lady who cooked all the eggs, bacon etc for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Decent hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
A bit too expensive for all inclusive given the food there isn't that great & you most likely will want to have lunch/dinner outside of hotel. Otherwise it's well worth the money spent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Excellent value for money

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Beds comfortable, nice modern sun loungers, excellent breakfast.
Cons: Would be better if the loud disco music where in a separate soundproof room so the guest who want to have a quiet drinks chatting could do so.
Location: If you do not mind having a beach to walk along this location is good for walking to the shops and restaurants in Grand Bay. Free glass bottom boat.
Staff cannot do enough for you. Buffet evening meal is four times a week with the other three a la carte. Had one meal we could not eat meat so tough. They will cook you something if you do not like what is on the buffet. You have to sign for everything some times it gets overbearing. Only kettle in room bring your own tea/coffee.
5 out of 5
by Jan Anton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

will definitely be back.

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: there wasn't anything to really dislike
Cons: replenishing some of the food options as diners came and left
Location: the dormant volcano, waterfalls, 7 earths ,various beaches and temples. It's a small island so anywhere can be visited in a day.
good hotel wonderful location next to a small beach. Friendly staff, spa facilities,and a good range of food availlable.
4 out of 5
by Reinette from Cape Town

Veranda Baie Hotel - a must visit!

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Veranda Baie Hotel is something special - the staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Honeymoon was absolutely fantastic

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: The best aspect of the hotel are the staff. They make you feel so welcomed and like family. They cater to your every need and very accommodating.
Cons: I can't really think of any improvements. May be that the entertainment could last a bit longer.
Location: Banana Beach/zanzibar club, 7-10 minutes walk along the beach from the hotel Galitio's griller is next door Sunset Boulevard shopping/boat trip
This is an excellent resort. The staff are absolutely amazing and very willing to please you in every situation. My husband is a very fussy eater, and they were very helpful in accommodating his needs. From the moment we got there we were given food and drinks. They gave us the best welcome I have ever received from any holiday I've been on. Everyone had a smile on their face - the setting was just perfect. Food was wonderful. Great variety and very tasty. Only word of advise... HOT SAUCE if you like your food very spicy. The meals are very lacking in heat so that it suits everyone's tastes, which is fine. But we like our food very spicy and required it. Breakfast is especially amazing. Ameeta, the cook, she is absolutely fantastic. Private Beach on the small side, but very intimate and beautiful. It has a great view and was exactly what we needed. They have good facilities for the beach, i.e. benches, shading, cushions, etc. Good security to warn away any sellers. They have a boathouse where you can book any excursions or book any of the water sport facilities Spa - WOW!!! Amazing!!! My husband and I both feel asleep during the Mauritian massage. We had a full body one and foot treatment. We were there for an hour and a half. We also had full access to the other facilities, e.g. sauna, jacuzzi, etc. So we were there for a few hours. Beautiful staff and very welcoming. Entertainment every evening with different theme every night. Great rooms and very comfortable.This is a
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice enough Hotel. Above average for a 3 star.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and wonderful Pool.
Cons: More tourist information readily available would have been helpful. WiFi was patchy and the games room could be improved by installing a fan.
Location: The location is acceptable, with good views across the Bay. Locally there are some nice restaurants. The Island has plenty of attractions.
The Veranda Grand Baie Hotel is a good family holiday destination. The facilities are good but not excellent. We particularly liked the Kids Club, the Pool and the Boat House facilities. From time to time there were somewhat noisy groups, particularly at weekends. The evening entertainment was not to our taste, however some people seemed to enjoy it. Happily it ended at a reasonable hour and enabled the more senior members of our family to get some sleep. Our one disappointment was the lack of variety in the food on offer at the Buffet, some of which left a lot to be desired. for example, roast beef that was akin to shoe leather. They could have made more of some excellent fish dishes.