Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very nice and quiet resort!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: location, amenities and staff. Great food too!
Nice amenities and great service with a personal note. I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay there! It is located on top of a big hill with stunning views in just about all directions. It's peaceful and quiet and not right on the beach. A shuttle will take you there if you want to go.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cyprus

hotel, excellent views ,though a bit hilly.

Posted Mar 28, 2016
a good holiday, you can get to a local sandy beach about 5 minutes walk away. the hotel provides a mini bus if you want to go to town (free) .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Tina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Hoping you stay and visit us again here at Utopia Resort & Spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

A nice place for a quiet get-away.

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: The views were stunning. The staff were helpful. The cottage was comfortable, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in when traveli
Cons: The repairs are underway, and I'm sure will be completed soon. Do be aware that this is a short distance to the beaches and dive shops.
Location: Diving, snorkeling, some hiking, and kayaking.
The Utopia Resort sits upon a hilltop, having spectacular views on three sides. The cottages are cute and comfortable. I used the spa twice, and was pleased with both massages. The staff were faultlessly helpful, and went out of their way to help me with travel arrangements. The food in the restaurant was quite good as well. They did sustain some damage from a typhoon in December, and not all of the repairs had been completed. Mainly affected was the retaining wall at the entrance and some of the area surrounding the pool. Once those repairs are completed (there were men working on them daily), I would rate the facilities a 4 or 5. Do be aware that you have a 10-15 minute drive from the resort to Sabang or White Beach. However, I did find drivers immediately available whenever I needed one.
4 out of 5
by MARK from USA

Business Trip Getaway

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff. Breakfast was really good. Wonderful view of bay and water from this property on a small hilltop
5 out of 5
by Qasim from UAE

Nice location, Good service

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Stay was really nice. Great location and Service. Everything was brilliant except the fact that they charge 5% if you pay by credit card and if you have an overnight visiting guest an additional 1100 Peso.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, would go again.

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Pool was undergoing cleaning when we went, but it didn't affect the stay too much. Getting there from Manila can take a while and the trip not that comfortable, but it's worth it.
4 out of 5
by Graham from Taiwan

Nice stay

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was a nice resort. Quite simple, but not far from the beach and had great views. Was a little annoyed at them only having one member of staff for the spa and massage. This meant my gf and I having to go one after the other, though this might have had something to do with huge guest cancellations due to an approaching typhoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good but not five star

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: The staff were really good.
Cons: Maintenance.
Location: Didn't like the area much but View Point is a great place to eat.
Set away from Muele and Batang it is a nice retreat, as neither town inspired me after my high hopes of diving Peurto Galera. The habit is to upgrade you from Rose Cottage and we got the honeymoon suite; a nice two level apartment overlooking a bay. We extended direct at a discount, staying in the one level Orchid room. The hotel was clearly built to be five star, with only six apartments. The bit that detracts is the need for some maintenance and a deep clean. Shower heads and patios, and putting away the pool equipment! I would use the hotel again, if the surrounding area was nicer.
4 out of 5
by David from USA

Quiet and Peaceful - Yet Close to Beaches

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great location away from the madness of Sabang Beach, yet still a close scooter ride away. Views of several bays were superb from our villa. The staff were courteous and responsive. They have a shuttle van pick-up if you let them know when you arrive from the ferry and also for in town drop-offs. My only complaints were that the room was not fully cleaned by their maid service and the shower operates on an electric heater that is either too hot or cold - can't be balanced on a warm setting.