Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Geoff

Good place to stay, but.....

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place to stay, even if finding it can be 'interesting'. A tip, if using a navigation device, is rather than inputting Via Rocciola Scrofani 260 as the street is to substitute Strada Provincial for Via. Only bad thing about the Hotel is that it doesn't do evening meals, so it is necessary to go out for evening meals. Nearest restaurants are about 6 minutes drive away. Great breakfasts and pool . Wifi can be a bit poor
4 out of 5
by Valerie

Quiet, rural, lovely pool area

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is remote and isolated but each restaurant we visited locally was really busy. Modica is only 20 minutes drive an the old town is interedting and has an authentic feel. I was a bit disappointed that the hotel restaurant was not open as we had to drive each evening. There was no apparent service at the bar either although you could always find someone at reception. Our room was as expected and characterful. We had a tiny balcony on the ramparts of this interesting old building. Lovely courtyard, olive grove garden and pretty pool. We had a comfortable stay and good breakfast, but the hotel felt partly closed for the season somehow. Our WC was not quite 'hotel' clean and the pool needed a bit of filtering, but there was work going on in the gardens. Good restaurant recommendations from reception and overall our stay was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wirral

Really good agriturismo in a rural setting.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Pool area
Cons: Maybe more savoury items for breakfast ( even boiled eggs)
Location: It's very rural and you definitely need a car if you want to get out. There isn't even a little village shop nearby.
It is very rural and sat nav equipped to find it. About 20 mns from Modica. Converted country house. Our rooms were in the stable block and were very clean and comfortable, The pool area is lovely and there were no problems getting sun beds. The breakfast was freshly prepared each morning (buffet style) but the emphasis is (common to all Sicily) on the 'sweet'. The lady who overseees breakfast was delightful and really accommodated my husbands coeliac condition and we give her extra brownie points. Overall, a lovely stay, very peaceful indeed but a little too remote for us, that said, with our car we got to Noto, Ragusa and Modica which were all fabulous
5 out of 5
by Dominic

A great find

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel in middle of the Ragusa countryside. The pool was perfect and nearly always empty. They do a 4 course menu each day that's excellent.
5 out of 5
by judith

Super Sicily

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
We couldn't find the hotel initially but when we did(with help from a very friendly motorcyclist in Modica and Frederica the hotel receptionist each taking and meeting us half way) it was worth the detour. This is a lovely Agroturismo . The staff were friendly and helpful.The homemade cakes,yogurt and marmalade at breakfast were delicious.The hotel is in lovely open countryside which did mean a car trip for dinner but we went to the nearby restaraunts recommended by the lovely receptionist Frederica and "Al Monaco" was brilliant.Try their Fish speciality Menu its fantastic value and delicious.The pool and gardens are great and a godsend in the heat.Their restaurant wasn't opened for dinner when we were there sadly as we would love to have tried it. A car is a must here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable stay just outside Siracusa

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Location: The hotel wasn't easy to find, but, once given proper instructions, it was very easy to get to from the motorway and into the centre of Siracusa.
This hotel has two lovely swimming pools, large gardens, and a playground for children. It is set in beautiful countryside. The staff are very attentive.
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Bristol

Very pleasant rural base for the Baroque towns

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
This beautifully-converted old farm is an ideal base to explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Baroque towns of south-eastern Sicily. Initially it can be a little difficult to find as neither signposting nor GPS are particularly helpful - try to see it on a map before you set off! Once there, however, the welcome from the staff was genuine and the accommodation of a high quality. There is a large swimming pool and a nice garden around it. Breakfast was very good and drinks/snacks are served to order but you'll need to eat out in local recommended restaurants for main meals (a car is essential to stay here).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel in central location

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Torre Don Virgillio is a beautifully restored stone Masseria from 600AD. This is as authentic as it gets! Centrally located between Modica, Ragusa, Scicli and the southern coast for short drives to each.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Utrecht

Such a nice place to relax!

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
It's located on the countryside, in the middle of nowhere, but still close enough to go out for dinner in Modica or Ragusa, 2 beautiful towns. Very friendly staff, especially the lady who serves breakfast! Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leah from England

Awesome!

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The wine was one of our favorites! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. They made us feel very welcomed! Thank you again to all!
Cons: When you have perfection how can one improve? If all staff continue to accomodate to their guest, then this resort will have a long life!
Location: So very sorry but quick trip and didn't get to see too much of Modica. So very much history all around us!
Wish we could have stayed longer at this one! There for one night but they took care of us. We were up very early in the morning for our flight into Trapani, Sicily. We then drove to Agrigento for a quick visit of the Valley of Temples. We pressed on to Modica. We were to arrive at the hotel by 8:14 according to our sat nav. We took wrong exit and it was a while before we were back on track. After several calls to the front desk in order to find the hotel, the young man offered to come meet us and bring us in. We agreed. It was dark, we were tired, hungry and just wanted to go to bed! It was so very nice of him to do this for us. We thank him again and so very sorry we didn't get his name! Once there, he asked if we were hungry and wanted something to eat? Yes. About 10 pm we went over to the restaurant. This young man who waited on us was also very nice. We had a wonderful dinner and the food was excellent. The wine, even better! So good, we ordered another bottle and took it back to the room with us. Went to bed. Early next morning we awoke to shower but no shower. They did have a jacuzzi bath tub. We're shower people but the bath was nice for something different. Off to breakfast. Also very good. Especially loved the watermelon. We can't say enough about this place except we wish we had more time there to just chill. It was all revamped in 2007 and they did a wonderful job. Very clean, fresh but still had the old world charm! I hope we get to come back to Torre Don someday