Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wirral

Really good agriturismo in a rural setting.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Pool area
Cons: Maybe more savoury items for breakfast ( even boiled eggs)
Location: It's very rural and you definitely need a car if you want to get out. There isn't even a little village shop nearby.
It is very rural and sat nav equipped to find it. About 20 mns from Modica. Converted country house. Our rooms were in the stable block and were very clean and comfortable, The pool area is lovely and there were no problems getting sun beds. The breakfast was freshly prepared each morning (buffet style) but the emphasis is (common to all Sicily) on the 'sweet'. The lady who overseees breakfast was delightful and really accommodated my husbands coeliac condition and we give her extra brownie points. Overall, a lovely stay, very peaceful indeed but a little too remote for us, that said, with our car we got to Noto, Ragusa and Modica which were all fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable stay just outside Siracusa

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Location: The hotel wasn't easy to find, but, once given proper instructions, it was very easy to get to from the motorway and into the centre of Siracusa.
This hotel has two lovely swimming pools, large gardens, and a playground for children. It is set in beautiful countryside. The staff are very attentive.
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Bristol

Very pleasant rural base for the Baroque towns

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
This beautifully-converted old farm is an ideal base to explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Baroque towns of south-eastern Sicily. Initially it can be a little difficult to find as neither signposting nor GPS are particularly helpful - try to see it on a map before you set off! Once there, however, the welcome from the staff was genuine and the accommodation of a high quality. There is a large swimming pool and a nice garden around it. Breakfast was very good and drinks/snacks are served to order but you'll need to eat out in local recommended restaurants for main meals (a car is essential to stay here).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel in central location

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Torre Don Virgillio is a beautifully restored stone Masseria from 600AD. This is as authentic as it gets! Centrally located between Modica, Ragusa, Scicli and the southern coast for short drives to each.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Utrecht

Such a nice place to relax!

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
It's located on the countryside, in the middle of nowhere, but still close enough to go out for dinner in Modica or Ragusa, 2 beautiful towns. Very friendly staff, especially the lady who serves breakfast! Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leah from England

Awesome!

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The wine was one of our favorites! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. They made us feel very welcomed! Thank you again to all!
Cons: When you have perfection how can one improve? If all staff continue to accomodate to their guest, then this resort will have a long life!
Location: So very sorry but quick trip and didn't get to see too much of Modica. So very much history all around us!
Wish we could have stayed longer at this one! There for one night but they took care of us. We were up very early in the morning for our flight into Trapani, Sicily. We then drove to Agrigento for a quick visit of the Valley of Temples. We pressed on to Modica. We were to arrive at the hotel by 8:14 according to our sat nav. We took wrong exit and it was a while before we were back on track. After several calls to the front desk in order to find the hotel, the young man offered to come meet us and bring us in. We agreed. It was dark, we were tired, hungry and just wanted to go to bed! It was so very nice of him to do this for us. We thank him again and so very sorry we didn't get his name! Once there, he asked if we were hungry and wanted something to eat? Yes. About 10 pm we went over to the restaurant. This young man who waited on us was also very nice. We had a wonderful dinner and the food was excellent. The wine, even better! So good, we ordered another bottle and took it back to the room with us. Went to bed. Early next morning we awoke to shower but no shower. They did have a jacuzzi bath tub. We're shower people but the bath was nice for something different. Off to breakfast. Also very good. Especially loved the watermelon. We can't say enough about this place except we wish we had more time there to just chill. It was all revamped in 2007 and they did a wonderful job. Very clean, fresh but still had the old world charm! I hope we get to come back to Torre Don someday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnny from London, UK

Very nice country hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2012
Location: As most places in Sicily the roads to the hotel are not great.The hotel itself is beautifully kept and looked after by the live in owner and his staff
Friendly mid size country hotel run by the friendliest people you will meet in Sicily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Genova, GE

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Luogo molto bello, personale cordiale e disponibile. Sicuramente consigliato.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel unter Potenzial

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Das Hotel liegt weitab vom Schuss, sehr ländlich und sehr ruhig. Die Gartenanlage und der Pool sind sehr schön und gut gepflegt. Die Zimmer sind einfach und etwas einfallslos eingerichtet, aber sehr sauber. Es fehlen ein paar nette Details, zum Beispiel Wasserkocher auf dem Zimmer für einen Tee oder Kaffee. Die Außenbestuhlung auf der Zimmerterrasse und im Hof zum Frühstücken ist das blanke Metall und schon etwas angejahrt, nicht sehr gemütlich. Das Frühstück enthält alle Basics, auch frisches Obst, Joghurt und leckeren Kuchen, könnte aber durch frisches Brot (statt labberigem Toastbrot aus der Tüte) und besser schmeckendem Kaffee (Maschine zum selber Ziehen, das können die Italiener normalerweise deutlich besser) sehr aufgewertet werden. Die Küchenfrau war sehr italienisch-freundlich, der Concierge dagegen hatte, aus welchen Gründen auch immer, ständig schlechte Laune und konnte dies kaum unter Höflichkeit verbergen. Bei der Ankunft erwartete er uns mit den Händen in den Hosentaschen, bis wir unseren Koffer durch den Garten bis zu ihm herangeschoben hatten und griff auch erst nach einigem Zögern nach meinem Koffer. Ein freundliches Willkommen und insgesamt etwas mehr Entgegenkommen hätte der Atmosphäre gut getan. Insgesamt hinterlässt das Hotel den Eindruck, deutlich mehr Potenzial zu haben, als derzeit ausgeschöpft wird. Für uns wäre es keine Adresse, in die wir unbedingt mal zurückkehren würden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ritorno al passato.

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Ero stato in hotel lo scorso anno, e mi era sembrato in cattivo stato, rispetto alle mie visite precedenti. Ieri, invece, ho visto, con mia soddisfazione, un hotel in codizioni eccellenti, sia negli spazi esterni (c'è un bellissimo parco) sia in camera, dove abbiamo trovato I bagni rinnovati e il perlinato del tetto (alto 5 metri)riverniciato. Anche la cortesia della reception è decisamente migliorata. Buona, ma migliorabile, la colazione.