Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Relaxant au millieu de la nature

Posted May 8, 2016
Tres bon accueil, emplacement parfait pres de restaurants et d'un convenience store. Tres beau de l'exterieur mais un peu triste a l'interieur de ma chambre. Mais apres tout, on se sent plus proche de la nature. Le petit dejeune au millieu des arbres et super
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town, but feels like you're in the jungle

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Wife and I stayed in a room with 1 queen and 1 twin bed and a balcony. Room was clean. No A/C, but with the fan and the cool outside temperatures it wasn't necessary. No TV, but had wifi good enough to watch movies. Best part was a huge window looking into the forest; we watched the fireflies and distant lightning show at night, and a ten-monkey migration through the trees in the morning. Location was close to town, 2 blocks off the road from Santa Elena to the Monteverde park, before the pavement ends. It was a great place to feel like you're in the jungle without being far from restaurants and amenities of town. Without a car, there were a couple restaurants to walk to and the hotel can arrange for transports to the sights. Be aware and watch out for scorpions, as you need to do at any hotel in the jungle no matter what the star rating (we were told by someone who was bit that it hurts for an hour or two but wont kill you.) The hotel was a great place to experience Santa Elena and Monteverde, unless you cant stand the thought of scorpions, in which case you should probably not go to Costa Rica.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice lodge but We Had Higher Expectations

Posted Apr 26, 2016
The staff were awesome! The lodge was nice but as a group we normally like a place that has more comfort and amenities. If someone likes to have more basic lodgings then this may be the place for you. There is no telephone or tv (which we didn't necessarily miss the tv), no air conditioning, the rooms are small and not a lot of places to lay your things. The breakfast was good and the staff were extremely helpful. The location is outside the town so the walk is about 20 mins downhill (which means all uphill going back) or you can get a cab for about $4 each way. The lodge was clean which is important. Our room has a fridge but not all rooms had one. Overall not bad depending on your expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf

Direkt an der Natur

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Freundliche Personal und gute Lage
Cons: das Frühstück kann verbessert werden
Location: ganz in der Nähe der Hauptstraße Richtung Innenstadt ..ist alles sehr einfach zu erreichen
Nette Personal und sehr sauberes Hotel. Der Garten fast wie eine kleine Dschungel ist auch ganz nett und wird von verschiedene Tiere und Vögeln besucht Gute Lage... ganz in der Nähe der Hauptstraße Richtung Innenstadt ..ist alles sehr einfach zu erreichen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Elegantly rustic

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: closets
Situated away from roads (5-10 min. walk to restaurants), surrounded by rain forest, complete with visiting monkeys and other wildlife. Large, bright, clean rooms (but no closets), friendly helpful staff with good English, and excellent per order breakfast. No TVs. Should have own car, but taxis available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Basic but wonderful!

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Very welcoming staff with meticulously groomed grounds and facilities. Our room was small, comfortable and basic. No TV or coffee maker but the bed, pillows and towels were comfortable with refrigerator and hot water. We loved sitting on the balcony which overlooked a valley of forest land. We did find a huge 3 inch scorpion in our room but sent him outside. Breakfast was good and it was great talking to fellow travelers and watching Touconettes and Motmots fly by. I would stay here again but know that it is very basic. Staff graciously set up tours for us. Enjoyed restaurants that are just a short walk away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Setting...Hard Beds

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Breakfast Open windows Beautiful Setting Staff
Cons: Mattresses need to be replaced.
Location: Monteverde is close to the Cloud Forest, Hanging Bridges, Night Hikes, and great strolling though town.
Cala Lodge was tucked away on a hilltop in Monteverde. Breakfast was great; the room was great minus the hard mattresses; the open windows with the breeze were great at night...daytime was too hot; the safe in the room came in handy; the staff went above and beyond to make our staff good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Beautiful hotel, only small negatives were water pressure and wifi strength in our room. Also, personal preference, but coffee could have been stronger. Staff and rooms were wonderful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing quiet get-away in Monteverde

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Location and spaciousness.
Cons: The Shower - it wasn't mounted to the wall and a little difficult to maneuver.
Location: There were great restaurants near by, however it was only 20 minutes walking distance from town. Amazing location.
We had an amazing time at Cala Lodge. The receptionist / hotel staff were absolutely amazing and the location was perfect - walking distance to town / everything needed. I wish we had stayed another night in this lovely lodge. Clean, spacious and beautiful scenery. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bruxelles

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Hotel tres bien situe et agreable. Le personnel est tres serviable et les petits dejeuners sont tres bons.