Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a view

Posted Aug 15, 2017
We stayed one night during our honeymoon, and it was a lovely place to stay in Monteverde. We had a beautiful view from our balcony and the small path through the hotel grounds was great. The room was pretty small, but great for our one night stay. We would definitely come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Raquel, Hotel Management
Thank you!
3 out of 5
by Nita

Beautiful lodge in the clouds

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
This beautiful hotel is small, but the rooms have wooden beams with rustic charm. The breakfast is great and best of all, the view of the clouds from the room is amazing. Each room has its own balcony and the hotel has its own trail. Restaurants are within walking distance. The drawbacks are the bugs because this hotel is in the forest, and rooms don't have TV. The wi-fi is spotty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Quiet, yet handy

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Seen a lot of different birds and animals right on the property.
Location: Right on the quiet side of Monteverde, lots of businesses with anything you could need a very sort distance.
Stayed in a upstairs room with a balcony, you can sit and watch the birds and animals right from your own space. Very clean and modern facility and close enough to town to walk, if you want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Very nice place

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Right on edge of town, we walked to a restaurant, maybe 150 meters away, also a small store just a little farther. Very quiet at the lodge.
Very nice, clean and quiet. Wildlife everywhere, birds are right outside your window, our room had a nice outside balcony, with chairs. Nothing but good to say, staff was very nice and helpful and a good location.
5 out of 5
by Kristine

Our corner of the cloud forest....

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The location was terrific! Our balcony overlooked the wilderness and we watched the cloud (of the cloud forest) come in and go out. The lodge isn't fancy, but it met and exceeded our needs.
4 out of 5
by Holly

Not recommended for teenagers

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was friendly. The breakfast was good. The wildlife we saw from our room and from the resoirt was unrivaled. Saw a mot mot and toucans. The bed was a bit uncomfortable. Watch out for hot scolding water in sink and shower. I was pleased with the location of the hotel for the area. The area does not have much to do for teenagers, but it is a bird watchers paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarchi Sur, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Lovely visit

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The mattress was very firm and allowed for a good nights sleep after a busy day The rooms had lots of windows to allow for a lot of natural light.
Cons: The room was very clean and well equipped. Couches and chairs in the reception area could be more comfortable for my wife. I had no issue with that!
Location: Monteverde cloud Forrest national park. Great for spotting rare birds. Zip lining, hiking, walking in town and shopping, etc.
Hotel was in a quiet area of Monteverde and you felt very secluded, although you were very close to town and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful with making reservations for the tours we took. Bring some warm clothing as it can get a little chilly in the early morning and at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great staff, dated, power outage

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Staff and service.
Cons: Internet access and speed.
Location: Monteverde cloud forest reserve, and Selventura Park for zip lining, very safe.
We experienced a power outage, and extremely slow internet access, but the staff and customer service made up for it. Breakfast was fresh, and made to order. Would recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M, NC

Much nicer than a lodge

Posted Feb 1, 2017
I stayed here with a friend just a few nights ago and really liked it. I wanted two queen beds which is what I booked but it turned out to be more of an entire apartment so beware you can probably save some money by booking a smaller room as they are huge! Bathroom was super clean, only bug I saw was a baby leaf bug which is pretty impressive for being in the middle of the jungle. Quiet. Beautiful views at the main lodge. Receptionist was extremely helpful and booked our tours and airport transfer easily. Breakfast was served in multiple small courses and had a menu to order from which was kind of a fancy touch compared to continental breakfast at most places. Good coffee and juice and we saw some cute jungle creatures out the windows while we ate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, NY

Amazing

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Wonderful hotel with fantastic staff! 10-15 minute walk to downtown area and an hour walk or 5 minute cab ride to the cloud forest. Also there are monkeys! They come right up to your balcony