Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pagosa springs co

Acceptable but dated

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Facility and grounds are nice. Good location. Good buffet for breakfast included. Rooms are dated especially mattresses and linens. Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Best we saw in all of CR. Can walk to town in about 15 minutes or take a 3$ taxi or 1$ bus. MV has good restaurants as well to choose from. Weather was a pleasant change from the heat at the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC, Canada

Misunderstandings quickly corrected

Posted Dec 16, 2015
When I had reserved this hotel, I thought that its sister hotel, Poco a Poco, was basically across the street from the Country Lodge, therefore allowing me to take advantage of the pool and jacuzzi whenever I wanted. Unfortunately, upon arriving, I learned that there is more than one "Monteverde Lodge" and that the Country Lodge was too far away to walk whenever I wanted to take advantage of the pool/jacuzzi. The staff at both Poco a Poco and Country Lodge and the management of these two hôtels were very accommodating and understood that, because of a series of misunderstandings, my frustrations were well-founded and as such, they were most hospitable in ensuring that my stay was agreeable. As it turns out, I moved to the Poco a Poco for two of the three nights and although there were other problems there, I can definitely say that the management still went out of their way to ensure that I had an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel en medio del bosque

Posted Nov 12, 2015
se puede accesar en carro pero es mas facil encamioneta, el hotel no cuenta con alberca, pero las areas comunes son tranquilas, agradables, el buffet de desayuno variado, las habitaciones limpias, el hotel es escologico. cafetera y tv dentro del cuarto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean affordable hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel staff are very friendly. The room could use a ceiling fan as it gets stuffy in there with the humidity. There is no AC, but it is not needed. The room was clean and basic. A safe is provided in your room. They did just wax tge wood floors prior to my arrival, so the smell lingered in the room even with the door open. There is on site dining and dining across the street. I tried both and preferred the dining across the street. The receptionist helped me block an evening your and even gave me change for a larger bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente hospedagem

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Bom hotel, com equipe muito prestativa dando orientações de pacotes turísticos na cidade. Toda infraestrutura de lazer em hotel parceiro. Muito bom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Guillermo from San José

Servicios del hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Muy satisfecho
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay in the cloud forrest of Monteverde

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Great experience. Staff friendly especially at the restaurant. Room nice and clean. Even though we were up in tbe mountain the room needs more ventilation than windows. Either have larger screen windows or offer a fan to circulate air. Overall we will come state here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindsey from Illinois

Basic "country" room in good location

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
We only stayed here for one night while visiting the cloud forest. The reception area is nice and the receptionist working was very nice and thorough while explaining our room and stay. They brought us two fruit drinks upon arrival. Parking was not a problem. The room itself was clean (minus some small spiders, but you are in nature!). The one downside was the bed, which was not very comfortable, but fine for us since it was only one night. We booked a double bed room. One bed was full/double size, but the other was really only sized for one person, so that may be an issue for people who would have expected to fit four people in the room. Room had a safe and TV. There was actually a lot of room in the space, but the bathroom was a bit small. Overall, met our needs well. The breakfast was good--typical food that you get at the hotels in Costa Rica. As a side note we ate at Poco a Poco (their sister hotel) for dinner and it was realllly good and they had live music. You get a 15% discount.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Helpful staff, a nice base for Monteverde tours

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, clean, and not a bad location. You come to Montezuma to tour the cloud forest - and the staff are great with helping to arrange this.
Cons: There was a US school trip there at the same time as me, as a result the WiFi was impossible when they were on site, but very good when they weren't!
Location: Area has the best canopy and adventure tours in CR. The zip lining was amazing experience, 13 lines, the last 1km long. Take a night nature walk.
Monteverde is amazing and the hotel offers very good prices for tours, and the staff go out of their way to be very helpful and get you good deals. Take a walk up Cerro Amigos, the highest hill in the area, the trail starts 15 minutes walk away behind the hotel Belmar. Not easy, it's very steep, but it's a gravel road all the way, no rock climbing - and it's the highest point in the area, you're above the clouds and can see the Pacific, and on a clear day Arenal (I'm told). Hotel breakfast is okay. For dinner, I recommend Amy's on the main street in town, superb food and wine. You'll probably need 3 nights to do Monteverde properly, assuming your first day is getting here... I travelled from La Fortuna on the lake tour, this is the best way and good value at USD 25, for the scenery alone. If you're driving that route yourself, beware of some tough roads, the unguarded edges seem to lead to the abyss. The hotel is quite uphill from the town, a nice walk down but not so much up in the evening - but it's only a couple of dollars and anyway, there are two good night spots at the top of the hill near the hotel - Johnny's "pizza place" was buzzing on Friday night, live band, cheap drinks...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Laura from St Louis

Rustic Cutie, But Out of the Way

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
Terrific help from staff, let us keep luggage there all day after we checked out, got us a tour of Monterverde Cloud Forest at 9 pm the night before. Nice facility, but a walk if you are on foot, luckily, cabs are very affordable in Monteverde.