Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Helpful staff, a nice base for Monteverde tours

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, clean, and not a bad location. You come to Montezuma to tour the cloud forest - and the staff are great with helping to arrange this.
Cons: There was a US school trip there at the same time as me, as a result the WiFi was impossible when they were on site, but very good when they weren't!
Location: Area has the best canopy and adventure tours in CR. The zip lining was amazing experience, 13 lines, the last 1km long. Take a night nature walk.
Monteverde is amazing and the hotel offers very good prices for tours, and the staff go out of their way to be very helpful and get you good deals. Take a walk up Cerro Amigos, the highest hill in the area, the trail starts 15 minutes walk away behind the hotel Belmar. Not easy, it's very steep, but it's a gravel road all the way, no rock climbing - and it's the highest point in the area, you're above the clouds and can see the Pacific, and on a clear day Arenal (I'm told). Hotel breakfast is okay. For dinner, I recommend Amy's on the main street in town, superb food and wine. You'll probably need 3 nights to do Monteverde properly, assuming your first day is getting here... I travelled from La Fortuna on the lake tour, this is the best way and good value at USD 25, for the scenery alone. If you're driving that route yourself, beware of some tough roads, the unguarded edges seem to lead to the abyss. The hotel is quite uphill from the town, a nice walk down but not so much up in the evening - but it's only a couple of dollars and anyway, there are two good night spots at the top of the hill near the hotel - Johnny's "pizza place" was buzzing on Friday night, live band, cheap drinks...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Well run, beautiful landscaping, and close to town

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: nice lobby, comfortable room, park-like grounds with fountains, across from nice restaurant, walking distance to town or $3 taxi, helpful staff made phone calls for us and notified us when shuttles arrived, yummy typically breakfast Cons: thin walls, can often hear neighbors and maids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Hotel En Monteverde Costa Rica

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: La limpieza y comodidad
Cons: Pienso que todo está ok, no se me ocurre nada que sea necesario mejorar.
Location: El parque Salvatura, es el mejor porque hay muchas actividades como el mariposario, jardín de colibrís, tirolesas, exposición de insectos y reptiles.
La relación calidad precio para este hotel es excelente, incluso nos recibieron con un rico coctel de bienvenida. Esta muy cómodo y limpio. El desayuno que viene incluido está muy rico y súper completo. Aunque fue solo un noche recomiendo ampliamente este lugar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josianne from Montréal

Monteverde

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
Très beau site. Hôtel propre et convivial. Insonorisation pas à son meilleur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jayesh from Dallas

best place to stay in La Fortuna

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
everything was perfect from a to z
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosana from La Plata

Recomendable

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
Agradable y muy buena la atención.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Will come back.... a nice place!

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
Loved every bit of the stay in this place..wld come back and stay there. The front desk was super helpful...restaurant food was not bad.. breakfast had a good spread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Naeema from Toronto, Canada

Monteverde Country Lodge graet lodge

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
The resort was cosy and well maintained grounds. Roads getting into the property are bad, I guess that is typical of Costa Rica. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Gave us good directions to go all places. Breakfast was good, Definitely would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Greetings Mrs Naeema. Thank you very much for your very kind review. we are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and its authentic atmosphere. Monteverde Country Lodge maintains the beauty of the classic Cloud Forest accomodations. We are proud to offer a very good lodging option and are working very hard to constanly improve our quiality. thank you very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Fredrik

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Fredrik. Thank you very much for your rating for Monteverde Country Lodge. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Great facility, great staff. Wifi not available in every room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, thank you for your comments, we are very proud of the performance of all our team, our service is definately our biggest highlight and strengt. we are working to improve our WI FI network and reach, by next december it´ll be wrking all around the property. Thank you very much.