Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice place.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We enjoyed the stay. Nice room and the staff. The restaurant is very good, providing nice complementary breakfast and tasty lunch and dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, canada

Nice hotel,

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: clean, and comfortable
Cons: More lights at night it was really dark to reach our rooms
Location: We did the canopy,
they welcome us with cocktail, staff very helpfull and nice. Breakfast buffet was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Amazing place in the Clouds !!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Eco- friendly with the best service this was by far the best place we stayed at in Costa Rica. The restaurant has great service and the best food in the country.
1 out of 5
by allison

Unhappy Stay...rude service ...

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
We were in Costa Rica for three weeks and this was our ONLY unpleasant experience. I booked a room on booking.com and the manager said since I got the good deal I would have to pay extra for breakfast. When you book a room is the U.S. after putting in all criteria the owner/manager does not change the conditions. He was very rude. I said we would skip breakfast but he was not happy with that. I tried to cancel my reservation but was not able to. After being charged and reluctantly deciding to stay we then had three tour buses full of young students pull in. It immediately turned into a loud experience and stay. Around 9pm we settled into our room and the power went out. There were many, many young kids running around screaming and they seemed to congregate outside of our room. My husband went to the front desk several times and all the manager said was that quite time was supposed to start at 9pm. It never got quiet and we did not get any sleep!!! So much for a quiet country inn. We got up at 5:30 the next morning to leave and talked to the woman at the front desk. She was very nice and apologetic and told us to at least get some coffee. We went into the dining room and could not even get a seat. The kids had beaten us there. We ended up going to a bakery that was close by. I would not recommend this Lodge!!!
4 out of 5
by Ralph

Charming local hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
A nice little local hotel, so some of the amenities you may enjoy back in the staters are not going to be here. Water pressure not the greatest and room size is not the largest. All in all though a wonderful experience and I will stay there again if I visit the area again. The restaurant was very nice and the food was excellent and a good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Lovely hotel with a marvelous staff

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: I liked the beautiful grounds and the wonderful staff.
Cons: I would have liked to have seen a little better menu in the restaurant.
Location: The hotel is not too far from several cloud forest preserves, Monteverde, Curi-Cancha, and Santa Elena. There are also hanging bridges & zip lines.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with many outdoor areas. My room was spacious and had a nice balcony. It was very far from the main entrance and up 3 different sets of stairs, but I enjoyed the exercise. The best thing about the hotel was the staff. They arranged tours for me and helped me get there on time even when I forgot the times. They were so enjoyable I felt like they were friends when I left.
5 out of 5
by Marina

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
clean, nice and quiet hotel.
5 out of 5
by Jay

clean and comfortable works

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Fine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
not walkable to many things, but your shuttle will pick you up and the power goes out sometimes in the jungle , so be prepared to pay cash for your room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best staff!

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Montreverde Countrty Lodge had amazing staff who always welcomed all our many questions. They were full of information and a true delight to talk with each day. They also had a much needed and welcomed laundry service to wash all out backpacking clothes.