Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Lovely hotel with a marvelous staff

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: I liked the beautiful grounds and the wonderful staff.
Cons: I would have liked to have seen a little better menu in the restaurant.
Location: The hotel is not too far from several cloud forest preserves, Monteverde, Curi-Cancha, and Santa Elena. There are also hanging bridges & zip lines.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with many outdoor areas. My room was spacious and had a nice balcony. It was very far from the main entrance and up 3 different sets of stairs, but I enjoyed the exercise. The best thing about the hotel was the staff. They arranged tours for me and helped me get there on time even when I forgot the times. They were so enjoyable I felt like they were friends when I left.
5 out of 5
by Marina

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
clean, nice and quiet hotel.
5 out of 5
by Jay

clean and comfortable works

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Fine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
not walkable to many things, but your shuttle will pick you up and the power goes out sometimes in the jungle , so be prepared to pay cash for your room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best staff!

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Montreverde Countrty Lodge had amazing staff who always welcomed all our many questions. They were full of information and a true delight to talk with each day. They also had a much needed and welcomed laundry service to wash all out backpacking clothes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

Not a convenient location

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were not overly accommodating in the dining area of front desk we asked for extra coffee they couldn't locate it, the waiter was rushed and slightly rude no dips for chicken strips, no where to buy pop or snacks so went the night with no beverages they only had beer and wine and the free breakfast was terrible. Would not reccommend at all. Not a good value at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy Hour Guaro Sours a must!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to town. Was known.
Cons: Update and have staff ready and waiting.
Overall, nice hotel. Seems a little run down. Staff was hard to find sometimes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte

great value and great service!

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Orbitz
stay there for two nights and very satisfied, quiet and very convenient location, front desks are very helpful and give you all good suggestions
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice place to stay in Monteverde

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Landscaping, cleanliness
Cons: Pave the roads to Monteverde! And add street signs so you know what road you are on.
Location: Selvatura Park
With only a paper fold-out map, this hotel was really hard to find. If you have GPS, maybe it would be easier. And the road to get to the towns of Santa Elena/Monteverde (through the town of Juntas from Route 1) was ROUGH. All dirt and rocks for miles and miles on really narrow and super curvy roads (if you want to call them "roads") on steep cliffs. The hotel itself was much nicer than I expected from other reviews. Very nice landscaping with fountains in courtyards. The room was basic but clean. We had a room on the second floor, with a balcony and king size bed. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom, and pre-filled soap dispensers. It was perfect for the one night we were staying in Monteverde. The location of the hotel seemed far away from the rest of the town though, so if you were planning on exploring more of Santa Elena by walking, you might want something closer. The hotel also provided a free shuttle to the Selvatura Park which was nice.