Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice place to stay in Monteverde

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Landscaping, cleanliness
Cons: Pave the roads to Monteverde! And add street signs so you know what road you are on.
Location: Selvatura Park
With only a paper fold-out map, this hotel was really hard to find. If you have GPS, maybe it would be easier. And the road to get to the towns of Santa Elena/Monteverde (through the town of Juntas from Route 1) was ROUGH. All dirt and rocks for miles and miles on really narrow and super curvy roads (if you want to call them "roads") on steep cliffs. The hotel itself was much nicer than I expected from other reviews. Very nice landscaping with fountains in courtyards. The room was basic but clean. We had a room on the second floor, with a balcony and king size bed. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom, and pre-filled soap dispensers. It was perfect for the one night we were staying in Monteverde. The location of the hotel seemed far away from the rest of the town though, so if you were planning on exploring more of Santa Elena by walking, you might want something closer. The hotel also provided a free shuttle to the Selvatura Park which was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Pleasant layout, great landscaping, attentive staf

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: well maintained, rooms were well furnished.
Cons: can not think of anything
Location: Did Monteverde Cloud Forest (a bit crowded), and Santa Elena Cloud Forest (less people and much thinker forest, liked it more). But enjoyed them both
Stayed three nights and throughout the stay, all the staff was attentive and very helpful. Dinner was great. Breakfast was great, rooms spacious and clean, and well maintained. Gardens,landscaping was very nice with fountains. Hoping to have the opportunity to stay again with other family members.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Simple rooms in a nice hotel complex

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Give is the promised feather duvets.
Location: You will waste hours driving 10 mph to just get there, because they have no paved roads in the area.
The main areas of the hotel are nice, especially the large playground, fountains and benches. The rooms, however, are disappointing. Not feather duvets, as promised, just plain blankets and old bed spreads. We were cold at night. The bathroom looked relatively new, but there was no space to put down toiletries. No closet, just a shelf with a coat rack, no fridge, not even a hair dryer. Therefor plenty of ants. We called the front desk to sent someone who sprayed the room right away. The breakfast buffet was very simple, with little to choose from. The restaurant was empty in the evening, we were the only guests, but the food was okay. We walked to the nature preserve down the hill, where they charge 15$ for a hike through the woods. We saw a few butterflies, that was it. Monkeys hang out near the reception. Monteverde is alltogether overrated, they charge an arm and a leg for everything, even a hike, because they are all private. The government does not even maintain the roads. It takes forever to get there, because none of the roads leading there are paved. Coming from Arenal we spent 3 hours on appx. 40 miles of very steep, curvy dirt roads with huge pot holes. You better rent a Jeep if you want to go faster than 10 mph. Leaving towards Route 1 is another 20 miles of gravel roads, with potholes and all. We had rented a Prius, and it probably needs new shocks now. It was not worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. It seems that your visit to Monteverde didn´t meet your expectations at all, what a shame! Monteverde can get rain more often than not, that is why the area is so green and diverse, guests shouldn´t let the weather become an obstacle to explore the Rain Forest. Monteverde is a charming and unique destination. The zip lining, hanging bridges, coffee tours, orchid garden, butterfly garden, frog pond and hiking trails are definitely worth visiting! We are a little confused about you mentioning feather duvets... we do not offer them or promise them in any way. We are sorry to hear you were cold at night, we are happy to provide heaters and extra blankets upon request. Perhaps next time you should align your expectations with the type of country you are visiting, this is Costa Rica after all... We are sure doing more research before you decide on a place will really work for your expectations and personal preferences. Better luck next time. Happy travels!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pagosa springs co

Acceptable but dated

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Facility and grounds are nice. Good location. Good buffet for breakfast included. Rooms are dated especially mattresses and linens. Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Best we saw in all of CR. Can walk to town in about 15 minutes or take a 3$ taxi or 1$ bus. MV has good restaurants as well to choose from. Weather was a pleasant change from the heat at the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2016 by Monteverde Country Lodge Management, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, your feedback about your stay in Monteverde Country Lodge is greatly apprecciated. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, we cater for a relaxed, cozy, classic Monteverde ambience, spacious corridors, and comfortable rooms, gardens, fountains and lounge areas. Our staff is another one of our highlights, they are truly dedicated to provide exceptional service. We agree there are some flaws we need to address, we´ll be more careful about those details. Happy travels!
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from United States

Monteverde

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there for 4 nights. The first room was large with a huge bathroom. After 2 nights, the toilet backed up and the shower didn't drain and it smelled like sewage. They tried to repair the issue, but ended up changing our room. The second room was way better. We could actually catch the wifi signal in the room closer to front desk and restaurant. The ladies at the front desk are awesome, but the male that works the front desk couldn't care less about anything. The room cleaning crew were great as well. If wifi is super important to you, try to get a room as close to the front as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Monteverde Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that we were able to resolve your concern in an efficient way. As you mentioned in your review our WI-FI connection works better as closer as you get to the Front Desk and Restaurant. We will make sure to review your comments with the Front Desk staff. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Travels!
4 out of 5
by Sheri from Cambridge MA USA

Would stay again

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Lodge was comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Location a bit out of the way. Some rooms need better sound proofing. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Monteverde Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Sheri, thank you very much for sharing your recent experience about your stay with us. We offer a good environment to rest, our location is a good base to visit the area. We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and our style. Please be assured that we have been working on our isolation issues, most rooms have been renovated. Hopefully, we will see you again sometime in the future. Happy Travels!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC, Canada

Misunderstandings quickly corrected

Posted Dec 16, 2015
When I had reserved this hotel, I thought that its sister hotel, Poco a Poco, was basically across the street from the Country Lodge, therefore allowing me to take advantage of the pool and jacuzzi whenever I wanted. Unfortunately, upon arriving, I learned that there is more than one "Monteverde Lodge" and that the Country Lodge was too far away to walk whenever I wanted to take advantage of the pool/jacuzzi. The staff at both Poco a Poco and Country Lodge and the management of these two hôtels were very accommodating and understood that, because of a series of misunderstandings, my frustrations were well-founded and as such, they were most hospitable in ensuring that my stay was agreeable. As it turns out, I moved to the Poco a Poco for two of the three nights and although there were other problems there, I can definitely say that the management still went out of their way to ensure that I had an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel en medio del bosque

Posted Nov 12, 2015
se puede accesar en carro pero es mas facil encamioneta, el hotel no cuenta con alberca, pero las areas comunes son tranquilas, agradables, el buffet de desayuno variado, las habitaciones limpias, el hotel es escologico. cafetera y tv dentro del cuarto
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean affordable hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel staff are very friendly. The room could use a ceiling fan as it gets stuffy in there with the humidity. There is no AC, but it is not needed. The room was clean and basic. A safe is provided in your room. They did just wax tge wood floors prior to my arrival, so the smell lingered in the room even with the door open. There is on site dining and dining across the street. I tried both and preferred the dining across the street. The receptionist helped me block an evening your and even gave me change for a larger bill.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente hospedagem

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Bom hotel, com equipe muito prestativa dando orientações de pacotes turísticos na cidade. Toda infraestrutura de lazer em hotel parceiro. Muito bom.