Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Great small hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great small hotel overlooking Villefranche harbour. The location is perfect. It is near the beach, the train station and the restaurants. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It doesn't have the facilities of a big hotel like a pool, but nothing else to fault.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Centrally placed. Lovely outlook.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Location, staff. room.
Cons: Breakfast could have been included. We had ours out every day and so met few other guests.
Location: Good restaurants all around. Pleasant cafe atmosphere in the street. Little flea market on Sunday in the square outside. Lovely old town to explore.
The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room had been refurbished and was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Mycket nöjd med hotellet som ligger fantastiskt vackert och lugnt ! Kort och vacker tågresa till närliggande orter som Nice, Cannes etc
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Love this location!

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The location!
Cons: Rooms a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Excellent service also.
Location: Very quaint village with many options for things to do nearby. If you hop on a train, you can be in Nice in 5-10 minutes. Or go to Monaco or Eze.
We love this hotel and location. Been there twice, and it did not disappoint. It is waterfront and every room has a balcony to sit and watch the actions of this quaint fishing village. There are many restaurants right there in the village, and every one we've been to was an excellent meal. Also bars, bakery, corner store and shops within the village set on the side of a cascading hill. The train station and beach is within walking distance. Very picturesque!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Stunningly located, family-friendly hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: (Child-) friendly staff, beautiful location, nice accommodation
Cons: Attention to detail on cleanliness, value-for-money, noise-proofing of rooms.
Location: Villefranche is beautiful but very small - you can see everything in one day. Get the train to other Côte d'Azur locations... or even Italy.
Mostly positive experience travelling with our six-month-old baby for his first holiday. With the exception of one very surly member of the bar/breakfast team, all staff encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, the hotel is definitely child-friendly - a cot was provided for our room, buggy storage at reception was offered, etc. It's worth noting however that the location is not hugely advantageous if you have a small baby - everything in Villefranche is really only accessible via steep staircases or along bumpy/cobbled and sometimes disappearing pavements! Otherwise, the location is amazing with all the town's main sites, best restaurants, amenities as well as the bus-stop and railway station to travel elsewhere a very short distance away. Noise levels were generally family-friendly other than Friday/Saturday nights when live music in the bar definitely permeated our windows and deprived us of sleep. If possible, ask to be nearer the Reception end than the bar end to minimise this. No score is offered for value for money but the cost of the room seemed excessive for the facilities provided - especially given that breakfast was not included. 2/5 on that front - perhaps because there seemed to be a big yachting event happening and those guys are used to paying extortionate fees for everything? Room cleanliness was generally good but not 5/5 due to the rather disconcerting pair of (used?) male undergarments we found on the floor next to the bed!
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

Excellent Hospitality!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I stayed with my wife here for two nights. We could have a wonderful experience in this little hotel with great atmosphere and heartful hospitality of all staffs. It was also so nice to have a breakfast on the room balcony enjoying the breeze and beautiful scenery of Côte d'Azur. I do recommend to stay here when you visit Villefranche-sur-Mer!
5 out of 5
by anne grethe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

all aspects, a great hotel!

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location, no need to go anywhere if you want to just relax but close to Nice and Monaco by taxi or train
Cons: one electrical outlet in the room.
This hotel has so many great attributes. The location is perfect in a quiet village next to a beautiful harbor and only a few hundred yards from a beach. Villefranche-sur-Mer is conveniently positioned between Monaco and Nice, it's a short train or taxi ride to either. Taxis cost around $50 euro to either so the train is the most economical option. The village offers many little shops and restaurants. There is a cute cafe in the hotel which offers scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon in addition to a continental plus type fare with croissants, cheeses, meats etc. The service of this hotel is excellent. Julien and the rest of the staff is attentive and aiming to please. The rooms are very clean and the decor of the hotel is very pleasing.The hotel offers a 48 foot Beneteau sailboat with a captain which we opted to rent with my family who were staying in the area and it was an experience of a lifetime. We sailed around then stopped to swim into a cliff side cave and again in another bay. We stayed in a ship cabin styled room on the sixth floor which was adorable and had an incredible balcony view of the entire bay. But be warned, the ceilings are low and not recommended for anyone over 5'8" tall. I hit my head several times going into the bathroom which had an even lower height. I don't regret picking that room in spite of the height issue. The only real inconvenience was only having one electrical outlet in the room. I loved the Hotel Welcome and would love to stay again!