Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Maria E from miami

We love the place, Amazing!!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was great! Our suite was gorgeous the beauty of the design, the decoration and the view were perfect. The rooms were perfectly cleaned. The breakfast were delicious with a great service. The hotel have a great location in Umbria easy to drive araund. The hotel's description included air condition and the DON'T HAVE IT. The weather even in summer was fantastic but we always like to have it so you can close the windows keeping bugs and insects outside. The only problem that we had was,we arrived late at night and the person incharge was so mad at us since he told us that they haven waiting for us since 3:00pm , I argued that it was not written in the hotel's description that we got to checkin early or before any time as some hotel that especify the check in hours. We were coming from a long trip and we arrived later than we espected thinking that they would have 24 hours front desk service. So we started our stay with the left foot. The guy probably wanted to go home and was waiting just for us.In Europe some hotels have just one shift,morning to night and it's hard for them but it's not our fault.I asked to leave the key and we will figure it out but he did wait for us.He changed his acctitude pretty fast and give us the best service the rest of the days that we stayed there,we extended our stay so the beauty of the place and nature were amazing. The service was great! Defenitly we will come back and we really recomend this hotel!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay in Unbria

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Not close to a town, and room only had a fridge, so we had to go out for meals. Wifi was a bit intermittent. Staff were very friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by Verena

Locked out

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately the hotel was shut when we arrived. After phoning a number we were told someone would arrive in half an hour. Over an hour later a gardener let us in, not great in the middle of nowhere. I'm not sure how someone without Italian would have fared. There were dead insects in the room which was very cold. The wifi only worked near the reception (which was locked). The shower was very tired, but otherwise the hotel is beautiful and in a lovely location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Lovely place fairly basic but near to the main roads. perfect for exploring the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Remote location for getaway

Posted Aug 7, 2015
This is a rustic experience if you want to get away from the crowds. You will need a car. The place is in a beautiful old castle. The kitchen is basic one like one in older homes, the noise of the road can be heard all day and you put up with bugs. But price is ok.
5 out of 5
by Ricardo from Bettendorf, IA, USA

Great castle in a remote location

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Castle is in great shape. Service is excellent. Breakfast is included. Alex and Marcela made us feel welcomed. You need a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Our stay was very good. wife Works best ever

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: yes
Cons: ..
Location: historical site
if you look for a quite and historic place to stay. I recomend this hotel. For family and couples ..good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by W.L. from Singapore

A unique old property full of charm on a hill

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: That is is so different from the usual corporate hotel chains. It is a one and only unique property. It also does not have a big crowd.
Cons: Our wardrobe had just two or three hangers. Yes, we got more later. But, hangers are cheap and each room should have adequate hangers.
Location: For us, the location was great. Not too far from Rome (2.5 hours by car). From the hotel, we did day trips to Siena, Gubbio, Assisi, Spoleto, etc.
We had a great time in Umbria and the hotel added to the experience. It is not a corporate-style hotel, so don't expect a phone in the room to call front desk. It is like being a guest in a friend's multi-unit old antique villa. The units are all unique and some have a kitchen. If you need anything, just ask the staff. Breakfast can be provided but one should know by now not to expect full American breakfasts in Italy. It's mostly croissants, jam, nutella and butter -- and good Italian coffee. It is on a hill with a view and yet it is not that far away from the expressway. There is the unexpected free WiFi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pisa

Splendida vacanza nel Castello Valenzino

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
La nostra esperienza presso il Castello Valenzino è stata più che buona. Siamo stati accolti con gentilezza ed il servizio è stato sempre eccellente. La colazione ci è stata servita in giardino sotto un piccolo gazebo; non eccessivamente ricca (io sono un amante delle colazioni a buffet) ma ci veniva sempre chiesto di riportare qualcosa. Pulizia molto buona. Il viaggio è stato fatto da me e mia moglie ma abbiamo già visionato un appartamento del castello per tornare in compagnia dei figli e degli zii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Tra le verdi colline dell'Umbria

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Tutto
Location: Visitate anche i paesi meno noti che si trovano nei dintorni: Montone, Corciano e Solomeo, piccoli ma molto vicini e molto carini.
Struttura meravigliosa, immersa nel verde delle colline umbre. Ampi spazi per stare all'aperto, struttura molto bella e arredata in stile. Direi che è proprio come appare sul sito. La posizione permette di muoversi agevolmente verso i paesi vicini, ma anche di godersi il luogo in cui la struttura è collocata