Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Remote hotel with recurrent power cuts

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Had to change to another hotel after 2 out of 7 booked nights. Not much to do really and taxis to any place of interest will cost you a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel, good situation, very good facilities

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms, gardens, on the beach.
Cons: Can't think of anything! No other Brits staying when we did although not sure if this a plus or a minus!!
Location: Quiet location, on the beach a few shops and restaurants within walking distance. Reasonable taxi fare to Khaolak.
Stayed for 5 nights, lovely hotel and gardens good for a quiet getaway. Nice beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Brussels

Four days of bliss on the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Great location if you are looking for a relaxing getaway though not if you have come to Thailand to party. My wife and I arrived thinking we would have a bit of an explore, but ended up spending four glorious days sitting by the beach, body surfing then cooling down in the afternoon at the pool bar. I'd read some reviews stating the food was a bit dodgy, but everything we ate was good to great apart from the fish dishes. The linen smelled at little bit musty in the room, but the room was otherwise spotless and the staff were terrific, and for what we paid per night the value was incredible! This is the place to go if your looking for great value for money and a really relaxing, zero-stress holiday. Loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but not wow

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Water slide for our son
Cons: Free wifi only in one location
Compared to other resorts in the world Merlin would rate highly however compared to other Thai resorts it was rather disappointing. Decor, garden, pools and water slide all great. However food menu, breakfast, service and friendliness of staff were not as pleasing as we've encountered at the many other resorts we've been to. Also to not have free wifi everywhere in a resort of this standard is frankly not good enough these days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Velcome to Khao Lak

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: 4 glorious swimming pools in amongst the trees - beautiful - great bar too
Cons: menu
Location: Quiet - not for clubbers- Thank goodness
Khao Lak is where we are going, that is what we told everyone, and no one had ever heard of it. Why? we wondered? because it is the German place to go on holiday... That does not mean we didnt enjoy our time there, Merlin is about an hour away from the airport and an hour and a half away from Phuket Town if you plan your holiday for sitting on the beach and looking through a few souviner shops and maybe buying a tailored outfit then Khao lak is definately for you as there is not much else around but it is beautiful, there are elephants that you can ride (if you like that kind of thing) places to walk, and beaches to explore. Many trips are extremely expensive here such as trips to Phi Phi at 3000 Baht! - we decided to stick with the beach we had. The food at Merlin is boring, its ok if you want lunch after spending the day on a beach but the room service, bar and restaurant menu are exactly the same and the choice is limited. they were doing work to the hotel while we were there, they did the best to make sure this did not disrupt anything. my partner was stung by jelly fish - not the merlins fault of course - but be wary - also remember the sun is much much stronger than it feels. as I said earlier its a very German area, each morning the Thai staff greeting with Guttenmargen or however they spell good morning in Germany, and they all spoke very good German, their English is poor. although I cant complain too much - my Thai is not great either!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Boris/Bimbo from Walpole, MA, USA

Exelent stay!

Posted Mar 4, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: massage
Location: exelent location
We went in February.This hotel i amazing! Very good location and service.You wont be wrong to choose Khao lak Merlin Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zürich

Wundervolle Hotelanlage

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: mehrere Pools, relief-mässig gebaut, direkter Zugang zum Sandstrand, sehr leckere Speisen und Buffets, hilfsbereite Mitarbeitende und top Service
Cons: Wenn es regnet und die Veranda nass ist, besteht enorme Rutschgefahr. Entweder Anti-Rutschmatten vorsehen oder zumindest darauf hinweisen.
Location: 15 Minuten zum KhaoLak-Center mit vielen Shops, 1h nach Phuket mit Taxi/Shuttle Elephant Trekking, etc. es wird niemals langweilig!
Sehr gepflegtes und trotzdem natürlich belassenes Hotel direkt am feinen Sandstrand - nach KhaoLak Center fährt man 15 Minuten mit dem Taxi. Weitläufige Hotelanlage - auch bei einer grossen Gästeanzahl hat man nicht das Gefühl von "Massentourismus". Sehr schön eingerichtete, saubere und komfortabe Zimmer, einige davon haben direkten Poolzugang. Die Pools werden mehrmals täglich gereinigt und sind somit immer tiptop und sauber. Üppige Buffets mit leckeren Speisen - besonders empfehlenswert sind die Thai-Buffets am Sonntag Abend. Die Mitarbeitenden sind freundlich, hilfsbereit, zuvorkommend und äusserst dienstleistungsorientiert - wie wir uns das in Thailand gewohnt sind... Tolle Aktivitäten und Freizeitangebote wie Spa-Angebot, Yoga, Thai-Sprachkurse, Fitness-Raum, Thai-Kochkurse, etc. Tages-Ausflüge sollten unbedingt beim "bärtigen Thomas" ausserhalb des Hotels (3 Gehminuten entfernt) gebucht werden - sehr empfehlenswert, preiswerter und fernab von Massentourismus! Alles in allem können wir das KhaoLak Merlin Resort nur wärmstens empfehlen und würden jederzeit wieder dort weilen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ein Urlaub wie er sein soll

Posted Sep 12, 2011
Wir haben drei Wochen von Ende August bis Mitte September 2011 im KhaoLakMerlin Resort verbracht und es war unser bisher schoenster Thailand Urlaub. es hat einfach alles gepasst.