Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The staff was so friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early which was so good.I loved that they had some live entertainment every night, it was lots of fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Pleasant and quiet environment. Nice rooms.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Rooms are very comfortable. Staff friendly. Resort offers a variety of entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

FANTASTIC

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: most of all the location, quietness and peace that this location provides.
Location: food, activities, ft Amsterdam and do not forget the day trips right from the pier.
NO regrets! - best staff and property... and beach on the island - from someone who never leaves reviews.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

This resort has everything.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The better question would be.. what DIDN'T I like about the hotel?
Cons: wifi was a bit spotty. But not enough to ruin the trip.
This resort has everything. It's located on a peninsula, in which it doesn't share any of the land on it with other businesses or homes, so you feel secure that no undesirables or sketchy people come up to you and harass you. There's 24/7 security patrolling the area as well. The beach is beautiful. There's a trail on the tip of the peninsula that leads to a bird sanctuary, fort, and cliffs which makes for excellent hiking and star gazing. The snorkeling on the nearby rocks is amazing. There were so many hidden things to discover on this resort. For example, it really felt like I "discovered" the infinity pool, when we stumbled upon it. I couldn't say enough good things about this place. It really feels like a gated community. I will come back here again.
5 out of 5
by SINISA

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel , would stay there again. Bar staff is not really friendly .Also staff at the water sports are intrusive .Overall I would come back . Restaurant staff needs to smile more. No wifi gym is not clean and needs to be updated . Location is great and beach is perfect .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful but staff doesn't go out of its way

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful views. Reimundo the waiter & Juan the bartender are terrific. I'd recommend the hotel but with a disclaimer to not expect much from staff.
Cons: Cust. service sorely lacking. Front desk usually has 1 person so even with 1 person ahead of you in line, you end up waiting up to 10 minutes at times
Location: Nice location. GREAT restaurants (Mark's Place, Chesterfield's,& Karakters-Maho Beach). Friar's Bay is a beautiful beach 25 mins away on French side
Before booking w/Expedia I called the hotel about the room setup. I was about to book a "studio suite, 1 king bed" room which was more expensive than a regular room. I wanted a separate room w/ a door for privacy since our kids came. Called Divi & was told by Patsy that this studio suite did have a separate bedroom w/ a door & the living room area has a sofabed for the kids. Given this information I went ahead & booked it. When we got to Divi we found one open room w/ a king bed & sofabed right next each other, no sep bedroom. Had I known this I would've booked a standard room & saved myself over $300 on the package. Called the front desk explaining the situation. I asked that they accommodate us to an upgraded room - the kind that I had expected in the first place. They said they could not upgrade me due to no availability. When I asked for a monetary or resort credit, they also declined. Btw, this exact same thing happened to another family that was there during our stay. Later, when we got back from the trip my wife realized she had left her phone charger. Called the hotel to ask about it & was told by Patsy that she would look into it, but that I should call back. So after staying there one week I had to call YOU back? She reluctantly took my # after I insisted she call me back. It's been 5 days & she has not called. The resort is BEAUTIFUL but DON'T expect staff to go out of their way to help. They aren't rude but they answer the question & keep it moving. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
by Taylor

Its just OK. Not great.

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
The Front Desk staff is AWFUL!!! Rude, just try to sell you a timeshare and when you're not interested, their interest in you disappears. Whatever you do don't leave your beach towel anywhere or you'll get scolded! The only reason I am not giving it a horrible rating was because the bar staff was great and super friendly! Sheldon at gizmos is great! Food is mediocre. Beach is beautiful though! Beds were ok, not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, MA

Nice hotel close to the beach. Pool was also nice.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Beach, pool and restaurants were a short walk from our room. Philipsburg was close for shopping.
Cons: A guide to nearby restaurants; name, type of food, rating, price would have been helpfull.
Location: We did some food shopping nearby, went to the casino, and shopped in Philipsburg.
The only problem I encountered was the entrance / exit to the hotel from the road; a little tricky. You can only go right when exiting the hotel lot. When returning you can only enter from one direction. If you are going the wrong way you need to go past the hotel and turn around before entering. I found all Staff members to be pleasant and helpful. The food served on site was good and reasonably priced. The mini fridge was a little small. We did some local food shopping but choices were limited due to the size of the fridge. Next time we may try the room with kitchen option. Overall, an enjoyable week.
3 out of 5
by Sindy

Good location, misleading service staff

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was great in terms of location - its on a beautiful beach and with a number of restaurants on site and water sport activities available, there are many things to do and see. What disappointed us was that the they were very pushy when it came to trying to get us to attend the time share presentation and gave us false information about a day trip to Anguilla which led to us spending quite more than we wanted to ( we signed up for a tour that the lady indicated was the only one available) and we didn't get the services that she said was included in the package. If you're interested in going to Anguilla or any type of tour, visit the Tours and Activities Center - she is the best - gives you all the options and is honest and friendly. Unfortunately, we only found this out after we purchased from the lady at the front desk and felt like we were ripped off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from city of falls church, va

Best of st. martin

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: hot tub in room, balcony with table, toilet flushes well, clean, wide open, variety, view, best of all worlds
Cons: service as 3000 previous reviews have stated but who really cares, you are in the carribean, and you have to tip!
Location: one word, everything. snorkeling, eat lobster on penal island, go to st. barts and see no stars, watch sunset from our infinity pool, make friends!
so much info., when you go to st. martin, french side or dutch side?, which hotel, mixed reviews on everything. Just go to divi. I agree with other reviews, this is not a 5 star american resort, if you want that knock yourself out at the Ritz somewhere else. Staff is a little shaky, places don't open on time, have to wait a little etc. hey it's the carribean! stay in the states if you want fake customer service all over the place. Now the good: excellent snorkeling, excellent view, met great friends who were visiting and staff, probably lifelong friends. If you are down to 2-3 resorts in st. martin, pick this one. The french side is nice for food, but the people I felt really did not like us, and were a little rude. Divi is on dutch side, they are cool. As to all inclusive, get it if you plan on drinking and eating all day and not leaving resort much. We just could never get to the point of meeting the quota for all inclusive. But you are treated no differently whether you pay as you go or are all inclusive. Tip people! Maids, front desk, bartenders, waiters. Guarantee you a special time. Also, there is a fun dock to jump off of, and a great snorkeling area nearby. Just bring some cash and a credit card and you can see sunken ships, helicopters etc. Enjoy, we will be back