Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northants

Good hotel but not the best location

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Clean, spacious, well equipped rooms; a good breakfast and helpful staff.
Cons: Better soundproofing in rooms, the wooden floors mean you can hear anything that gets dropped or moved. Also beverage facilities are needed
Location: Area is residential with a few shops and cafes. Seems generally safe and not noisy. Need to go to the city centre for nightlife and bigger restaurants
Overall a good, clean and well run hotel with very good breakfasts and clean we equipped rooms. All the staff I encountered were pleasant and polite and spoke English. The location is not the greatest and care needs to be taken as the pavements are dog fouled. It is not the easiest hotel to find from the local metro station at first. There are a few local eateries and bars and a few decorative houses but it's not the prettiest area of Porto. The metro is about 7 mins walk away and the city centre about 25. There is nothing really bad about this hotel but nothing great either
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Great hotel in good position, appreciated the glass of port with our cupa of tea that came complimentary. Margaret & Trevor Lyall & Dick & Chris Joyce from NZ
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Conveniently located inexpensive hotel.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: The insulation of the rooms.
Location: Very near the center, and easy walk.
The hotel is clean and well furnished, and the breakfast is OK. The main problem is that the walls seem to be made of paper. One can hear neighbors' TV and their conversations. This hotel is not for the noise-sensitive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave n Jane from England

Nice clean hotel, not too central

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Clean, quiet, v good value
Cons: Staff need to be a little more welcoming, although they were polite.
Location: All the attractions are in town - decent supermarket was only about 10 yards away.
As all Tryp hotels are, things were clean and rooms are nice. Staff were fairly indifferent but perhaps this is merely a cultural thing. It is a fair walk into town but we actually liked staying somewhere a little quieter and we also found we could eat out cheaply without getting ripped off on the tourist trail restaurants. We particularly liked the small restaurant Brasilfeira down the hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesley from uk

Brilliant city break

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Great location. Very helpful staff. Large comfy room. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traveler from Vancouver Island, Canada

Good hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Staff, location, breakfast, room
Cons: Speed of Internet in the room
Location: Near the underground, shops, and restaurants.
It was nice to be very near town center without all the noise. We arer close ro the underground. Great breakfast and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Good for 1 or 2 days stay

Posted Sep 30, 2009
Comfort and clean room. Good for short stay. Good for value. Close to shopping area, within 10~15mins walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Really impressive hotel facilities and staff

Posted Jan 17, 2008
Ideally situated just outside the main city centre but within easy walking distance of shops, attractions and the river...even if downhill going there and uphill coming back! Metro station within five minutes walk too. The hotel was totally functional as all Tryp Hotels are in my experience..clean, comfortable and well organised, staf extremely helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Erskine

Would go back on any return trip to porto

Posted Oct 7, 2007
Staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned every day and were very comfortable. breakfast was excellent. We would definitley recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Avoid staying in Porto

Posted Jun 15, 2007
The hotel room itself was nicely furnished and clean and in itself reasonable value. The problem is the location of the hotel. We were generally very disappointed with Porto, finding most of the inner part of the city shockingly dirty and run down and we both live in inner London so we are used to urban grime. This hotel is certainly in a grotty area and our room looked over a very busy road with a very unattractive water tower straight across from it. The walk into town was down very steep hills, past lots of neglected and, in some cases, totally abandoned buildings so we usually took a taxi home, which wasn't expensive but taxis weren't always easy to find.