Ratings based on 1,140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Hotel was clean. Don't think the bed sheets were always changed, but the room was cleaned daily. Had to request service for a broken toilet twice before someone came to fix it. Staff were very friendly. Can't necessarily say the same for other guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Great experience! Recommended to all the future visitors to Nuevo Vallarta.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston,TX

Large Hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: It was clean and the staff was nice and friendly.
Cons: My husband was upset about not being allowed in a restaurant because he had on a sleeveless shirt. I understand that you don't want people walking
Location: Location was great. There were souvenirs to buy along the beach.
We were there for 5 nights and 6 days. When we arrived, the staff welcomed us home. Our flight was late and my husband was unhappy with the room. They immediately switched rooms and my girls, ages 9 and 11, got the bunk beds they wanted. The room was nice and clean and the staff was very attentive whenever we needed anything. The restaurants were good. My favorite was the Chinese and the Mexican. We didn't make it to the Steakhouse or the Italian because of availability. We had lunch at the Steakhouse and the burgers were awesome. My only complaint was the outside. If you got up and no one was watching your food, the birds would swoop down and eat it. They were also flying over dropping little unwanted presents. A big turn off while you are eating. I got hit on the shoulder. No fault of the hotel, they can't control the birds. The entertainment was awesome and the Michael Jackson show is a MUST SEE! The pool and the beach area was nice and clean and the bars were great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Hotel agradable con excelente playa

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Extensa playa, con aguas tranquilas y fina arena. Se agradecería un poco de mayor coordinación en horarios de cena de especialidades y el de los shows nocturnos, pues llegan a empalmarse. Pueden mejorar la calidad de colchones y almohadas, pues son solo promedio. Por todo lo demás, sumamente agradables vacaciones.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The shows were excellent, food, service etc.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: that restaurants and beach are close to the rooms.
This is our third time visiting Riu Jalisco we will recommend it to everybody.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Ok

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Bar tenders.
Cons: communication, better information, different activities, not the same everyday.
Location: never left property.
Excited to get there! After ride in did not leave the resort, but felt safe. First night first floor room flooded during storm. Cleaned up by noon. Did not move bc wanted to be close to our girls room. The girls room air could not regulate, had a smell & safe broken. Favorite restaurant for atmosphere was steak house, go to first seating. They tell you do not need reservations but they do not tell you there are only two seating times. Have to figure out on your own. Italian restaurant very good. All others are buffet! Not clear by menus posted. Bar tenders & waiters were all excellent. Free Wi-Fi in common, limited to 2 devices per room. We had 2 cell phones & computer. Had to purchase Wi-Fi for a day to do school work. The nightly shows ok. Michael Jackson show & Prehispanic Dance performance were best. Missed the Circus show. Beaches were ok. We saw 1 sting ray, 1 sea turtle & a few hermit crabs on beach. Really strange not seeing fish, or anything alive in the water. The peddlers on the beach were great not aggressive. We loved the chips with seasoning & the fruit guys. Cook outs by the beach around 3 were good. We did not spend much time at the pool. My daughter had an after sun treatment at the spa, said was great. You will need to practice up on your Spanish. The vacationers were mainly from the area with a few Canadian & English. Glad we went, will not go back. Sticking to the Atlantic side. Suggest Greyline for transportation
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Todo muy bien menos...

Posted Jul 2, 2016
La decoración de la habitación no concuerda con lo demás parece lugares distintos. La mala calidad de colchón sabanas y almohadas hace que no descanses. Lo demás esta muy bien.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Posted Jun 23, 2016
The pool hours were TERRIBLE!!!! It is summer! Closing a pool at 8pm is ridiculous! Everything else was amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful hotel unsatisfactory service

Posted Jun 18, 2016
The hotel was beautiful and the view at the beach was breath taking. I believe there wasn't enough staff because it was very hard to get attended to. Breakfast was great, lunch and dinners were good at first but then became boring. It was almost impossible to get the reservation dinners. Also the rooms were nice and clean but you could hear everything going on next door and in the hallways. I feel we paid way too much for this unsatisfactory service. It was our two anniversary vacation and I would recommend this to families but not couples.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Location and amenities.
Cons: Although the buffets were very good, we got sick of having the same sorts of foods after a week.
Location: Right on the beach so we enjoyed jet skiing and boogie boarding. We saw many people parasailing which we would've loved to do!
My friend and I chose this hotel to celebrate her graduating from college. It was exactly what we had imagined and was perfect for everything we wanted to do. Some people on other reviews complained that the hotel was mainly locals, which is true, but we had no problem with it at all and actually found it to be very enjoyable. The only complaint we had about the hotel was the staff at breakfast. We found that many times were completely ignored and would have to approach the staff to get things like silverware or coffee. Every one else though, especially the staff at the front desk, were very helpful and accommodating.