Ratings based on 1,259 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boise

Excellent stay.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Excellent service, a lots palm tree,highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Would recommend you stay somewhere else.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The room was kept very clean. No complaints.
Cons: The cleanliness of the pool and beach area. Improve the quality of the food.
Location: Hotel is a $20-$40 cab ride to puerto Viarta it is fairly close to where you have to meet to go on adventures but not very convenient for other things
The hotel common areas are not very clean. The pool area and beach are grows. Cigarette butts and trash all over the place. A large part of the hotel staff I found to be very indifferent and not very helpful. The food was not very good. very crowded at the pool. Seem to be a locals resort. This is not the third time i stayed at a RIU resort and it was not experience i am used to having.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall pretty good

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel property is gorgeous, and the staff is absolutely amazing! However, there were some downsides. The food is subpar. There was a lot to choose from, but it was all pretty mediocre. There were four other restaurants besides the main buffet, but they were also buffets. The Asian food was really good, and I wish we would've eaten there more. Another downside I found was that the pool opened at nine am and closed at eight pm. The last downside there was, was the fact that there's only free wifi in the lobby, and you can only have two devices connected. Once the code is entered for two devices, you can't switch to a new device even when one is not on the wifi. I would definitely recommend this hotel because of the staff. They were all absolutely amazing, friendly, and helpful. The activities and shows that they put on are all really well done, and it seems as though they all really like their jobs which is nice. The property is gorgeous, and EVERYTHING was included which is even better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Nice hotel and staff

Posted May 31, 2017
The hotel was very clean and we received excellent service. Our only complaint was the hotel discounted rates for the local people. The pool was over crowded and to hot to cool off in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Pool was dirty, bed had bed bugs and I got food poisoning from the food and was extremely sick...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

All Inclusive Riviera Nayarit

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The beach.
Cons: The beds , pillows and the towels . The shower was horrible. The food and service was OK. Long walk to the beach, not good for handicapped people.
Location: Nothing to do . You need to paid $60.00 MXP for a taxi each way to get to the stores.
My experience was terrible from the moment I arrived to the end of my stay. My room was not ready we waited for 4 hours for check in. The room was not what I requested. I wanted to cancel but was too late. Too much food, too much alcohol, too much noise. Day and Night music, drunks. My room had bulk beds, and a full bar in the bathroom. No room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Week at the Riu!

Posted May 19, 2017
Cons: Clean the shower drains so they actually drain
Location: Walk to Bucerias from the hotel. Go to beach and head right 45 min walk to the Orange roof. Eat on the beach and buy local gifts to take home with you
Like all of you I read through months of reviews on here about experiences had at the Riu Jalisco. Being that everyone has different expectations you have to take these with a grain of salt. That being sad my 7 night stay May 6-13th was GREAT. Our group had 4 couples in our 30's and the highlight of our trip was the Entertainment staff. OSCAR and GIL both got to know us on our first day (remembered our names, or gave us nicknames) and engaged us throughout the whole week. They made us feel welcomed with all activities and got the other staff to get to know us as well. They are fundamentally the reason our week was so much fun. Yes food isn'tLIke all of you I read through months of reviews on here about experiences had at the Riu Jalisco. Being that everyone has different expectations you have to take these with a grain of salt. That being sad my 7 night stay May 6-13th was GREAT. Our group had 4 couples in our 30's and the highlight of our trip was the Entertainment staff. OSCAR and GIL both got to know us on our first day (remembered our names, or gave us nicknames) and engaged us throughout the whole week. They made us feel welcomed with all activities and got the other staff to get to know us as well. They are fundamentally the reason our week was so much fun. If you want to have a good time and relax for a week this is a great place to do it! I've stayed at the Riu Palace in Cancun and the Riu Jaliso and you cannot go wrong when you choose Riu!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

It was an okay experience

Posted May 12, 2017
We've stayed at RIU Cancun twice before and we've completely loved it. We were expecting a similar experience but we're let down. PROS The gardens are beautiful and the beach is very nice too. CONS It's a very family oriented hotel. There are A LOT of kids. The rooms are okay, no privacy from the room and the bathroom as there is no door between them. Shower was clogged on our first day there. Food was okay, nothing out of the ordinary. A la Carte restaurants (which are only two) still have buffet for appetizer and dessert. It's understaffed, for breakfast we found each other fighting for a table due to the fact that they don't have anyone to greet you at the door to direct you to a table. It takes them a very long time to get you drinks and pick up your plates My boyfriend forgot his key in the room and they refused to give us another one so we had to wait for ever for someone to go open the door for us. Lunch at the restaurant by the pool called La Botana was plain awful, it was cold and no taste at all. On our first day, we were told we had to park around the corner which was a 10 min walk. We thought it was ridiculous to have people walk for so long, until later we realized we could actually do Park right infront of the hotel. Overall, it was an okay experience, nothing like the one we've had at other RIU's. We ended up going out a lot just because we didn't really want to be at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted May 7, 2017
Hotel was decent and clean staff was ok for most part the food was bad and always the same drinks was also bad most bar tenders didn't know how to fix even simple drinks we ended up drinking beer since it didn't need any fixings While in the pool someone stole one of towel and the hotel made a big deal and try to charge me for it They spect me to baby sit some towels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice hotel right on ocean

Posted May 5, 2017
The hotel rooms and staff were great. The food could be better but it is what it is. The staff were great and made you feel very welcomed and answered any questions you had. Loved my stay and will be going back again. Rooms were nice and clean and they made sure to clean them everyday.