Ratings based on 1,253 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

All Inclusive Riviera Nayarit

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The beach.
Cons: The beds , pillows and the towels . The shower was horrible. The food and service was OK. Long walk to the beach, not good for handicapped people.
Location: Nothing to do . You need to paid $60.00 MXP for a taxi each way to get to the stores.
My experience was terrible from the moment I arrived to the end of my stay. My room was not ready we waited for 4 hours for check in. The room was not what I requested. I wanted to cancel but was too late. Too much food, too much alcohol, too much noise. Day and Night music, drunks. My room had bulk beds, and a full bar in the bathroom. No room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Week at the Riu!

Posted May 19, 2017
Cons: Clean the shower drains so they actually drain
Location: Walk to Bucerias from the hotel. Go to beach and head right 45 min walk to the Orange roof. Eat on the beach and buy local gifts to take home with you
Like all of you I read through months of reviews on here about experiences had at the Riu Jalisco. Being that everyone has different expectations you have to take these with a grain of salt. That being sad my 7 night stay May 6-13th was GREAT. Our group had 4 couples in our 30's and the highlight of our trip was the Entertainment staff. OSCAR and GIL both got to know us on our first day (remembered our names, or gave us nicknames) and engaged us throughout the whole week. They made us feel welcomed with all activities and got the other staff to get to know us as well. They are fundamentally the reason our week was so much fun. Yes food isn'tLIke all of you I read through months of reviews on here about experiences had at the Riu Jalisco. Being that everyone has different expectations you have to take these with a grain of salt. That being sad my 7 night stay May 6-13th was GREAT. Our group had 4 couples in our 30's and the highlight of our trip was the Entertainment staff. OSCAR and GIL both got to know us on our first day (remembered our names, or gave us nicknames) and engaged us throughout the whole week. They made us feel welcomed with all activities and got the other staff to get to know us as well. They are fundamentally the reason our week was so much fun. If you want to have a good time and relax for a week this is a great place to do it! I've stayed at the Riu Palace in Cancun and the Riu Jaliso and you cannot go wrong when you choose Riu!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

It was an okay experience

Posted May 12, 2017
We've stayed at RIU Cancun twice before and we've completely loved it. We were expecting a similar experience but we're let down. PROS The gardens are beautiful and the beach is very nice too. CONS It's a very family oriented hotel. There are A LOT of kids. The rooms are okay, no privacy from the room and the bathroom as there is no door between them. Shower was clogged on our first day there. Food was okay, nothing out of the ordinary. A la Carte restaurants (which are only two) still have buffet for appetizer and dessert. It's understaffed, for breakfast we found each other fighting for a table due to the fact that they don't have anyone to greet you at the door to direct you to a table. It takes them a very long time to get you drinks and pick up your plates My boyfriend forgot his key in the room and they refused to give us another one so we had to wait for ever for someone to go open the door for us. Lunch at the restaurant by the pool called La Botana was plain awful, it was cold and no taste at all. On our first day, we were told we had to park around the corner which was a 10 min walk. We thought it was ridiculous to have people walk for so long, until later we realized we could actually do Park right infront of the hotel. Overall, it was an okay experience, nothing like the one we've had at other RIU's. We ended up going out a lot just because we didn't really want to be at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted May 7, 2017
Hotel was decent and clean staff was ok for most part the food was bad and always the same drinks was also bad most bar tenders didn't know how to fix even simple drinks we ended up drinking beer since it didn't need any fixings While in the pool someone stole one of towel and the hotel made a big deal and try to charge me for it They spect me to baby sit some towels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice hotel right on ocean

Posted May 5, 2017
The hotel rooms and staff were great. The food could be better but it is what it is. The staff were great and made you feel very welcomed and answered any questions you had. Loved my stay and will be going back again. Rooms were nice and clean and they made sure to clean them everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheyenne wyoming

Riu Jalisco Vacation

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: great food and activities. Very Kid friendly.
Location: went to the caleta island and went swimming with the dolphins.
Amazing stay at Riu Jalisco resort. Great service and lots of fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Close to the beach, uncomfortable beds

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Access to the beach.
Cons: Nicer beds/bedding and better quality of room towels.
Hotel and grounds were kept well, but the beds were lumpy and uncomfortable, which for a king-sized bed was surprising. Bath towels and wash cloths were awful and scratchy, with no softness and they were hard on the face. Room walls are very thin and you can hear the noises of the room adjacent and also from the nightly entertainment on the grounds. Buffets are plentiful but food needs to be resupplied more often. There were many mornings where there were lines of people waiting for new food to be brought out, so selection was slim. Beach is close and chairs are nice. Many families with small children, so noisy and not too relaxing of an atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland or

Great beach and pool ..

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The food is okay. The staff is excellent going above and beyond to help. From charlie at the front desk to Jovany in food services we were reared with exceptional care. The hotel is ver clean, but needs some physical maintenance. The beds are hard.the drains are slow. The foundations was down for most of Our two week stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Vacation at the Riu

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: the food, the staff, the rooms
Cons: the children should have to stay in the childrens pool. the children spilled a few drinks and it was a little too much to handle with the splashing
Location: took a cab downtown which was only about 20 minutes, shopping, restaurants and night clubs were close by
I have stayed at 3 Rius prior and always had a great experience. Puerto Vallarta was beautiful, the staff was very friendly, the facility was always clean and the food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
I had a great time Hotel is nice and staff is really helpful and friendly.