Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice place to stay for couples

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: VIP access area, beaches, water sports on beach (kayaking, parasailing, etc), sanitation, cleanliness, in-room jet tub
Location: Surfing, Scape Park, Imagine Punta Cana (club in a cave... now that was awesome)
Nice beaches, VIP pool area was awesome and very relaxing; main pool was always crowded. I personally enjoyed the VIP access pool and highly recommend it. Then again, I was upgraded to VIP only because of how terrible our Garden View Deluxe room was. Upon walking into the room, a stench of mildew just overwhelmed both me and my boyfriend. We suspected there was something funky with the AC. Called front desk 3 times and each time they said the maintenance workers were on their way. Took over an hour for them to get here. After they so-called "fixed" the problem, they said the stench should go away after 15 minutes, and that if the unpleasant smell was still present, we should contact front desk. Not surprisingly, the stench remained, and one of the maids came in to spray lemon pledge on the walls to combat the issue.... The manager at the front desk was very understanding of the situation and upgraded us to a VIP room with access to the VIP pools. I will say, however, that the VIP buildings DO NOT HAVE ELEVATORS! We had to bring our luggages up three flights of stairs... Not a destination of choice for homosexual couples. My Spanish boyfriend was able to overhear homophobic comments (in Spanish) from the waiters and waitresses at the restaurant, and overall received a very negative vibe from the crew. Then again, I might just be overreacting or hypersensitive, right? I overestimated the grandeur of the resort from the photographs. The facilities are somewhat limited.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from São Paulo

Excelente para o hotel, com exceção à RECEPÇÃO.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Tudo ótimo.
Cons: O atendimento da recepção com pessoas que não queiram te enganar. Vários estavam sem o crachá de identificação, inclusive o golpista que nos recebeu.
Location: Tudo ótimo.
Só temos elogios para o hotel. É a segunda vez que ficamos hospedados nos Hotéis Riu. Lamentamos a tentativa frustrada de nos engar feita pelo funcionário da recepção (chegamos dia 16 de julho de 2016 por volta das 16:00 horas), que queria vender "por fora" um quarto de frente para a praia por mil e duzentos dólares. Ele, na maior cara de pau, chegou a nos dar a chave do quarto para visitação, esclarecendo que tudo deveria ser pago em dinheiro vivo. Os demais funcionários da recepção somente olhavam, mas compactuavam. Como não aceitamos (pois sabemos que todos os quartos são iguais e que o pagamento "por fora" foi uma tentativa de enganarmos) fomos vítimas de muitas "caras feias". Tirando este lamentável imprevisto, que por certo será corrigido, todo o resto foi perfeito.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL

Great hotel but not an ocean view.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great beach and grounds
Cons: More variety of food in the restaurants.
I was upgraded for free to an ocean view suite (5512). It was a beautiful room but there wasn't a good view of the ocean because of all the palm trees. The pool that was right next to our building was adults only which was a good thing because the main pool had a lot of kids. Two of the restaurants had the same menu so that means one less place to get variety for dinner. The rock and roll show was excellent because they played old rock songs and everyone sang along. The other entertainment at night was just ok but it was nice to have something to do at night. We tried the casino next door but it was small and only had a couple of people playing games. The disco was all the workers from the hotel and you had to buy drinks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chile

Genial

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Personal muy atento...muy grande.y.comodo. volveria de todas maneras
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy buenas vacaciones en el Riu Palace Bavaro

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Sus comodidades, y sobre todod el trato de su personal.
Cons: Los restaurants de la noche.
Location: No fui a los otros alrededores
Primera vez en este hotel, no asi en Punta Cana, hemos ido a otros hotels, este tiene la peculiaridad de tener un lobby con aire acondicionado lo cual es muy ventajoso pues en las noches despues del sol de la playa puedes estar fresco, mucho entretenimiento, todas las noches un show diferente lo cual te hace las noches mas placenteras, coincidimos con el grupo Los Tres de la Habana, lo cual fue muy bueno, el personal como siempre muy atentos y carinosos, esto es una caracteristica de los dominicanos, las habitaciones comodas, limpias, la comida del buffet muy sabrosa, no tanto la de los restaurants de la noche que hay que rerservar en la manana, para la cantidad de personas que van al hotel deberia haber mas optiones, pero de todas formas fue muy buena eleccion que repetiria con gusto.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kewaskum, WI

Didn't seem to matter

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The beach and pool
Cons: Making people feel more welcome and don't avoid an issue help the person asking for help!!!
When I save to travel I like to feel welcomed and appreciated, not the feeling I got at the Bavaro! When wanting to talk to someone about an issue our group had NO one could help us or the I don't speak English was used, you work the front desk of course you should speak English or get someone to help. You book an excursion that was horrible and for 3 days can't find the person you booked thru to talk to him about it! I'm still limping from the experiance! The work staff at the hotel were very pleasant and worked very hard, but again not that wow factor. Don'the get me wrong I had a great vacation because of the people I was with and we all agreed we'do never return to the Bavaro . If anyone wants to know about our excursion please feel free to call or email me
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More of a 3 Star Hotel but we still enjoyed.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Long story short, everything went well but there was a cockroach in our room. We noticed it gained access through the vents in the room. The room was not dirty, but still...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hialeah Garden

Excellent Hotel with a Beautiful Lobby

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The Lobby with A/C
Cons: I would like more restaurants available.
Location: The location are excellent because the different stores.
Every night this Hotel have different Shows with excellent dancers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: the beach but. all none motorised aminities we had to book 1-2 days in advance and they were not being use totally! had to pay $30 to sail first time
Cons: Cleaness and feshness of the room ........ in order to ventelate the room you have to leave key card in slot 24/7
Location: not mush to do very few shoping stores
Very nice facility (resort) but, when we got to the room it was a very mist smell you know like mildew was not very clean the frigerater diden't work also jacuzzi diden't work. We got out and we went to the front desk and complain! But diden't do any good,I ask to speak to the manager. He said most of the mini bar frigs. don't work, i ask what about the smell....we could not breed...he lift up is shouders and said all rooms smell like that, open varande door to circulate the air....well we went back to the room . was to hot to leave the door open so,I put the AC on and we left for 3 to 4 hous. When we came back, the smell was still there we had a very hard time to sleep for a few knites . we also had no blankets i had to leave a tip and ask for 2.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pros + Cons

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: The best thing about this particular resort is the spectacular beach, with many palm trees and lounge chairs. The water was great for swimming. Besides the beach, the resort consistently has hourly entertainment. The nightly shows on the weekend were excellent. Also, the poolside steakhouse 'Taino' was exquisite. They had marvelous steaks, and lobster. The employees were very friendly. If you get tired of the food in the hotel, there is some resorts you can walk to, and eat there, plus swim. We enjoyed walking to RIU Palace Punta Cana. It had two spacious pools, and was only a 15 minute walk along the beach to there. Another pro was that they provide free water activities, for example kayaking, and snorkeling. The coffee shop in the lobby was also amazing, the specialty coffees were a delight. Cons: The first con was that sometimes the room key doesn't work, so we had to go down to the lobby to get them to fix it. Another thing was that the fridge inside the hotel room does not work. The overall resort is very nice and modern but it would be better if there were more swimming pools.