Ratings based on 915 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, new, and well maintained.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
If you decide to pay extra for VIP privileges, you room could be in one of the building (out of 6) close to the beach. All staff extremely friendly, pools are clean, but the beach side needed to be cleaned more often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island ny

Nice hotel on the VIP side the other part to noisy

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Overall great vacation good food close to. Beach great room lot of comfort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice average hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Clean Pools!!
Cons: Dirty grout, tile. Needs updating. Cracks in plaster walls
Location: Went on the Boogie tour, where you drive a dune buggy around , visiting the beach, small cave you can swim in. Monkey tour was also good.
Came home after a nice dinner and show to find the our in house safe would not open. Front desk stated they could not do anything about it since the person with the key does not come in until 9 am. That would have been fine however we had a tour leaving at 730 am. So no money all day. Pictures take which we could not buy. Also the 1300 dollar credit is not what you think. You pay 165 for a 80 min massage which they take off 25 dollars. Overall dirty beach, with plenty of pushy venders.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very enjoyable !!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
First time in a Rui Hotel and in Dominican Republic.Transfer to Hotel arranged through Expedia went smoothly , staff were very kind and accommodating. Hotel appearance overall lovely, the grounds were very clean. Enjoyed both pool and easy access to beach which was breathing . My room with minor flaws, for example broken tissue dispenser and obvious water damage on walls . Room had a peculiar smell at times. Housekeeping responded fairly promptly. Experienced stomach discomfort / problems in less than 24 hours upon arrival and after consuming 3 meals from their buffet style dining. Trip despite the GI illness still went well. Great excursions , did a snorkeling / sting ray/ nurse shark / dolphin encounters which were lots of fun!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Staff is friendly. Cleanliness is lacking in rooms. Good food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall is okay.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The hotel seems old, but the beach is beautiful. Some staff are nice and some are not. The dolphin swimming photo is way too expensive. The local people are very nice and friendly. Food is okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Horrible - Roach infested

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Room was full of roaches. No access to food except during breakfast, lunch and dinner. No entertainment for teens outside of the water park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, New York

Not terrible, but wouldn't come back.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The room was not clean.. Arrived and there was a pile of shampoo on the shower floor. The bed was 2 full sized beds pushed up to eachother which was uncomfortable and would separate during the night. My girlfriend got bed bugs bites as well. The food was decent for the most part, except the breakfast and lunch buffets run out of any of the good food frequently. Restaurants for dinner were nice, all very fancy looking. Men are not required to wear pants, shorts are acceptable. Entertainment at night was pretty good. There is one pool for normal customers with only one bar which would get crowded with "partiers", so it would have been nice for another bar just for convenience. The beach was very nice, mix of sun and shade and you can usually find a lounge chair easily. Overall I was slightly disappointed, I had higher expectations because I stayed at a RIU in Mexico. I would rate it a 3 out of 5.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medellin, Colombia

Nice hotel with mediocre staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Overall, the hotel facilities are clean and the hotel food is delicious and abundant. Where the hotel needs improvement however is in the staff's hospitality. Some staff members seemed disgruntled and not willing to tend to the hotel guests' needs. It was difficult to get a waiter's attention at the restaurants and when we finally did, they were not interested in providing us with the food and drinks we asked for. It seemed like a burden to them to serve us and became an uncomfortable situation more than once. For an all inclusive experience, this was a detrimental part that we could not ignore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel good food but don't get ocean view non

Posted Jul 10, 2017
You pay for ocean view but there is none so don't get it waste of money