Ratings based on 981 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family spot! Close to beach. Food variety!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Everything was excellent. The only reason I didn't give it 5 is because of a fridge cabinet door broken in the room. I also noticed some roaches in my neighbor's room. The staff is eager to do whatever you ask for which is great!!! I'm very happy with the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Everything- The hotel is so modern- I kept forgetting that I wasn't in the US. So many pools, the beach is right there and clean (NO SEAWEEDS)
Cons: Nothing- the staff is so engaging and they do not ask for tips and seems not to be expecting it. The guests should tip MORE!
Location: horse back riding, dolphns, buggie car drining- the pics are not checp!
Honestly, some of the reviews on this hotel made me really nervous to book it. However, this hotel really wowed me. I cannot find one bad thing to say. Upon my arrival, (around, 2;00pm) I was hungry from a long commute and they allowed me to eat prior to checking in. Check-in was fast and easy and everyone was super friendly. The entire staff was friendly throughout my four days stay. The room was clean and mini bar stocked. The AC was on and I actually turned it off for my entire stay and requested a blanket. (i sleep with blanket year round) I did not experience any rudeness and unpleasantness. I was by myself (It was my birthday) but the staff was so welcoming and friendly that I didn't feel alone. The staff seems to genuinely willing to help and never got the feeling that they expected a tip. they never linger...I had to seek them out to tip. BTW, I did notice that a lot of the guests didn't even say thanks or tip the staff...not good. The food was way too much...plethora of restaurants to choose from, I ate at the Monte... the entire time. There was a wide variety...I didn't feel the need to visit the specialty ones...heard they are awesome though. Plenty of beach / pool chairs, even though I saw guest trying to secure early in the morning, really don't need to. The only tine i had to visit the front desk was to request a blanket; it was in my room before I got back (under 5 minutes) I also ask them to change $20 to small bills and they were happy to assist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New jersey

Great experience

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Overall great experience you can go in between hotels, there is a casino, and water park and shops. Food was good views and overall look of hotel was beautiful. I will be going back for sure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Not recommended.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The hotel is ok. Not more than that. The air conditioning didn't work half of the time. The food was the same every day. Most of the food wasn't fresh, didn't like the food at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice hotel, terrible food

Posted Sep 24, 2017
4 restaurantans and one buffet, only 2 of the restaurants and buffet was open, didn't even get to try the steakhouse. And the buffet was very disappointing. PS- the bed is rock hard. Not even the pleasant firm type but the type that will make your back hurt Very dissatisfied with RIU Palace, worst RIU experience yet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newyork ny

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Sucks , rooms is not clean nobody comes to the rooms service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York , N.Y

Great Stay

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Riu Palace Bavaro was an amazing experience . First off the staff was amazing and extremely helpful . Setting up excursions and informing us on local activities . The resort in itself is beautiful . The pool , the beach , the soft sand everything was what me and my wife expected . One let down was the buffet , the choices vary from seafood , pasta , burgers and hot dogs which is great but wasn’t as tasteful . They have restaraunts in the hotel and if I may recommend I will definitely say “ Steak House “ was the best place ! Still overall experience 5 out of 5 !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

nice hotel for resting and relaxing

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Food, ocean view.
Cons: The Air conditioner of the room 2076 didn't work.
Location: -
We loved our vacations un dominican republic, the RIU Palace Bavaro was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Great hotel with wonderful beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We were at the hotel during the Hurricane Irma, everyone was great with communication and made us feel comfortable! Food was good yet I wanted to see more authentic local food since the hotel is far away from capital city. The night shows were pleasant to enjoy after dinner. Activities were ok we were only interested in bingo which was just one game a day.. the beach is wonderful love love love love it, quiet lots of privacy and clean! We had some seaweed days but it is understandable due to the hurricane. Staff was great!!!! Anthony at the check in, Josephine at housekeeping, Antonio at the pool bar so so so nice! Beware to know some Spanish before you go, they speak very little English. We only wished that there was a separate pool for the regular stays separate from pool bar. There is some kind of separation but it is little right next to the large pool there was so many kids still at the bar area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel close to beautiful beach!!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We stayed at the Riu palace Bavero for 6 days. Everything about the resort was great! Friendly staff, great entertainment , very cleans resort beautiful beach my family and I had a great time!! Thank you!