Ratings based on 973 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Not recommended.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The hotel is ok. Not more than that. The air conditioning didn't work half of the time. The food was the same every day. Most of the food wasn't fresh, didn't like the food at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newyork ny

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Sucks , rooms is not clean nobody comes to the rooms service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York , N.Y

Great Stay

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Riu Palace Bavaro was an amazing experience . First off the staff was amazing and extremely helpful . Setting up excursions and informing us on local activities . The resort in itself is beautiful . The pool , the beach , the soft sand everything was what me and my wife expected . One let down was the buffet , the choices vary from seafood , pasta , burgers and hot dogs which is great but wasn’t as tasteful . They have restaraunts in the hotel and if I may recommend I will definitely say “ Steak House “ was the best place ! Still overall experience 5 out of 5 !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

nice hotel for resting and relaxing

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Food, ocean view.
Cons: The Air conditioner of the room 2076 didn't work.
Location: -
We loved our vacations un dominican republic, the RIU Palace Bavaro was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Great hotel with wonderful beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We were at the hotel during the Hurricane Irma, everyone was great with communication and made us feel comfortable! Food was good yet I wanted to see more authentic local food since the hotel is far away from capital city. The night shows were pleasant to enjoy after dinner. Activities were ok we were only interested in bingo which was just one game a day.. the beach is wonderful love love love love it, quiet lots of privacy and clean! We had some seaweed days but it is understandable due to the hurricane. Staff was great!!!! Anthony at the check in, Josephine at housekeeping, Antonio at the pool bar so so so nice! Beware to know some Spanish before you go, they speak very little English. We only wished that there was a separate pool for the regular stays separate from pool bar. There is some kind of separation but it is little right next to the large pool there was so many kids still at the bar area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel close to beautiful beach!!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We stayed at the Riu palace Bavero for 6 days. Everything about the resort was great! Friendly staff, great entertainment , very cleans resort beautiful beach my family and I had a great time!! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: pretty much everything.
great food, nice facility, room is clean, and comfortable. all staff are nice and work hard, try to help you. great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Perfect Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
great stay , the pool, the food, the room is great is the second stay in this hotel, I liked too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I completely loved my stay. Everything was amazing the staff was awesome and friendly. I will definitely be returning. Thank you so much Riu for an amazing time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

I will never go back

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Some of the staff was very friendly.
Cons: Many things including but not limited to cleanliness of your food areas. Better track of reservations.
Location: Many fun things to do around the hotel
We had a reservation for two double beds and when we got to the hotel, they told us that it was not two double beds but two tween beds and gave us a room with a king size and a coach for our daughter. Found a roach on one of the dessert plates and told the person attending and she removed the plates and told my daughter and I not to say anything as if we were not guests. They never replaced the treats. Told the manager. We had the door open on our last day because we were preparing to leave a few hours before the check out time and a maintenance person just walked right in while we were getting dressed to supposedly check the phone. We never reported an issue with the phones. Worst place we have stayed by far.