Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

Very nice beach and pools

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Food choices were very good.
Cons: Better communications with guests.
Location: Did not leave the resort, went to the casino, beach, pools. All good.
This hotel is not new, but maintenance seems fairly good. Staff was friendly. Our only complaint is that a building is being constructed 10 feet from the wing we were in. We did not realize the noise factor when we unpacked and left for dinner/exploring the first night. We returned to our room, tired and ready to sleep but behold, banging and clanking continued outside until at least 9:00. By daylight the next morning, more noise as workers appeared and began their day. If you go be sure to ask for a room in another wing! The check-in clerk nor the Expedia agent mentioned this! Need better communication.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

STAY AWAY - Food Sickness, Bed Bugs, +more!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The hotel hallways smelled like extremely strong chemicals. They offered to kill the bugs for us that were on our bed. See pictures. There were dozens
Cons: To improve this, RIU needs to immediately investigate the claims of customers and close this location (as it was set for in 2006) or fire staff.
Location: I would not go off of the compound. It is fairly secure, but the surrounding area is not pleasant. Don't stay here.
I took my wife here for our honeymoon. I have been to 15 countries and 40 states in the US and this is the absolute worst customer experience I have ever been a part of. I do not write reviews, but I want to save you from our honeymoon nightmare. Our food at Macao Palace got us sick for 6 days straight because it was not washed in filtered water. My wife vomited on the plane for 4 hours back home (in 7 years I have never seen her get sick). There were bugs in our bed for the first 3 rooms, when questioned, the staff literally said I was lying, can't make this up, & only after I demanded a 4th room could we get a room in a different building without bugs. Then the A/C didn't work for the first two days but we could not turn the fan on because there were bugs on the fan in that room. The attendants inappropriately looking at my wife every single time we walked into the dining hall. The room service took 1 hour and minimum of three calls for soggy chips and cold (wrong) food. They offer ONE beer despite stating there was a premium domestic and import liquor experience. Terrible liquor. Unknown wine. The "entertainment" attendants were in ill fitting super hero costumes, shouted into a sound system BLARING music, and interrupted my audio book multiple times to sign us up for paid experiences. The biggest reason you should not stay here is that when questioned RIU refused to claim responsibility and to credit in any way. STAY AWAY if you value your money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
The hotel is very close to the beach. You just walk out to the pool and ocean is as close as it can get. There are three pools each a little different. Two are very relaxing and the last is next to the swim up bar which is more hype and upbeat. The staff are super helpful and always around. The rooms are nice and clean. It was a great trip because of this hotel and its staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SC

Smallish adults only hotel on the beach

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The staff who were all very friendly and helpful and the dinner buffet
Cons: It needs a quiet outdoor bar for the evening, away from Bingo and dancing.
Location: location on the beach is super. We did not explore outside
This is our 4th visit. We always enjoy the staff, friendly and helpful who seem dedicated to helping you enjoy your stay. Big disappointment this year was that the theatre was under construction. The outdoor counterpart was not our cup of tea. The arrival reception was rushed. Big charter companies seem to get priority. Otherwise we had a good experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Riu Palace Macao - May 2017

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful endless beaches Neighboring resorts (same brand Riu and others beyond) Hospitality was good Bed was comfortable Pools and beach areas clean
Cons: Don't place people's room so close to construction. Have more shows that cater to all crowds. Have all restaurants open and available. More english.
Location: Plenty of stuff to do outside the resort. Sign up within the resort.
Pros and Cons: Nice beach, great hospitality, comfy bed, pools clean, bar areas clean. My particular room was strategically placed right in the middle of some construction going on on the property. Construction began at promptly 6:00 am every single morning. Even on the weekend. Room AC seemed humid and never really got cold. Very humid. Other couple we were with had a room where at AC was cold. They were not placed by the construction either. Room had a clogged shower drain and it filled with water. Called at midnight for a room change and no one ever called us back. So when the construction began the next morning, we got up and went to the front desk. The concierge sent a technician to our room immediately. Fixed the problem by removing a huge stinky mass of hair and whatever else slipped down the drain and it never happened again. Room didn't have a clean feel to it due to the humidity; smelled of mold and old moisture. Found a random weird hair on the thermostat. Dinner restaraunts were limited. Hibachi restaraunt was closed the entire time, so there was only a choice of steak/lobster spot or the Italian spot to eat. (Besides the dinner buffet) This particular resort was geared toward more older retired or senior citizen people. (Our group was 45) Entertainment was there but like I said, more for an older set of people. Such as bingo, and a violinist..etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
You do not have access to eat at the other Riu resorts as was advertised. The beds were really hard, food was not very good and 1 of the restaurants was closed leaving few options and my plug in next to my bed didn't work. I'm not a big drinker but the drinkers seemed watered down and lacked flavor. Also the $1300 hotel credit was less of a credit and more like coupons to save a small amount on services totaling $1300...very misleading. The staff was kind and courteous but not as accomodomating and friendly as the staff at the Hard Rock are we spent our first 5 days. I have heard great reviews about Rius other resorts (Cancun, etc) from friends but the DR location I would not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Wish I stayed somewhere else.

Posted May 2, 2017
The staff was wonderful and lots of staff always cleaning and bringing drinks. But we were stuck for 2 days in a room with construction starting at 7am really loud and goes into the night. Seems most people were stuck in those rooms for 2 or more days. There wasn't any good entertainment on the resort. They had some, but nothing exciting. The tvs in both rooms were very fuzzy and only 5 channels in English and when a stormed rolled through, no English channels worked only the spanish. You would think no TV would not be a issue, but when not much to do at night or its raining, it's nice to have, or if your like me and need it to sleep. The 2 positives I can say about the resort was the great staff and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great staff and beach area.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice pools that were not crowded and a great beach area.
Cons: We had a non-smoking room but many smokers in rooms above and next to us. Could not smell smoke in the room ro common areas; just on the deck.
Location: An OK Casino, couple of cute shops and a fun water park. Excursions were great, spa on a boat.
I turned 50 and went with a follow turning 50 friend. We had looked for an all inclusive on the beach, strong rating for staff and for adults with a mixture of friends, family and couples. We fit in great. The staff was FABULOUS, foord was pretty good with the steak house the best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wrong Room

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The first night we did not receive the room we requested and paid for. We had confirmation of a room with a king size bed and once we complained we were told they did not have any rooms available and would have to wait to unpack and they would move us the next day. they did but it left a bad taste in our mouth. Bad first impression.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OHIO

Casino scam.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Hotel itself was not terrible. Beach/pool area was the best part. None of the workers speak English so don't even bother asking a question. Bar service was good, room service was limited. We ordered beer one night and was told room service couldn't bring it up, when we supposedly had 24 hour room service... so we had to wait till the next morning for the mini fridge to be restocked. Fake made up roulette game in casino with two American con artists running table. We had a couple Dominican workers who specifically told us not to play that game anymore because it was a scam and they had it set to where no one ever wins. Casino took our credit card and debit cards numbers and copied them and our license and the very next day we received a call from the card company saying someone tried to use it that day for $700. We spoke to front desk about what happened they told us they had no control or involvement with the casino... which the RIU advertises for it and it's called the RIU dynamite casino. So basically everyone covers each other. We tried to get names of the employees in the casino, all of which gave us fake names, we called to file a complaint with RIU, asking for manager or higher ups and man told us he had no numbers we had to submit an email, looking online at the hundreds of people who had this same problem, nothing was ever done about it. RIU is still letting fraud happen right under their nose. Various things in our room would not work doors, plugs,TV, toilet etc.