Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

25 year Anniversary and NO KIDS ALLOWED

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Swim out Room is a must
Cons: Door problems the whole time we were there.Had to place the door handle. Still had troubles after they fixed it. Refuse to use door and maid service.
Location: * catamaran Isla Saona excursion *Nicole ( free pick up) cigars,jewelry,Rum *Palma Shopping Village (souvenirs) * extreme buggies * Hard Rock Casino
Swim-up room was the best. The waitress even walk by to take your order for drinks. You have 24 hour access to your pool, which was nice. Some evening late at night after dinner and drinks you can just take a dip in the pool The grounds were lovely, me and my husband didn't mind walking to where we needed to go..The resort is connected to 3 other Palladium resorts. Turquesa was at the end of the resorts. We fell in love with the pool next to the Lobby. We wish that we would have found it sooner. Little secret, right when you get to the front door of the lobby, to your left there is a pathway to the wonderful not so busy pool/bar. The beach was great, sometimes if you don.t get up earl you may have to wonder around to look for chairs. They do serve wonderful food on the beach, you just need to walk pass the adults only section on the beach and walk upward towards the bar. Next to the bar starting at 1:30 the chefs are cooking up some Good grub. Angel our Butler was Amazing. One night we came back to the hotel late and our key room did not work. We need to get $40 more dollars for our excursion. I found a butler from a different building to help us. Out of the goodness of her heart she gave me 40 dollars out of her purse so I can pay the people that were waiting on us.(I did pay her back) Everyone was kind and helpful. Over all we had the best time ever. What can I say, we were relaxed, laughing like teenagers, and had no worries. Salud!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Tammy, Firstly, The Royal Suites Turquesa Family would like to thank you for having chosen our resort and the time taken sharing your valuable review with future guests. It is a pleasure for us to know that we fulfilled your expectations and you had a wonderful vacation. I will forward to Ángel your kind words personally. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you back very soon. With best regards, The Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2016
The room was nice and big. We had problems with the remote control. They tried to fix the problem three times. However, it was repeating. They should check the room for this little problems and do not expect the guest to check for them and request help for switching the tv on and off. The electricity went off several times during our seven days stay. The expresso machine was not working. Upon our request, it was replaced with a functional one. The food quality was good enough but not exceptional. Drinks were good. The resort is well kept and the pool service is excellent. The furniture around the pool was old and in really bad conditions. Broken furniture was kept in there and I had to call the service man to have it removed. Again quality control was not adequate for a royal suites place! The hotel is good but is not well kept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2016 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Pippo, We would like to thank you for having chosen our Resort and for the time taken to share your experience through Expedia. Firstly, we would like to send you apologies for the issues you mentioned. We changed our TV system recently and unfortunately we are having small inconveniences during the first stage of the change. Thanks again for your feedback cause it is important for us in order to improve the quality of our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with this hotel and the food.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: The beach was part of the hotel and it was beautiful.
Cons: Get good chefs and train the staff with quality customer service skills.
Location: Nothing was worth to go.
The food was terrible. Serval staff were rude. Do not recommend my friends to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for the time taken providing us feedback of your recent stay. Our complex offers 8 À la Carte Restaurants, 5 Buffet and 2 Exclusive Restaurants for our Royal Suites Guests, We are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your Food Expectations. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you want to share with us more details about your stay. Kind regards, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice hotel, close to beach, not great food

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: The ocean view suite was very nice and the maid service came often throughout the day. Also the free wifi was a nice touch.
Cons: The food was pretty bad. Also at times it was very hard to communicate with the staff as many did not understand English very well.
Location: Location was fine. It's about a half hour to the airport. Not really safe to go out and explore on your own.
Overall this was a great place to be. Beach was perfect as long as you got there early enough to claim a spot (by 10 am) and the two main pools were very nice as well. When we got there we had our room upgraded to an ocean view suite for free which was amazing! This definitely contributed to our enjoyment because the swim up room that we should have had was very far back in the resort and not close to the beach or main pool. My only real complaint was that the food was not good and that you have to reserve all of your dinners way in advance. Basically you have to book all dinners the first night you are there and you will likely only get dinners around 9 or 10 pm because they are already sold out. This was inconvenient. The waitstaff was hit or miss as well. Some were very friendly and helpful and others only cared if they got a tip. Also wish that there had been more young couples as the crowd was generally older.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2015 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Firstly, we would like to thank you for having chosen our resort and the time taken providing us feedback of your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your Food expectations. We have forwarded your feedback to our F&B Manager. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2015
It was a great stay at this hotel. Staff is very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2015 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear shrimp daddy 28, We would like to thank you for choosing our resort and the time taken providing us feedback of your recent stay. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Adult only resort near the beach

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Hotel room was great---staff was great. food was disappointing, beach was full of seaweed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2015 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing us and providing us your feedback about your recent stay. We are sorry to know that we could not fulfill your food expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cape cod

close to ocean,

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: plenty of chairs on beach and towels
Cons: food,it was not very good.
Location: never left, did not feel safe going off.
clean, big, staff attentive that's all I want to say
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2015 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Turk, We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel and the time taken to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for not fulfilling your food expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us if you want to provide us further information about your experience during your stay. With kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Nice hotel, not a five star experience

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Check in was quick, the landscaping and beach were gorgeous. Some of the pool staff was very attentive.
Cons: I think they're trying, but details matter. If they are to be 5 star, they must pay attention to the details of the building, the rooms, the service.
We have traveled all over the world and we have stayed in some of the sketchiest places and some of the nicest hotels so we are not super picky about where we stay as long as we're prepared for the conditions and accommodations. Because of advertising and photos, we had very high expectations of the Royal Suites. We only wished it had lived up to the hype. Things in the buildings were in disrepair. Our A/C leaked, the tv didn't work, the tiles in the pool were missing all over, we lost power 3 times, the water shut off in the middle of my shower, light bulbs were burnt out, including the one that let us know when room service arrives. On our second day we asked to be moved to a newly remodeled building, and we were promised to be moved the next day only to have it take 4 days, in which they moved everyone from our building so they could begin remodeling it. Overall, it wasn't a horrible stay, but if you stay here and plan to enjoy it, you must lower your expectations to make it worth your while. I wish we would have. Oh, and learn some Spanish. Most of the staff doesn't speak English and they really appreciate the fact that you even attempt Spanish with them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2015 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, We really appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are sorry for not fulfilling your expectations. Please, accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had with the different issues you mentioned in your review. We hope to welcoming you again in order to change your perception of our resort. With kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, terrible experience

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Good Beach / pools
Cons: Food / accessibility to the resturants / general attitude
The Hotel is beautiful but is almost too big sharing all amenities among four seperate resorts making it difficult to get reservations closer than a few days out. The listings of the room was also deceptive, we booked the Royal Junior Deluxe Suite thinking this was a better room that the Royal Suite (we thought deluxe ment better, not the case). When we arrived we where put across the street away from the lobby and even further from the main pool and beach. They did allow us to move to a closer room (for a fee) and we had to wait till the next afternoon. Once in our room the A/C barely worked and the mini-fridge never did (even with multiple complaints about it no one assisted). The room did come with four bottle of alcohol that we could drink at our leisure but if the bottles where gone come check out we would be charged. This was not a problem until they switched our rooms and the people before us apparently took three of the four bottles. So not to be charged we advised the concierge (5 times) and they finally replaced the bottles the day before we left. The food was terrible, 3 out of the 4 of us where sick through the majority of the trip. We have been to the DR before and took the normal precautions so we could only assume it was the food. We where also constantly harrassed to buy something. We expected this from the local shops/excursion people but not from the hotel staff. From day 1 they kept trying to sell us a "VIP membership". We will never go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2015 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We really appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are sorry for not fulfilling your expectations. Please, accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had with the different issues you mentioned in your review. We hope to welcoming you again in order to change your perception of our resort. With kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Not what we figured.

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. Well kept up. The staff was very friendly
Cons: Quality of food. More communication when there are problems.
Location: We didn't go there to leave the resort to shop so we can't comment on anything off the grounds.
First off we have nothing but good things to say about the workers. They work their butts off every day. Our problems were with the resort. They are doing quite a bit of remodeling and maybe it would be better after that's done. We didn't encounter any one MAJOR problem but everything added up made it bad. First we had no tv for about 3 days, like I said not a big deal until night time when you are in your room. Next we had 8 hours of NO water in our room, that meant no toilets nothing. We had to constantly ask for our fridge to be re stocked with water and soft drinks. Our butler was taken away from our building while we still had 2 days left to go. We had a swim up room (which I would recommend) BUT the filter system quit working after the first or second day and it just kept getting dirtier. Also they drained our pool on our next to last day. food wise we were disappointed, the food was unexceptional. Nothing like a cruise where the food is tremendous. In spite of all these mishaps we had fun, had great weather and met some nice people. Would we stay here again, probably not. Would either try another resort or even try an entirely different Carribean island. Also,would like to see the antiquated dinner dress up rule done away with. I don't wear long pants at home (even in winter) I sure didn't enjoy having to wear them just to eat dinner. Make sure to take any antacids or other OTC meds because their prices are outrageous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2015 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for having chosen our hotel and providing us your feedback of your recent stay. Accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had with the TV signal and water cutoff. We are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your food expectatios. We have recently changed our DressCode at our À la Carte Restaurants. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards,