Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Nice hotel. Room was comfortable. Butler listens to your request. Cleaning staff was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shuntay, Thank you very much by sharing a positive review regarding in The Royal Suites Turquesa, it pleased us greatly that it has been a memorable one. With best regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent Vacation!!!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: I loved Evertyhing!!!
I had a great time my butler Arcenio Morla was the best. This was the best vacation I had. The staff was friendly. the service was superb. I had reserved a junior suite swim up. I was upgraded to a cabana room with swim up. champagne was flowing daily. It was my husbands birthday. We were treated like true royalty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traci, Thank you very much for your opinion about us,we are working very hard to keep and improve our standart and is a pleasure to read that we reach the expectation with you. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Resort on the beach

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: amenities and staff
Cons: inconveniences in the hotel rooms. TV's and remotes that dont work. Air conditioning that doesnt work properly.
Location: awesome location. all amenities to keep you busy. Nothing outside the resort except excursions for the traveler.
Beautiful Resort with many amenities, inc shopping, restaurants, pools,beautiful beach,numerous bars and availability to excursions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bonnie, Thank you very much by sharing a positive review regarding in The Royal Suites Turquesa, it pleased us greatly that it has been a memorable one. In the same way, we will take note the negative points to improve them. With best regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Amazing Stay!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The grounds were immaculate, the rooms were well cleaned everyday and the beach is right there. The staff is friendly and always helpful.
Cons: Just a couple of things: More things to do for the adults only resort. Some nightlife would be great. Food choices were good, but some places lacking.
First off, let me say that my trip was awesome. The room, which was a swim-up, was incredible. The butlers for room 5501 were beyond exceptional. They were accommodating in every way. They assisted us with everything that we asked for or about. The grounds were vast and immaculate. There was some construction going on, but that did not take away from the appeal. The only real complaint I have is the fan in the bathroom was not working. We asked for it to be fixed all week and it never was. They did compensate for that though at the end of the week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marissa, We greatly appreciate your comments about our services and facilities. With best regards, L.Tajes Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The beach was close by and the room is very nice .
Cons: The adult only section is shared with the family ones so your not truly adult only . Restaurants service was not good . not a lot of nightlife .
Location: Not much to do except excursions
They have some great people at check in and working around the area . The rooms are great vey nice .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jamaal, Thank you very much for your comments. It is a pleasure to know that you have had a good experience in our complex. Best regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Had a ball!!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The Staff. Santo, Melky, and Edison were the staff members that I turned to the most and they were incredibly friendly and more than helpful!
Cons: I only had issues with the cable service going out a couple of times, but it was probably the best in the area. I'm probably nit picking here.
Location: I loved the location and the beach. The excursions we went on were the best! Local off the resort were very welcoming and friendly.
My stay was absolutely awesome! The only thing I can complain about is the cable service messed up a couple of times and I had to have the resort staff take a look at it. Otherwise, my trip was beyond expectations! Very nice pool areas and I was in one of the beachfront buildings so I was literally right next to the beach. The activities and excursions offered by the resort were great as well. We happened to do the ATV and Zip lining excursions. The nightlife was pretty good as well. We went to the disco on the resort as well as a couple of clubs outside of the resort and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Absolutely going again! Santo, Melky, and Edison were the staff members that I turned to the most and they were incredibly friendly and more than helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you very much by sharing a positive review regarding in The Royal Suites Turquesa, it pleased us greatly that it has been a memorable one. With best regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island New York

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Beautiful. Well kept grounds. Great pools and service.
Cons: The other reservation restaurants, Be careful of shops outside resort. Scam artists and they are too aggressive. Make sure you put your foot down.
Location: Due to weather fishing trip was canceled, still have not received my refund as of yet. Club Oro in hard rock café , great place to let loose
Concierge service Extremely helpful. Stick to The Gourmet restaurant or buffet restaurant. Other restaurants like the Spain Steakhouse was a 3 at best. Japanese restaurant was a 1. Would not recommend at all. Otherwise it was great eating the Gourmet and Buffet style restaurant,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Raffaele, Thank you very much by sharing a positive review regarding our Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, it pleased us greatly that it has been a memorable one. We are so glad that you have felt accommodated by the excellent performance done by our team. We hope to have the opportunity to offer you our services again in the future. Best Regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quincy

swim out pool made the trip

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: staff
Cons: needs updating
had butler but for some reason we walked with our luggage to our first room,had a problem with first room. notified butler, told us to pack everything and we moved everything to our second room. No champagne and no wine in our second room,the shelves were dirty and dusty,called butler again to try to remedy. Nightly turn down service is a hit or miss.Beach and pool towels were scarce. had private beach and majority of the seats all had towels on them being reserved. Dining tables linens were not replaced every seating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you very much for your comments, we will work hard to improve our services. Best Regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Casi siempre faltaron toallas de playa pero bien

Posted Sep 18, 2016
El restaurante muy agradable pero muy repetitivo el menu
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Apreciado cliente, Agradecemos mucho su valioso tiempo en compartir sus buenas experiencias con el resto de los viajeros. Del mismo modo, tomamos nota de sus comentarios para seguir mejorando nuestros servicios. Un saludo, L.Tajes Director Residente
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Five Star Hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: The swim up room.
Cons: Food must be improved, it is horrible. It would be nice to have some local cuisine. More entertainment. Daily events schedule to each room.
Location: Excursions available, otherwise to go off property you need a taxi.
We did not enjoy staying at this resort. The food was horrible everywhere, we even got sick (the sodas are off brand). Having four resorts on the same property was not a good idea, it's even more bothersome if you wanted an adult only vacation (which we paid for) because only one restaurant is located on the Royal Suites and it's only open for dinner. You have to go to the other hotels, which can be anywhere from a 5 to 20 minutes walk, to use the other restaurants where kids are allowed. Our ceiling leaked the whole week were there. Someone stopped by to fix it on our first day but he said it was just the condensation from the AC and I guess that makes it okay to leak all over the floor. Room service is just horrible and takes 45 minutes, don't even bother! They menu is very limited and they will mess up your order. They cover the food with cling wrap which makes items such as french fries soggy. And did I mention it takes 45 minutes! The beds are as hard as rock. Some of the bartenders need a lot more training, especially the guy at the Royal Suites lobby pool. Staff expects a tip for every single thing which can be so bothersome as most times we leave our room without any change. Hotel concierge asked my husband to make a review and after taking him to the tripadvisor website she selected five stars for him, he went back and to change it and the concierge told him not to make it too low or she would get in trouble. I guess this is how they got so many high ratings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Dear guest, We thank you for your feedback about your stay, we are sorry that you could not experience our best service and maybe you did not receive the services you were waiting for. We take note about all these points and we will do our best to improve them. Thanks again for visit Grand Palladium and would be nice if you give us another chance and come again. With best regards, L.Tajes Resident Manager