Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great food and wine at dinner, excellent breakfast

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: The excellent food and good choice of wines. Excellent and courteous service.
Location: Easy access to the Puy
Great stay, good service. It came up to expectations. It was a pity it was only one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Manga

Wonderful Spa

Posted Nov 4, 2015
The only thing that let the hotel down was dinner on our first night. The food was excellent and the service to start excellent. We were then left sitting with empty desert plates for 20 minutes waiting to sign for our meal. The wait was due to the waiter chatting to his friend and showing each other photos on their phones. Not what you expect in a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
by John from Saint Germain en Laye

Excellent hotel and spa to relax in first class

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with clean first class bedroom and bathroom. Hotel amenities, although untried but seen, are first class.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stop off hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
A nice room. Pre booked parking for 15 euros. Not overly helpful staff. Extremely disappointed to be told that the adjacent Spa was closed all week. Reading the hotel website it read as if the spa was part of the hotel complex. It isn't. It would have been helpful to have been informed there was no swimming pool etc before we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Very nice hotel; good location.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Nice amenities. Location is slightly outside the city, so less traffic hassle.
Cons: Bedclothes = bottom sheet plus down comforter. Same situation in each hotel (4) we stayed in; so typical, but would be nice to have a top sheet.
Location: Good location in "volcanoes" area of Massif Central. Take the electric train to top of Puy-de-Dome.
The hotel is a short drive from the Puy-de Dome and the "volcanoes" area, where we had spent the day. The staff was very welcoming and informative. We arrived after 6 pm, and the hotel restaurant was fully booked (I think there was a large party there); but the woman at reception (who was very pleasant and spoke excellent English) offered to make reservations for us at another restaurant. We decided instead to just go across the street to the local bistro, where we had a fine meal--nothing fancy or memorable, but just what we needed at the end of our day. We returned there for coffee/pastries the following morning; very convenient. Like most European hotels, the rooms are small; but given that fact, the room was lovely. Also note that the "toilette" is in a separate room from the tub/shower and sinks--also fairly typical. We didn't have time to use the spa, but fluffy robes and slippers were provided. Towels in the bathroom were also high quality. Parking: We had anticipated paying about 15 euros to park the car overnight with the hotel. But we parked in the public lot out front to register, and we found we could just leave the car there, put in the number of euros we'd need for the start of the next day's fees (we arrived after 6 pm, so free parking overnight) and the meter would "go on again" at 9 am. We put in 3 euros, which would have taken us 'til noon, 'though we left by 11 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Excellent overnight accomodation

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The qualty of the furnishing's in the room
Cons: Parking
Location: no idea, it was booked as an overnight stop, we didn't venture out of the hotel until we left to resume our journey the following day
Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and luxurious. Our stay was only for a single night, as we used this stop to break our journey from the south of France back to the tunnel. the room more than ticked all the boxes. We took our evening meal in the Hotels Panaromatique restaurant, which was also excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch Dorset

Excellent hotel close to Puy-de Dome

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Everything worked well
Cons: Pillows were a bit lumpy and the breakfast was a bit expensive
Location: Puy de Dome was a great place to visit in the evening, there are the thermal baths nearby but we didn't visit those
We stayed one night in order to visit Puy de Dome (by car). The hotel was excellent, we booked a standard double but we were given an upgrade to a privilege (I don't know the difference). The room was not huge but there was a large bathroom with 2 wash basins (and a separate toilet). The room had a fridge, kettle and the teas and coffees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for one night. Comprehensive spa facilities available to hotel guests. Our evening meal was excellent and there was a large choice for breakfast. Staff were very attentive and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury, Canada

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Wonderful experience. Hope to go back. I am a travel agent and this was true a 5 star experience. Free access to thermal spa. Gorgeous Hotel. Helpful staff. Very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

One of the finest hotels in France

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels
Friendly staff, beautifully decorated rooms, 5+star feel, and one of the best hotel breakfasts you can find. Will undoubtedly be using it again....