Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Beautiful old rustic hotel near amazing beaches. Really nice staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A brilliant, superb hotel and the food was amazing

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Beach nearby with watersports such as scuba diving.
My wife and I had a wonderful time here at the hotel. The pool is quite possibly the best we've swam in. The beach is a stone's throw away from the hotel and easy to get to. We hired a car so it made getting places very easy. The food was very very good and the breakfast was very tasty. We look forward to coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Hotel 11 Monastero

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The whole atmosphere and the way it is laid out.
Cons: A regularly updated menu. A longer stay would make it less desirable to eat there.
Location: Very remote and a car is necessary. Not a lot to do.
A beautiful hotel in a lovely location. Very helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Peaceful old hotel 10 minutes from beach.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The staff were lovely. It was quiet and peaceful.
Cons: Hotel is dark inside & old-fashioned. Air conditioning poor. The choice of half-board food was poor. Swimming pool dirty. Poor internet connectivity.
Location: Nearest shop- 5 minutes walk. Nearest beach-10 minutes walk -lovely. Horse-riding opposite (no riding hats). Boat trips pick up at hotel. Bus nearby.
I spent a week here with my 12 year old daughter in August 2104. The hotel has seen better days and needs some serious money spending on it, although it has its own charm. It is isolated from the rest of Geremeas, so it is quiet, which we enjoyed. The other guests were mostly Italian. The atmosphere was peaceful. The hotel staff were pleasant, friendly, helpful and polite. The breakfasts were nice, although there were no savoury items included without paying extra. The lunches and dinners were mediocre. You really need a car if you are here for more than a few days, although we managed by using the bus, which is about 5 minutes walk away. The nearby beach, which is about 10 minutes walk away, is lovely. The sea is clear and warm, but probably unsuitable for weak swimmers and young children, as it gets quite deep quickly and is quite wavy at times. We are both keen swimmers, so we loved it. There are some lovely fish in the sea. We enjoyed the horse-riding and the boat trip and playing table tennis and crazy golf. Not a bad hotel, but I would not return there, although I would definitely recommend the area in which it is situated, which is very beautiful. The climate is lovely- warm, but not unbearably hot. Not a hotel for business travellers or those who like lively resorts.
5 out of 5
by Can from Leeds

Excellent. Could not recommend this hotel more.

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for only one night as we were driving around Sardinia, staying at different hotels each night. I was not expecting too much given the quite low cost but this turned out to be my favourite hotel by far. We arrived at 8pm and noticed that between 6 and 8 you can use the sauna and Turkish spa for free if you have booked it. Since we had missed this I thought we would be a bit cheeky and ask whether it would be possible to use if the following day after we had checked out given that we were staying local. We were told that this was not a problem, and we should in fact just relax and keep our room all day for no extra cost. We spent a lovely day by the pool and visiting the local beaches before returning for the sauna. The hotel is of a very high standard in terms of facilities and decor and did feel like a treat which was not expected given that it was perhaps the cheapest we had stayed in during our trip. The food in the restaurant was very nice and whilst it was not particularly cheap is was reasonable as the portions were big. There is not much directly around the hotel however the location is still good if you have a car as it is less than a five minute drive to the local beach and it was about half an hour to Costa Rei which was beautiful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and it is just a shame that we had only booked for one night.
2 out of 5
by anonymous

Nice hotel but nothing special.

Posted May 27, 2014
It was Nice to spend 3 days doing nothing. The beach is 5-10min walk. You need a car to do things otherwise it´s far from everything. Breakfast is very limited and quite average. Rooms are a bit noisy. And ceiling was leaking a bit. Pool beds are uncomfortable. Pool is ok. Rooms are clean. Small shower but ok. Lunch and dinner is nice though and pizzas are quite nice. Service is quite fast. Overall it's not too bad, the lady at the reception was very lovely. But won't come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Uncle Charlie from Edinburgh

Good value, very quiet, car required.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week in mid September and, overall, we really liked it. The room wasn't luxurious but had a charm that you wouldn't get in a more up-market hotel or a chain hotel and was very pleasant. As for room entertainment, there was a portable CRT TV showing satellite stations with only a couple in English - BBC World News and CNN, which was fine for us. The large bathroom had no bath but a shower of the square tray with sliding doors type (i.e. it was quite small but adequate). The breakfasts were really basic, consisting of a croissant, a different type of sponge cake each day, coffee and what was meant to be pineapple juice. The pool area was lovely and we had it mostly to ourselves. Generally, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, apart from the one dealing with the breakfasts and lunches who barely cracked a smile. She seriously chastised me for getting the paper menu slightly wet at the poolside restaurant and refused to get us toast at breakfast (which had to be paid for) even though it was ordered 2 minutes before the end of breakfast. Her demeanor was usually unpleasant. You really need to have a car to do anything with Villasimius and Cagliari a drive of half an hour or so away. There are a couple of beaches nearby one of which is walkable but a car would be preferable.
3 out of 5
by M&J from Australia

mixed feelings

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed here for four nights in mid September to relax by the beach and pool. No car. We left after the stay with mixed feelings. The pros are that it's realy nice. Old buildings, nice setting, rooms good and staff were great. The pool is amazing and the beach is 900m away and perfectly fine. There is also table tennis, mini golf and billiards free. The problem is overpriced food and alcohol; the little town of Gerameas has no other food options so you are all but forced to eat there. It isn't bad but it's restaurant+ prices and meals are small. You're not allowed to bring food but there were couples sneaking supermarket food in and eating it out of sight. I considered the board but it's expensive too. There is a bus service that runs until mid September that stops nearby. The route is from the port to costa rey and it runs a few times a day each way. We caught the bus to Vasimilus one day, predominantly to escape the overpriced meals. I would also use this as a transfer rather than getting a private hire like we did which costed €69 even though I was quoted €62 when I booked. It's a nice place, we had a nice time, but they get you with the food. I was happy to stay there but probably wouldn't go back. I couldn't recommend it to a friend. I would recommend taking the bus to anywhere along that coast. If I went back I'd stay in Villasmius or further around the coast where there are more food choices within reach. If the food was cheaper it would be amazing.
3 out of 5
by P & D from UK

Short stay

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels
Nice clean room and hotel had good facilities. Young receptionist extremely helpful. We stayed out of season in early September so the hotel had just a few guests and so completely lacked any atmosphere. Location was remote so other amenities such as restaurants and bars were not easy to locate. Breakfast poor. Ate once in the evening which was ok but didn't inspire us to try again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tiffany from London, UK

Made our Honeymoon everything we could dreamt of x

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: The Room,Food and views were amazing but the staff made our holiday!!! They would move mountains to make you have the best stay ever !!!!!!!
Cons: NOTHING
The BEST hotel we have ever stayed in .The staff were amazing and the location was close to the beach and the food was out of this world.