Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Hotel trés agréable et beaucoup d'activités

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Seul reproche il faudrait rénover un peu les chambres Bonne ambiance et malgré le nombre de personne important au mois d'août nous n'attendons pas pour les repas vu le nombre de restaurants
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel perfecto para vacationes en familia

Posted Aug 24, 2016
El hotel ofrece relax & actividad tanto como para adultos como niños. Además permite hacer excursiones a diferentes puntos de interés. Puntos a mejorar son lis buffets para Cenar que podrían / deberían variar más. Servicio restaurante (e.g. La Lola) servicio lento y menú muy corto.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Raw sewage.....

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: convenience, some of the staff was helpful
Cons: - I was checked into a room that was occupied. - fix the septic system - better customer service -working phone in the room
Location: The place is huge. This was a proximity booking . I imagine most come to stay i n the hotel and they definitely could.
Hotel facilities are massive and generally clean. It is your typical all inclusive. Would be a simple solution for a family. Despite its size and the number of facilities, outside of the common areas, the hotel has a good balance with the surrounding jungle.... however.... the problems began at check in... first, I was checked into an occupied room. When I entered the room I found two sparsely clothed spaniards who probably thought I was breaking into their room. Next I walked back to the front desk ( a long walk) and waited for 45 minutes to get a new room (they were busy figuring out what happened rather than solving the problem)... the next gift came at 1AM on day two when an unbearable smell overcame the room. It is clearly an issue with the septic system they've installed and it made sleeping impossible (burning nose and eyes). It wasn't a problem simply for my room, it was an issue for the entire building as I could hear incredulous whispers and the opening and closing of doors. When I went to call the front desk, I realized my room phone was broken (either a hotel strategy or a consequence to an earlier episode. Rather than walking 15 minutes to wait another hour, I endured the issue. It ended a few hours later. I checked out of the room the next day and won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, Thank you for sharing with us your review. We appreciate the time that you have taken to bring to our attention the pros and cons of your vacation experience. We must apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience during you stay with us and assure you that corrective action will be taken to improve on the areas you mentioned. We would love to have another the opportunity of hosting you again in the future so that you may have an unforgettable vacation. Please, do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance. King regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The location was great. Also we have food allergies and they were so accommodating with our food issues. We still had plenty to eat at the resort.
Cons: The A/C in the room was a little too loud.
We loved our vacation to the Grand Palladium. We stayed in the Colonial section which was perfect. It was close to the two main buffet & other restaurants. It was also near the pools and beach. The beach was so beautiful and blue. The hotel staff were so helpful, caring and made things wonderful. It was such a relaxing vacation and I would love to go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo - Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your excellent vacation on TripAdvisor at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Colonial, for sure, it will be very helpfull for others travellers in order to make their experience much better. We are very glad to read you took advantage of our Palladium Dietary and Allergies Program, thank you very much for your nice words regarding this issue and letting us know that this special service met your needs. Looking forward to welcome you again very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY NICE HOTEL, GOOD FOOD MOSTPEOPLE NICE.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: IT WAS VERY CLEAN AND THE FOOD WAS REALLY GOOD. CLEAN ROOMS AND VERY CONFORTABLE.
Cons: JUST THAT SOME WAITERS SHOULD BE TRAINED TO RESPECT THE GUESTS BECAUSE WE HAD TWO OCCASIONS THAT WE THOUGHT THEY DISRESPECTED US. TOO MANY IGUANAS
Location: PLAYA DEL CARMEN IS ONLY 20 MINUTES AWAY AND VERY NICE
WE HAD A VERY PLEASENT STAY, MOST OF THE PEOPLE WERE VERY NICE EXCEPT ONE NIGHT MY HUSBAND SERVED A PLATE OF FOOD AND THE RESTAURANT WAS CLOSING AND THE WAITER TOOK AWAY DE PLATE WITH THE FOOD, I COULDN´T BELIEVE IT, THEY TOOK IT AWAY TO THROW IT IN THE TRASH!!!! AND THE NEXT DAY WE WERE EATING ON THE CAFETERIA ON THE BEACH AND WE TOOK SOME SILVERWARE THAT WAS THERE AND THE WAITER CAME TO TAKE THEM AWAY AND SAID THOSE WERE FOR THE NIGHT, AND THEY ALSO TOOK AWAY THE TABLE FROM THE COUPLE SEATING NEXT TO US, IT WAS VERY RUDE. ONE OTHER THING I THINK IS THAT WAS WRONG IS THAT THEY OFFERED ME $ 400 IN HOTEL CREDIT, AND ACTUALLY WHAT THEY GAVE ME WERE COUPONS, WICH I DIDNT USE BECAUSE EVERYTHING WAS TOO OVERPRICED. I WAS REALLY EXPECTING HOTEL CREDIT WICH I WAS OFFERED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ana, after reading your review, we are happy to know that you had such a great time while you were on vacation with us at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your experience, as this will help us to improve our product and services. While we were happy to read that you enjoyed certain aspects of our vacation, we regret to hear that you felt your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been. As a 5-star resort we recognize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is always welcomed and most valued to us. Once again, thank you very much and we hope to welcome you again in our property. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GIB

Nice hotel with great facilities

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Lovely stay, upgraded to Mayan suite which was lovely. Food was very good but all restaurants not easily accesible since had very long waiting times of about 2hrs! They seemed to be understaffed in some areas but staff were pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Krystle, first of all, thank you very much for choosing the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa as your destination in the beautiful Riviera Maya. We are more than glad to read that you really enjoyed a pleasant and well-deserved vacation. Concerning the restaurants issue, we have taken note of it and will do our best to improve our services. Please, accept our apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused. Warmest regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Hotel con linda playa

Posted Jul 27, 2016
El hotel te ofrece diferentes restaurantes con amplia variedad y excelente calidad. Las instalaciones son comodas en general, pero si recomiendo q cambien las almohadas. La playa q tienen el hotel esta precioso!!! Es un lugar q se disfruta en familia, ya q el servicio es muy agradable y la alberca de los pequenos es segura y el mar tambien es muy tranquilo para los pekes!!! Disfrutamos mucho la estancia!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sergio Bermejo, Asistente Dirección Alojamiento., Hotel Management
Apreciada Lizette, muchas gracias por hacernos saber sus agradables vacaciones con nosotros en la maravillosa Riviera Maya. Fue un placer recibirles y atenderles con nuestros mejores servicios en Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa para disfrutar de sus merecidas vacaciones familiares. Agradecemos que que destaque nuestras instalaciones y le informo que próximamente mejoraremos el servicio de almohadas por lo que esperamos que vuelvan muy pronto. ¡Un cálido saludo!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The service was wonderful. Everyone we encountered was friendly and happy. Our room (jr. suite with two beds) had plenty of room for the two adults and two children we had in our party. Best of all, it was super clean. There was a wide variety of food to be had. All in all, we would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo - Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, first of all, thank you very much for choosing the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa as your destination in the beautiful Riviera Maya. We are more than glad to read that you really enjoyed with your family your well-deserved vacation. Looking forward to welcome all you very soon! Warmest regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale, NY

Nice place, pros and cons

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Location: Definitely check out Cenote Azul (only a few minutes up the road). Beautiful. Crystal clear water. Very cool cliff to jump off, about 15 feet.
Overall, we had a great time. Very clean place and friendly staff, especially the bartenders. Beautiful property. Two things I wish were different that I would look for in choosing all-inclusive again: 1. better beer selection. They only have 2 kinds of Mexican beer on tap in all places. No canned or bottled beer. I can't drink draft beer so I was stuck with mixed drinks all week. 2. The a la carte restaurant system is a disaster. Most don't take reservations, it's first come first serve. And no matter when you go, they pretty much tell you 1.5 - 2.0 hour wait (even though you look in the restaurant and only about 25% of the tables are being used - very confusing). Then when you try to make reservations for the 2 restaurants that do take them, they tell you it's full unless you are willing to tour the villas - then they will get you a reservation - nonsense.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo - Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, first of all, thank you very much for choosing the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa as your Caribben destination. We are glad that you experience was a good one in our property. We take also the opportunity to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time, you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary. It is our goal to retain you as a satisfied guest and we would love to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockaway,nj

Beautiful resort location...service and food poor

Posted Jul 16, 2016
We just returned from our stay. I went with my 2 year old my mother who is 60 and my husband. First impression was beautiful resort. Gabriel checked us in and he was very nice and welcoming his service was great. We got to our room and we were put on the third floor with no elevator. So you can imagine how difficult it was jot only for my mother but for us having to carry a stroller up and down the stairs each time. It was exhausting. On top of that our phone in the room did not work so we couldnt even call the front desk which was a hike away from the room. So we waited to go back to the lobby to ask for the phone to be fixed. We asked 3 people before we finally got someone to come by Tuesday late afternoon. By then we had our rooms switched to a ground floor. So half day was wasted packing and unpacking again and waiting for the room. We were without one from 11 until after 2pm. This is our 3rd all inclusive resort vacation this year. By far the food at the buffets here is terrible. The food is the same every single day. They need training on keeping the food stocked and freshed. For example during prime time for breakfast the pancake tray was constantly empty or only had 1 or 2 in the tray that were stuck to the pan. That is terrible! And when i would ask will there be more they would say 5 minutes. It should not take that long to replenish the buffet items during prime time. It seems like they were understaffed and undertrained. Disappointing for such a beautiful plc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Lulu Estrada, Hotel Management
In behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for your preference in Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa as well as for taking the time to tell us about your stay as this will help us to know how to improve our services and offer splendid holiday experiences to all our guests. We deeply lament have failed on your expectations, but we take it as an area of opportunity to improve our services, Palladium we strive to provide a unique experience to our guests and not having achieved 100% with you motivates us to continue working harder and do our best to get it. We hope you can give us the opportunity to hosting in a near future, we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have. Best regards Lourdes Estrada Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Room Division Manager Grand Palladium Colonial / Kantenah Resort & Spa