Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Danielle

One night in paradise

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Blown away by the beauty of this place, set in a secluded cactus garden. The rooms were spacious and well decorated, and there were plenty of places to relax both inside and out. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was very good and well-priced, and the wine list was extensive. The only problem is that we didn't stay longer!
5 out of 5
by Christine from Cape Town

Mo and Rose stayover

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at this beautifully set hotel. Loved the drop-in swimming pool on our doorstep. Altogether good for the soul, this place. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Peaceful haven in lovely setting

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The setting, peace, quality of everything - a super experience
Cons: A little better lighting in the restaurant (although the table lamps are interesting and set a peaceful mood)
Location: Numerous wine estates, lots of scenic drives and veg in peace
Very friendly and helpful from the outset - room 3 is the best in my opinion but all rooms are good. Fantastic setting and very peaceful - one could veg all day if you wanted but there is plenty to do and see in the surrounding areas. At the end of the day what more can you ask for but to have dinner in their excellent restaurant - no drinking and driving! Booking advised.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Bonnievale

Modern, yet cosy

Posted Dec 19, 2015 on Hotels
Had a meal there. Food was great! Overall a comfortable and cosy stay.
4 out of 5
by Marcel from Cape Town

Nice stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel with modern rooms, beautiful garden, very good food and friendly owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Cotswolds, UK

Best T-bone steak ever

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Fantastic food. Owners who are passionate about their establishment which makes the experience very special
Cons: Sound-proofing the noisy applicances!
Location: A great stop over place for the Garden route. Also the perfect base for wine-tasting in the Robertson area.
Quirky Rooms set in an outstanding garden of Succulents against a backdrop of mountains. After a long drive from Plett. Axel brought us a welcome glass of Sav. Blanc Dinner was excellent- the best T-bone Steak I have ever had. An unidentifiable metallic noise kept us wake that night, however it was a lovely place to stay and an outstanding place to eat.
5 out of 5
by Anton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Passing traveller from US

Gem of a hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels
The Mo & Rose was recommended by a friend as the place to stay on our way from the Karoo to Cape Town. From the room, to the gardens, to the restaurant, everything was perfect. The service, was professional, friendly and personal, and the meals were superb. Clearly, the owners and staff understand the essence of hospitality. The gardens are impeccably maintained and are a unique glimpse at an amazing cross-section of succulents. Can't recommend this establishment highly enough!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tranquil Getaway

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at the Mo & Rose for two nights on our travels in South Africa and were pleased to discover this hidden treasure. The host was warm and friendly, and offered us drinks straight away, so we sat and enjoyed a great bottle of wine in the beautiful little restaurant with views of the mountains and of the stunning Cactus Garden. The rooms are situated on the other side of the garden, which is lovely to walk through. We were shown to our room, which was spacious, airy and light, and furnished to a high standard (one of the few places where the website pictures are an accurate depiction of the real thing!), and each room has a little sort of sheltered patio with chairs and furnishings, which is lovely for evening drinks or enjoying the morning sun. There is a small outdoor pool, which was clean and laid out nicely with loungers alongside, and again with unfettered views of the mountains all around. The service is first rate and the setting is ideal, Mo & Rose feels very exclusive due to its small size, so privacy is provided and it never feels too busy. Monika was so friendly and helpful, making so much effort to advise and help plan any activities, pointing out great locations/walks etc, and nothing was too much trouble. The Mo & Rose is situated in the Robertson Wine Valley, so there are some great places for tasting and some beautiful mountain walks too.