Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Emily from London

Heaven

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful and very peacful. Food was amazing.
5 out of 5
by Katia from Bruxelles

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Endroit bucolique,calme et très aéré. Pour un repos relax, en tout quiétude. À coseille.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK/Dubai

Three days of bliss

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Silence, views, house, room, Alice (it would be rude to call her a receptionist, she is the co-ordinator), food, pool, staff... everything.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: There are numerous villages, Chateaus to explore, just ask at the house and get out the sat nav. Bergerac old quarter is very nice also.
Travelling as a group of four with two cars we followed the sat nav to the address given by Expedia..... wrong. A few local enquiries and we found this house nestled atop a hill with views over the valley. It is then that you meet this hotel's greatest asset, Alice (I apologise if I have it wrong). A tour of the house and then our room, given in perfect English and the scene was set. A huge room with a small window overlooking the lake, limed beams and very nice bathroom. No TV, thank goodness and then the silence hits you. A splendid pool and a formal dining room serving very well prepared food, beautifully presented, the lobster starter deserves mention. Breakfast cakes are not recommended for slimmers! Ideal for exploring local villages and markets, the local countryside is beautiful. We had booked for three nights and I was very reluctant to leave. The house is quiet, peaceful and unhurried. The owner wanders around doing what owners do and greets you in French and English. We in response did similar, we speak schoolboy French. A black cat that follows and greets and a big old dog. Gardeners tending the beautiful grounds and plum trees surrounding the far end of the estate. Alice appears just at the correct time and asks if there is anything that you require, she has the most endearing nature. I have travelled extensively and encountered very few more relaxing venues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north of Seattle

Lovely hotel in the country

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Historic, quaint, great staff, lovely setting.
Challenging to find without a GPS, but had a very happy stay. The way this old chateau has been remodeled is amazing, especially the view of the original roof timbers in the bedrooms. Their restaurant is fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Joanna from Olney, Buckinghamshire

Beautiful location, great meal, great service

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a beautiful location and we very much enjoyed being able to put the children to bed and enjoy a fine dining experience on the lawn just outside our room, thank you! The owners and staff are very welcoming. We can definitely recommend a stay here, thank you.
5 out of 5
by Monika from Rotkreuz

So schön ruhig...

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
Wunderschön gelegene Anlage - es hat uns sehr gut gefallen! Auch das Essen war fantastisch. Sofort wieder!!!
5 out of 5
by Miquel from barcelona

fantástico

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Reserve un día ,me quede dos
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Long weekend at La Chartreuse du Bignac

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: A simply beautiful hotel, calm, elegant, with a superb restaurant and with the most wonderful hosts. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Very convenient for Bergerac, Bergerac airport, and for many of the beautiful bastide towns of the Dordogne, as well as close to wine growing.
We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend, late autumn, and used it as a base to explore Bergerac and the Dordogne.
5 out of 5
by Corrigan from South Africa

A most memorable stay

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
One of the most romantic and beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in.Out in the country. So quiet and peaceful. I felt I was at home.