Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great resort on the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Perfect spot if you are after a relaxing holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Lots of wonderful views of the ocean

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nice layout; lots of places to sit and enjoy the views.
Cons: More helpful staff: Driver said he didn't know how I could get a SIM card at airport; prices for day trip to Savai'i was $300 USD. This is NOT good.
The bed in the beachfront fales was wonderful. The food was just okay. Staff were friendly, but not as informative as I'd expect them to be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Stunning location, but grumpy & unhelpful staff

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location, clean rooms, complimentary airport transfers.
Cons: Staff attitude Grounds and building maintenance Price and quality of food ( often ran out of fruit and breakfast items eg croissants )
Location: Stunning location, nice short walk to Sinalei beach resort.
The location of coconuts is superb we had a great time swimming, kayaking and snorkelling. Snorkelling with the turtles at high tide was a highlight. However overall experience was not great. The numerous staff in the resturant were grumpy if you asked for anything it was way too much trouble. The guy in the hut for beach towels and kayaks etc was never around and when you did find him he was very grumpy, beach towels had holes in, cushions on sunbeds needed a good clean. The rooms were pleasant and comfortable if not a bit dark, also would recommend not staying ground floor of treehouse as guest above sound like heard of elephants especially when they checked out at 3am. Hotel grounds and structures are all in need of maintenance the ponds that were dotted around probably looked nice once but looked very dirty some fish and flowers would have made a difference. Lots of staff around grounds raking sand and walking around but didn't seem to be doing any maintenance. Lastly the food and music in the resturant was not great. Food overpriced and not great quality, music was same everyday depressing classic music for breakfast, same Chrisopher Cross / 80's American songs at night. On a tropical island would expect something with a bit of an island theme. We stayed for 6 nights and ate for 5 nights at the nearby Sinalei beach resort which was wonderful, great food and great staff, local band for music including chef when service was done. Would recommend staying at Sinalei.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Super location for snorkelling!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We stayed at Coconuts for six nights. The staff is absolute outstanding (leave a tip before you leave, they deserve it). Very friendly and helpful. Especially the guy at reception was very knowledgable and pro-active. Can't rave enough about them. Our room ( number 4), however, looked a bit tired and there was a lot of building noise right next door. Apparently, one of the staff lives right next to the room. The people above us trampled lije elephants, so try and book one of the fales if possible. Overall, we can say that we can highly recommend Coconuts and will go back asap!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice comfortable

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Very nice enjoyable experience the staff couldn't be better, the food was good and the location if a little remote is beautiful. It can be a little windy on that side of Samoa though so head to the other side on days like that. Samoa is amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Typisches Resort

Posted May 11, 2016
Coconuts Beach ist eine sehr schöne und hochwertig gestaltete Anlage, hat aber nichts mit dem Leben in Samoa zu tun. Unser Beach Bungalow war großzügig gestaltet und hatte ein tolles Badezimmer mit Open-sie feeling. Das Ressort liegt zwar direkt am Meer, hat aber keinen wirklichen Strand (es gibt aber einen Strand direkt neben dem Resort). da es während unseres Aufenthalts sehr windig war, sind wir zum schwimmen woanders hingefahren (wir hatten einen Mietwagen). Trotz des recht stolzen Zimmerpreises zahlt man vor Ort für wirklich alles nochmal extra und wird leider auch ständig vom Personal ungefragt darauf hingewiesen (was vielleicht gut gemeint ist, aber nervt). Fazit: sehr hochwertige Anlage, die aber ein bisschen künstlich und zum Teil etwas leblos wirkt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Lastminute
Coconuts Beach Club is the ultimate tropical experience, made unique by the family that founded and continue to operate it, and by the friendly, genuine staff...its a luxurious home away from home....we will be returning!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Brian, Hotel Management
Fa'afetai for staying with us, and for your kind review. We are happy that you had a great time, and we too look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Excellent, excellent stay.

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: I liked the staff (very friendly and helpful), the bungalows over the water were awesome, the internet was good, and the stay was one of the best ever
Cons: The walkways are a bit rough and could be smoothed out a little to accomodate us "Older guys".. :)
Location: We spent most of our time working in Apia, but we loved this side of the island for it's solitude, beach and scenery.
We were in Samoa for business, and I took my wife. She stayed in the resort while we worked long hours. I loved this experience totally. The staff is some of the best I've ever encountered, the restaurant was excellent, the accommodations were excellent, and it had to be one of the best business stays I've ever encountered. Even the internet was acceptable for business usage. It's not cheap, but well worth the cost for a tropical island adventure. I've been to many islands in the south seas, and Samoa is the best of all. To be in the best resort on the island was also a great experience. We will be back - for a vacation this time.... :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Brian, Hotel Management
Talofa! We are happy that you chose to stay with us, and very grateful for your wonderful review. Even though you were in Samoa for business, it sounds like you were able to relax a little. Your comment about liking Samoa more than other islands you have been to, is one that we do hear quite often, but we never get tired of hearing that. We look forward to seeing you in Paradise again! Fa'afetai lava
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views, great place to be

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Staff outstanding. Food not that great but I think probably great for Samoa...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Brian, Hotel Management
Fa'afetai for staying with us, and for making your review. We are proud of our staff, and happy to hear that you were pleased with their service. I'm sorry that you didn't find our food great, but it sounds like you consider it good. When it comes to food tastes, it's such an individual set of varied preferences for each person, so we aim to do our best, and keep improving whenever possible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Friendly Place

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Very friendly, beautiful place. Pool pleasant & warm & beach good swimming. Comfortable beds & rustic stone shower. Don't expect phones in rooms or night reception like some resorts but you will get an authentic Samoan experience. Really great food w/a touch of Samoa w/excellent service. I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Brian, Hotel Management
Fa'afetai for being our guest, and for leaving your review. You covered most of the highlights and features which make Coconuts unique. Our experience is a bit different than other hotels, and for the travelers who can appreciate that, it's a wonderful thing, and it sounds like this was a good match. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!