Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

Hospital smell

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Parking is not easy. Only one elevator. First time access to the hotel was a nightmare.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Nice location but needs some attention.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
No light bulbs just one table lamp. Dust all over tables, desk and window frames. Noise from aire conditioner and thermostat did not work. Not a lot of space on bathroom sink tonplace anything. TV remote not working properly. Half the plugs did not work. Place hard to find, no sign and its located on the 4th floor of a hospital. Location is good, at least ot was close to all we had to do.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Worst Hotel To Stay In San Juan

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Close It Down
Location: Its just one floor hotel . Don't go on pictures they are deceiving . The other floors are operating as Hospital.
The most unhygienic hotel I have ever lived. The hotel had a lot of medicine smell. We had booked this hotel for two nights , one night before going to the Cruise & one night while returning from the Cruise. After seeing the poor condition of the hotel , we all decided not to come back to the hotel while returning. The first room we got it didn't had the light , in second room the chair was missing. Then we were moved to the third room that had foul smell . We asked the manager to change the room but he refused & we didn't had a choice. We asked him to cancel our booking & he said he wont be able to do it as it was already paid off. We called Expedia to cancel our future booking to this Hotel but so far we didn't received the refund. It was our mistake to pay Expedia in advance. From now , we are neither using Expedia or Howard Johnson Brand for future travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by David

Not good for travelers

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel doesn't have Parking. The room we got had no working key, so we needed to ask the front desk to open the room each time we came back to hotel.
5 out of 5
by Emmanuel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san juan

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Cheap hotel. Good for a one night stay if you are doing something around san juan. Wouldn't recomend it for long stays or vacation. Theres no parking, it smells like the hospital you are on and you hear ambulances going in out all the time. Overall an OK stay. Staff can stand to be nicer. Room was small, had tv though. Shower was super tiny but good water pressure. It was clean, both the hotel and the room except for that awful hospital smell that sticks even on your clothes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA.

Filthy disgusted roach-infested

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Very disappointed and our families experience at this hotel. It was roach-infested with moldy damp floors, moldy disgusting showers that have never been cleaned, dirty towels,dirty blankets, housekeeping only changed our Sheets once if that out of the 7 days we were there. There was no parking to this hotel which made it very difficult to take our children up into it. This Howard Johnson should not be operating I would going as far as it should be condemned. Would not recommend this to my worst enemy. I am also very disappointed in Expedia for offering this hotel to us and still using it as an option for other.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CONNECTICUT

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: nothig
Cons: cust service
Location: awful
1st of all my resvertion was for Isla Verde and when I arrived was sent to El Cardio Vascular Howard Johnson ,#1 that's generally for patients family in Hospital I was told by the receptionist, for a person visiting for first time its way to complicated to get there,if you call to get dirrectios they dont even answer phone, had a very dissapointed experience eventually I cancelled and had to make new reservation 2 ISLA VERDE that now goes by the name of TRYP which I'm sure still same company but just stuck it to me and over charge My stay, awful experience...
2 out of 5
by Lester

Worst Howard Jhonson hotel.

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Worst place to stay overnight, this place is inside of the hospital and there's no a main entrance for the hotel, to get in the hotel you had to get in throw the emergency room and then to the elevator. No signs outside or in side to tell you where is the hotel.