Ratings based on 1,412 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Very well placed hotel for both the train station and all city sites are within walking distance. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. A grand lobby with a pleasing terrace bar garden area. Rooms are cleaned daily. Room tip. For the best roof top city view get room number 46 although the fittings are a little tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hidden gem near all the attractions

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay that is just a few minutes easy walk from all the major tourist attractions. Rooms are clean and the breakfast decent with fresh orange juice and fabulous cappuccinos. They have a beautiful terrace where we were able to enjoy our breakfast and drinks in the evening. Our room did not have a view but they do have rooms with beautiful views of the city or courtyard if you plan on spending time in the room and do not mind paying extra. We had day tours planned so no view did not bother us. Rooms are modern and the air conditioning was great. San Marco bus terminal is 2 minute walk and Accademia less than 5 minutes. There is at least one grocery store around the hotel and a convenience store right across the street. Train station is walkable if you do not have a lot of luggage. All in all, a wonderful hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear jatin, Fantastic review! Thanks for the time you spent for writing how amazing your stay is. We are very happy that we contribute a very memorable experience while you are here exploring the city of Florence. We look forward for your next visit. Best regards, Judith Canuzo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex. UK

Great little hotel in Florence

Posted Sep 16, 2017
We loved this little hotel in Florence center. It is only 10 minutes walk from the Duomo, a few attractions nearby. The staff are all pleasant. We got upgraded to inside room facing the garden. Breakfast is on the simple side, still OK. Lots of TV channels but few English ones. Nice bathroom. There are plenty of nice restaurants to choose near the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear Troy, Thanks for writing a review about your recent stay. Glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us. See you again on your next visit. Kind regards, Judith Canuzo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great location, clean rooms with amenities, staff helpful and good breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review about how pleasant your stay with us. Great to know that you totally enjoyed your vacation as we contribute also a memorable experience. See you soon. Best regards, Judith Canuzo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cranleigh, Surrey, UK

Ideal hotel for a Florence city break

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: When you look at a hotel for a city break the main thing you really want is value for money. The Hotel Orto De Medici provides this, and more.
Cons: The only slight thing that could be improved is the room TV. There appears to be channels for most European countries but none for the UK.
Location: The location of the hotel is ideal. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and it is only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Florence.
The whole experience was very satisfying. We travelled from Gatwick to Pisa airport. Picked up the new PisaMover automated shuttle to Pisa Centrale railway station. The train to Florence SMN took around 70 minutes, we then followed our street map to the Orto De Medici Hotel which took around 15 minutes. There is a bus or a cab if you do not wish to walk. We booked the room for 4 nights, on arrival the staff at reception were excellent, made us very welcome and explained everything we needed to know. The room was clean and tidy with a nice view of the hotel garden. We were also given a welcome drink at the bar which was a nice touch. We were told the breakfast would be continental, however they also provided bacon and scrambled eggs which was unexpected but very welcome. The whole breakfast was an excellent experience. Florence is a unique city and the Hotel Orto De Medici played it's part in making our city break a memorable experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Gordon, Wow! Amazing comments. Glad to know you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Orto dei Medici. Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful experience. For sure some of the travellers looking where to stay finally have a pattern as one of the ideal place to stay. Thanks again for your great review and we wish to see you again in the future. My best regards, Judith Canuzo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London. UK

Excellent hotel.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Room. Location. Breakfast.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: All the major attractions in Florence are within easy walking distance.
I can't rate this hotel highly enough, staff, room, location, comfort all 10/10. Would stay here again and would recommend it to family, friends and others to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Robert, First of all thank you so much for an excellent review with beautiful and very original captured photos of the garden and the room that you had to make your stay more comfortable. We are very glad that you love everything and we contribute a nice experience for your vacation. Thanks for your highly recommendations for everybody. We look forward again for your next visit. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel on the edge of Florence

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We took a 5 day trip to Florence staying at the hotel. Two slight critisms - hard pillows and no tea making facilities in the room. However the hotel was beautiful and the shower was superb x would recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear Carl, Thanks for the feedback written. Nice to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. For the pillows we can gave you more softer. If you'll just asked at the front desk same as the kettle we provide in the room upon request. It's all written in a book where you have in the room. By the way there's always a next time.. so just don't hesitate to ask at the lobby everything that you wanted to have. We look forward for your next visit. My best regards, Judith Canuzo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

I would book this hotel again

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We spent four nights here and this hotel is very clean and updated. The bed was comfortable, bathroom had a large shower and the breakfast choices were good. Excellent location and within walking distance of everything this side of the river. Cost of parking was the only drawback at 25 euros a night but if you don't have a car then that would not be a problem. The staff were knowledgable and courteous. I would definitely choose this hotel again. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear Liz, Perfect! Thanks for your excellent review. We are very glad that you had a great time with us. That was our aims for all the clients stayed with us, an enjoyable and unforgetable stay. Thanks for coming. See you on your next visit at Florence. Best regards, Judith Canuzo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Central Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Central location, close to main attractions . Breakfast
Cons: Room needs to be refurbished
Location: Central for Duomo, Leonardo Museum etc
Central Hotel, easy to walk to most sites within the city. Lots of places to eat nearby. No restaurant in the hotel for meals other than breakfast. Breakfast was very good with several continental choices. Staff very pleasant and willing to help. States there is a bar and terrace, however disappointingly this was only open 6-8pm daily offering limited drinks. The room we stayed in on the 4th floor was a little tired and needs refurbishing. Holes in tiled floor. Room was at the back of the hotel overlooking internal courtyard with metal escape stair as our view. However the room was quiet. We have stayed in lots of hotels in various parts of Italy and unfortunately this one was disappointing given the rest of the hotel décor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for the review. Your mesage is highly appreciated and noted for all the changes and improvement of our service. We would you to know that those rooms on last floor soon to be renovated this coming October. Thanks for the suggestions about the decorations. Hope to have you back again for sure all rooms are newly renovated Thanks, Judith Canuzo Judith Canuzo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Very nice hotel, wonderful staff

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pretty hotel, very nice rooms, fabulous staff. Only drawback is breakfast room closes at 10am, would be nice to be open for lunch or to get coffee and have comfortable chairs on terrace during the day. Party of eight, we would all stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Judith Canuzo, Hotel Management
Dear peggy, Thanks for the review written. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Yes the breakfast close at 10:00 am but you can still go and have relaxed at the terrace anytime. If you'll just see that the door close by 11:00 on the first floor it will just close to clean the area but there is a big door on the ground floor a way to re enter again at the terrace. Next time don't hesitate to ask infomation you may need. See you again on your next visit. Best regards, Judith Canuzo